We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning Hotel, with First Class Service!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of JW Marriott Marquis Dubai

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added JW Marriott Marquis Dubai to your Saves list
JW Marriott Marquis Dubai
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Sheikh Zayed Road | Business Bay, Dubai 121000, United Arab Emirates   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points!
Ranked #42 of 487 Hotels in Dubai
San Diego, California
Top Contributor
146 reviews 146 reviews
82 hotel reviews
Reviews in 76 cities Reviews in 76 cities
198 helpful votes 198 helpful votes
“Stunning Hotel, with First Class Service!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

This hotel will impress you from the minute you walk in its grand lobby. The lobby coffee house with its ceiling high shelves decorated with brightly colored bottles is stunning. The staff will great you the minute you walk in, and every time you pass one of them by. From the moment we arrived, we were treated like we were royalty,,,and we are not! The Marriott sure got it right on training their staff, it was some of the best service I have ever had, and I'm in the service industry! The rooms are very comfortable and nicely decorated, if you can get a room on a higher floor, do! the views here are spectacular. The restaurant selection of at least 10 amazing restaurants all with their own theme, I loved the décor of the Indian restaurant! So romantic with its red walls and dim lights. I loved the vault bar on the top floor, it was like you were in a James bond movie! We ate lunch at Kitchen 6, which was a mind blowing display of 6 different food stations from around the world, including a dessert station with a chocolate fountain! we spent almost 3 hours at lunch, trying every station! The pool was lovely, but they could of used a few more lounge chairs, its very hot in Dubai and the pool is a very popular area! The concierge was so nice and helpful, he made our stay even more wonderful. This hotel is also in a great location, only about 15 minutes from the airport, and close by all the major attractions and sights. Loved our stay here and would definitely go back!

Room Tip: ask for a higher floor, stunning views! if not, go to the vault on the top floor for a drink and see...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DXBJW, Guest Relations Manager at JW Marriott Marquis Dubai, responded to this review, October 12, 2013
We are delighted to read such fantasatic feedback regarding your stay with us; thank you for taking the time to share your insight. We look forward to hosting you on your next visit to Dubai.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,252 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    797
    319
    74
    38
    24
See reviews for
163
268
75
504
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (397)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013 via mobile

This review relates to the Vault bar on 71st. The first time I went to the bar it was mid week, quiet, great views and reasonable prices. The second time was on the weekend, it was busier but not exactly full but wow, the staff were clearly overwhelmed they just didn't know what to do, it was embarrassing / amusing to watch 4 people run round behind the bar and get so little done. You would think it was opening night and they actually (or thought they did) run out of Vodka and most the beer in the place. I mean seriously, for a Marriot? Just bring some decent staff over from one of your other hotels on the Marina you do it so well. I don't know who is running the bar but ameteurs

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DXBJW, Guest Relations Manager at JW Marriott Marquis Dubai, responded to this review, October 12, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback regarding your recent visit to the Vault bar. We sincerely apologize that your overall experience failed to meet the service expectations that are synonymous with the JW Marriott brand. Please know that we have reviewed your feedback with the appropriate management team. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

The very good and excellent: This a great new addition to the skyline of the desert wonder (aka Dubai) and by far one of the grandest Marriott's I have every stayed at. The property is still under development as only one tower was open during my stay but this is not an aspect that I felt during my stay. The hotel hosts several restaurants and provides its guests with a reasonable variety. It also has excellent gym, spa and pool faciliaties which can serve tourists and business travellers alike. I especially enjoyed the 24 hour french cafe in the lobby which provided excellent food and drink service at relatively reasonable prices around the clock - helped a lot with my jet lagged schedule. The staff was very friendly and was eager to make a difference. For best and cheapest food, however, I recommend a very short trip to Dubai Mall food courts which offer amazing varieties at super cheap prices.

The hiccups:

1. Though hotel is with proximity to downtown, al hadiqa park and the dubai mall, driving to and from the property was not intuitive and could benefit from better 2 way signage. The concierge was new and within days it appeared that I knew more about directions than he did - actually, it seemed I knew more about the property with days most single dial customer service agents. Business Bay itself is under development and there is nothing within walking distance.
2. I was out of hot water for 2 days and discovered that another guest shared my experience suggesting it was a wider issue. I suggest you bring all issues to management's attention. I did and it was rectified immediately.
3. There was no option for self parking and while valet was free it took a long time to retrieve care. I suggest you plan accordingly.
4. Several of the lobby restaurants and wine bar were closed. I felt I was slightly oversold on what was available in terms of options during my stay. This issue will rectify itself wit time
5. While waiting is not an issue to park and/ or check in/ out, I can see a potential for bottleneck when business conferences and / or second tower is open for business. The hotel should consider its option to ensure customer experience is not compromised.

I return to the property in 3 weeks. I loved it and look forward to staying there again

Room Tip: choose high floor facing the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DXBJW, Guest Relations Manager at JW Marriott Marquis Dubai, responded to this review, October 12, 2013
Thank you for your detailed feedback regarding your recent stay with us. It is great to read that you enjoyed the culinary delights in LaFarine, our 24 hour restaurant, and the fitness center. We apologise that there were some hiccups encounteered during your stay but delighted that they have not deterred you from visiting us again. We look forward to hosting you in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

Stayed mid September for a few nights.

The hotel is very vibrant, that is mostly visible in the lobby area. Lot of people walking in and out, young and 'upbeat' environment. The design is amazing and the rooms are spacious, especially the bathroom. usual luxury amenities available.

Prime 68, great meal and nice decor

Vault bar, have been here every night of my stay. nice atmosphere in the bar, nice people and impeccable service. Can get busy on Thursday and Friday nights, so it's difficult to get a seat if you're with a group, but then again they don't have a reservation only policy like most popular clubs in Dubai, which i think is good. it is located on the highest (or one of) floor and gives a modern luxury setting overlooking Dubai and Burj Khalifa.

Although Marriott doesn't operate it, the VIP ROOM has an amazing atmosphere, but strict door policy and very overpriced.

The Saray SPA is wonderful, relaxing massage.

Location is the only downside of the hotel, nothing around.

Would definetely stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DXBJW, Guest Relations Manager at JW Marriott Marquis Dubai, responded to this review, October 12, 2013
It is great to hear such positive feedback for the signature dining & entertainment venues which you visited during your stay. Our Boutique Prime 68 Steakhouse and the Vault bar have fantastic views over the city and we are delighted to read that you were able to enjoy them. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel on your next visit to the city.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

In Dubai, where everything is on a grand scale, the JW Marriott Marquis stands out for its opulence and magnificence. It's centrally located, close to the downtown, and towers over nearby properties.

The hotel is spanking new and all features and amenities are first-rate. The rooms are beautiful and some give you a panoramic view of the world islands and Burj Al-Arab hotel. The service is excellent - you're treated like royalty. The food is terrific too and the dessert spread at night is to die for. The lounge for Gold & Platinum members is arguably the best in the world.

Overall, the only place you should consider staying in in Dubai.

Room Tip: Higher floors facing the sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DXBJW, Guest Relations Manager at JW Marriott Marquis Dubai, responded to this review, October 12, 2013
Thank you for sharing your fantastic feedback regarding your recent stay with us. We look forward to hosting you upon your next visit to the city.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

Everytime I come back to Dubai, I've tried to stay at a different hotel (Radisson Blu, Crowne Plaza, Marriott Dubai Harbor, Golden Tulip, etc.) to get a feel for the different parts of town (Al-Barsha, Dubai Creek, Marina, Harbor, etc.), different hotels, etc. however after spending my last trip at the JW Marriott Marquis, I can say that this will become my go-to hotel on subsequent visits.

I got upgraded to a room near the top, and had an incredible, unobstructed view over the Persian Gulf. The room is absolutely immaculate with every amenity you can think of with a great clean modern design. There were some screaming/shouting children in the room next door to me, but the room itself was so quiet, I only heard them when I was in the hallway walking past their door. The beds were super comfy, the bathroom is very spacious and the desk had plenty of space to work comfortably at. We had breakfast each morning at Kitchen 6 on the 2nd floor, and anything you can possibly think of from any region of the world is there: bacon, eggs, pancakes, waffles, congee, soba noodles, curry, sushi, pickled fish, salad...its all there. The lobby and lobby bar are very quiet and relaxing to work at in the afternoon or while waiting to meet customers in the lobby before going out to dinner. Its a short taxi ride to Dubai Mall/Burj Khalifa, DXB airport, Jumeriah Beach, Dubai Creek/Souks, etc. The gym had almost everything you could want and the spa was very relaxing as well. Also the outside pool area is amazing with a really great view of the Burj Khalifa, great service for food and drinks, and a nice cabana area to get out of the sun for a few.

There were only two downsides that I found which were, if you can consider this a downside, that the staff is WAY TOO EAGER to help you out. Everywhere you turn, someone is holding open a door, offering to get you something, asking if you're okay, etc. As someone who is content and independent in doing my own thing, it was a little overwhelming. The other downside was the bar at the top of the restaurant took two elevators to get to, and you're immediately greeted as soon as the door opens which doesn't give you a second or two to get your bearings, and then once you're in the bar, smoking is allowed and its not very well ventilated so it does stay thick and heavy if that's not your thing.

Otherwise, the hotel is nearly perfect, and as I mentioned before, will be my default hotel for my return trips to Dubai. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DXBJW, Guest Relations Manager at JW Marriott Marquis Dubai, responded to this review, October 12, 2013
We are delighted to read that you had such a great stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

Marquis is a core value JW Marriott - well organised (never lines for check in or out), well maintained (probably quite new), comfortable (good size rooms and bathrooms) and clean. It is a bit pricey, though nothing exceptional and providing good value for money. Their location is a bit off, about 5-10 mins from nearest metro Business Bay, but they provide shuttle to Dubai Mall and Burj Khalifa, and taxis are cheap in Dubai. A gem - they have a discrete pub with rugby telly (as non-Muslim traveller to Dubai you can buy pork but not beer in a shop)

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DXBJW, Guest Relations Manager at JW Marriott Marquis Dubai, responded to this review, October 12, 2013
We would like to thank you for your comments and are happy to hear that you enjoyed the room and facilities. We appreciate your feedback and are looking forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to JW Marriott Marquis Dubai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JW Marriott Marquis Dubai

Address: Sheikh Zayed Road | Business Bay, Dubai 121000, United Arab Emirates
Location: United Arab Emirates > Emirate of Dubai > Dubai
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 487 Hotels in Dubai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — JW Marriott Marquis Dubai 5*
Number of rooms: 1608
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dubai is a city of awe-inspiring ambition and unsurpassed luxury, home to the world's tallest building, the largest shopping mall, the iconic Palm and now the JW Marriott Marquis Hotel Dubai the worlds tallest hotel. It is a place where dreams come true. Offering a spectrum of business facilities for the most discerning of travelers. It is a brand synonymous with intuitive service and refined taste, a title given only to the finest properties in the Marriott portfolio. Elevated above Dubai's business district, on Sheikh Zayed Road, the JW Marriott Marquis Dubai resides in the Business Bay area. Spread across two iconic towers, the hotel features exceptional event and business facilities, an enticing array of bars and restaurants and the sublime Saray Spa and Health Club. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Marriott, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your JW Marriott Marquis Dubai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage JW Marriott Marquis Dubai, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.