We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thought it would be new and fantastic!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of JW Marriott Marquis Dubai

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added JW Marriott Marquis Dubai to your Saves list
JW Marriott Marquis Dubai
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Sheikh Zayed Road | Business Bay, Dubai 121000, United Arab Emirates   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points!
Ranked #42 of 486 Hotels in Dubai
Irvine, California
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Thought it would be new and fantastic!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

I was wrong! Stayed in room A6212.

I have visited Dubai on multiple occasions and typically stay at the Ritz Carlton DIFC. I am a Ritz Carlton member and have attained their lowest level (Silver). While I don't expect to get anything out of it, I do like the added bonus points when I stay at hotels. Many people have complained that the hotel is in the middle of nowhere, I could care less about the location. Everything in Dubai is a taxi ride away and they're dirt cheap.

This hotel is massive. It has two towers, one of which still needs to be opened. There are multiple restaurants and the people flowing in/out is great for them. I arrived around 1130PM because of my flight from London arrived a little late. Immediately, the counter staff was in the trying up sell and get as much money out of me as possible. Before the person had really started checking me in, another salesman was saying that he could get me access to the Executive Lounge for 100 dirhams. I asked if it included alcohol and he said it did. I figured it would be worth it because alcohol is expensive in Dubai. He then offered to upgrade me to a suite for 400 more dirhams. Screw it, why not?

My room was on the 62nd floor and I had a nice view of the desert out one window and the Burj Al Arab out another. This hotel has only been open for a couple of months and people have abused it quickly. There were stains on carpet, white stains on the black pillows on the couch, and food underneath the coffee table in the living room. The shower head in the bathroom had the stainless steel/silver glaze flaking off.

Here's the best part. The guy who told me that they would serve alcohol in the Executive Lounge forgot to mention that there was a holiday, so they wouldn't be serving it. I wasn't happy because that was the reason I got the access to the lounge. I don't stay at the hotel all day. I like to go out and explore. Another person who worked for the hotel told me that they are allowed to serve alcohol until 7pm. I went to the bars and they wouldn't serve because of the holiday. I'm not basing my vacation on alcohol, but when I ask for it and you tell it's going to be available and it's not, you've lied to me.

They told me that I could order in my room. The mini bar doesn't have alcohol in it...which I thought was strange for a 5-star resort. I thought that was one of the requirements...even in Dubai.

The bathtub is a huge soak tub, but I think it's made of plastic. I got in and it made a creaking noise. I'm not a fat / heavyset guy either. It just felt cheap

I did get a massage at the Spa and that was amazing! I would recommend you visit the spa. Their prices are a little high, but it was one of the best I've had...minus the noises from the floor above. I think somebody was dropping marbles on a marble floor and moving tables. It was quite annoying, but thankfully at the end of my massage, so it didn't affect it too much.

I ate at the Thai restaurant and it was good. The staff were extremely friendly and the food was good. I'm not going to review that on here.

Overall, the hotel is big and busy. The decor was kind of bland. I thought this would be an excellent experience because this is a new hotel and is at the JW level for Marriott. This is supposed to be their premier line. The standards were a lot lower than what I expected and everything felt cheap. The staff were trying to make the hotel an extra buck by selling everything they could. I even complained at the end and the person didn't seem to care. If anything, they didn't know how to deal with the situation. They didn't apologize or seem to really care how I felt. I personally won't go back and won't recommend to family/friends. I'll continue to stay at the Ritz Carlton or Grosvenor House while in Dubai.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,239 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    789
    314
    74
    38
    24
See reviews for
158
264
75
501
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (392)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Alma, Arkansas
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

Beautiful new hotel, now the biggest in the world. Stunning architecture, could see the Burg Al-Arab from my room. Rooftop pool was fabulous. Great service, couldn't have been nicer. Easy walk to the metro but the hotel has a free shuttle to take you to the Dubai Mall, where you can see the fountains at night.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DXBJW, Guest Relations Manager at JW Marriott Marquis Dubai, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
We are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and our team was able to offer you the service you have expected. On your next visit to the hotel we also recommend you to use our other complimentary shuttles to the business bay and Jumeirah beach. We look forward to have you as our guests again at the JW Marriott Marquis.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo, Japan
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

If you are here for work it will be hard to leave the room. The rooms are big as well as the bathrooms! Sleek modern clean efficient rooms give you everything you need and more. Train is close but taxis easy too. Staff are wonderful!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DXBJW, Guest Relations Manager at JW Marriott Marquis Dubai, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
We are pleased you enjoyed the comfort of your room. To offer you a change of scenery while you are working from the hotel, we invite you to book a room with access to the executive lounge. Amongst many benefits such as the private check in, breakfast and happy hour, you will be able to find a quiet place within the library area where you can continue your work. The executive lounge is open 24/7. We are looking forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

The tallest hotel in the world. Stayed only for one night, but could experience the great service and other offers the hotel provided. A great gym, fantastic breakfast. The hotel opened its doors in February 2013, so it is a new place - but I did not experience any flaws! Strongly recommended

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DXBJW, Guest Relations Manager at JW Marriott Marquis Dubai, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
It was a pleasure to have you and thank you for your recommendation. Our gym facilities are open 24hrs and are certainly a great value to our hotel. We look forward to welcome you again soon, hopefully on a longer visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Canada
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

Stayed at this hotel for two nights. Took the executive package which was pricey although had reasonable benefits within it. The Exec lounge was v good.

The hotel is within a 15 minute walk from the Business Bay Metro on the red line and I took this from the airport as the taxi queue was about 100 people long with no cabs in sight... strange, but true.

Room Tip: Top floor has nice view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DXBJW, Guest Relations Manager at JW Marriott Marquis Dubai, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
We are glad you were able to experience our Executive Lounge and hope to welcome you back the next time you are in Dubai. Prior to your next stay we invite you to contact us should you wish for us to arrange an airport pick up for you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
adelaide
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

I had pleasure of staying at this hotel on a recent visit to Dubai. Being my 1st time to Dubai I was hoping for something nice! It was out of this world! I was greeted by a warm and friendly concierge member of staff. The rooms are HUGE!!! couldn't believe that the size of my room! I was given information about what to see and do within Dubai and they even sent information up to my room based on what i asked. The buffet breakfast is fantastic! freshly cooked and prepared for you, huge range and the staff remembered after 1 breakfast how i liked my coffee! I found everyone very helpful and they went out of their way to make you feel welcome. The location is good, like every other hotel in Dubai you need a taxi to get around but they also provide a free regular shuttle service to and from Dubai Mall. Being a travel agent i will def recommended this hotel to my clients who want something that "A little Special"

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DXBJW, Guest Relations Manager at JW Marriott Marquis Dubai, responded to this review, July 14, 2013
We are so pleased to read your review about our hotel. We are very happy that our team helped created memoriable experiences for you and that you enjoyed yourself so much whilst staying with us. We look forward to welcome you back on many more visits.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

I have stayed on this property few times now. It has never failed to amaze me. Great place with great connectivity and amazing outlets to eat in. Fabulous place for business and family short visits. The location of this place makes it ideal for business travellers. There are so many locations to conduct business in. The welcome is always warm - club on 37th floor is exquisite with its offering and business facilities. I love this place.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DXBJW, Guest Relations Manager at JW Marriott Marquis Dubai, responded to this review, July 13, 2013
We are pleased that we have always met your expectations during your stay and that you enjoyed our executive lounge services so much. We are looking forward to host you as our guest many times in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to JW Marriott Marquis Dubai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JW Marriott Marquis Dubai

Address: Sheikh Zayed Road | Business Bay, Dubai 121000, United Arab Emirates
Location: United Arab Emirates > Emirate of Dubai > Dubai
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 486 Hotels in Dubai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — JW Marriott Marquis Dubai 5*
Number of rooms: 1608
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dubai is a city of awe-inspiring ambition and unsurpassed luxury, home to the world's tallest building, the largest shopping mall, the iconic Palm and now the JW Marriott Marquis Hotel Dubai the worlds tallest hotel. It is a place where dreams come true. Offering a spectrum of business facilities for the most discerning of travelers. It is a brand synonymous with intuitive service and refined taste, a title given only to the finest properties in the Marriott portfolio. Elevated above Dubai's business district, on Sheikh Zayed Road, the JW Marriott Marquis Dubai resides in the Business Bay area. Spread across two iconic towers, the hotel features exceptional event and business facilities, an enticing array of bars and restaurants and the sublime Saray Spa and Health Club. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Marriott, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your JW Marriott Marquis Dubai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage JW Marriott Marquis Dubai, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.