We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not yet on the level of a 5 Star Hotel” 2 of 5 stars
Review of JW Marriott Marquis Dubai

Save Saved
You added JW Marriott Marquis Dubai to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
JW Marriott Marquis Dubai
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Sheikh Zayed Road | Business Bay, Dubai 121000, United Arab Emirates   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Now Summer Offer
Ranked #53 of 474 hotels in Dubai
Chaweng, Thailand
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Not yet on the level of a 5 Star Hotel”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

The Hotel is new therefore the hardware is very good. However the service is poor and rude. Check in, I gave Front Desk clerk passport, business and membership card on all he could clearly see my name but on the end he still checked me in under the wrong name form a totally different race and he did not even apologize. I had to remind him to make the changes. I asked for non smoking but was put into smoking even after I told the clerk I do not care if I stay in king or double bed as long as it is non smoking.
Fitness Center it took me 30 mins to get attention from the 2 staff working at the GYM since my machine did not work proper. Pool very small and not inviting to remain there.
The Sky Bar "Vault" very disappointing and cold with poor service.
Nevertheless the breakfast is very good with a large selection of food items from all over the world and again service needs be improved we always had to ask to get the coffee served.
WIFI is very expensive in the Hotel.
For my next trip I would not stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DXBJW, Guest Relations Manager at JW Marriott Marquis Dubai, responded to this review, June 16, 2013
Thank you for your candid feedback. We sincerely regret the service inconsistencies you experienced throughout the hotel. Please know that we have reviewed your feedback with the appropriate management teams so that these concerns can be addressed. We hope you can accept our sincere apology.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

835 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    513
    211
    56
    34
    21
See reviews for
109
168
51
338
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (254)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

Rooms, amenities, services, restaurants are excellent.
Spacious bathrooms. One of the two towers that comprise the hotel is open. Superb staff. Great breakfast buffet. The surrounding area is literally under contruction. As no doubt figured into the Marriott strategy, when the Business Bay development is complete, the Marquis will be ideally positioned to cater to the national and international business communities.

Room Tip: High floors, naturally, offer expansive views of the Dubai skyline.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DXBJW, Guest Relations Manager at JW Marriott Marquis Dubai, responded to this review, June 16, 2013
Thank you for sharing your wonderful comments and we are proud of our associates who helped to create the 5* experience our guests have come to expect from a JW Marriott hotel and most certainly deserve. Thank you and we hope to have an opportunity to welcome you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wirral
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

I stayed here by accident as the hotel I was booked into had an issue with the AC in its Business Meeting rooms.....what a result!

I must admit I had never heard of The Marquis but what a find, typical Dubai welcome as you arrive by taxi, great genuine smiles and personally escorted to check in. No drama, less than 10 minutes and i was queing for a lift..actually i waited a while bur felt my ears pop shooting up to the 48th floor. Fabulous room, huge bed, with everything to play with including an ipad type control for lights which had a flat battery because it was knocked out of its wall socket charger, no real drama but once plugged in It worked fine, i sometimes wish for a light switch though

Mega bathroom, tons of room, fabulous shower and rich towels, although I was on business I would definately return with my wife. Breakfast was something else, Kitchen 6 means 6 different food stations, i defy anyone to check there way round them all, great staff and tons of choice (and food)

Really great location just off SZR and less than 10 minutes by taxi to Dubai Mall and Burj Khalifa and not too far for the airport

So glad I found the JW Marriott Marquis, looking forward to next time.

Room Tip: the higher the floor, better the view...try it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DXBJW, Guest Relations Manager at JW Marriott Marquis Dubai, responded to this review, June 16, 2013
Thank you for your great comments and we are so pleased that we had an opportunity to have you as our guest. We look forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mechelen
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

After reading the reviews I had mixed feelings about booking this hotel. As a frequent business traveller I have a lot of experience staying at Marriotts (all types) and as a gold member, I do have access to the lounge... so decided to stay here anyway, despite some of the negative reviews. This time, we were on holiday - we stayed 6 nights and had the most amazing time!

When we arrived, we got an upgrade to a suites (5414) - which was amazing. We arrived at 5.30 am and the staff was very accomodating towards us and were extremely friendly the whole time we were there. The lounge access was a big plus... breakfast was amazing, snacks in the afternoon, happy hour from 6.30 - 9... everynight one of their restaurants would prepare the snacks during happy hour that night. There was soo much choice, that we even 2 didn't go out anymore for dinner!
The swimming pool area was lovely...ok, I agree that this is low season and tower B is not yet open... so enough space now... and potentially it may get very crowded there once tower B also opens... but the area itself was very nice... nice view of the burj Khalifa & Burj Al Arab, quite area (not sure why everybody refers to the noice from works around the building, in the 6 days we didn't hear anything!)... ok, it could use more lawnchairs, as we had to settle onto the grass all the time, but still... this is not a holiday resort, it's in the first place a business hotel, so it didn't really bother me that much.

The interior of the hotel is simply one of the most beautifull Marriotts I've ever been in! Taxi's to wherever in Dubai are around 30 - 60 dirham from the hotel, also returning was not an issue, all taxi drivers knew where to find the hotel. And there's a metro station ( Business Bay) at 5 min. walk from the hotel.

Maybe one slight negative comment from our side: housekeeping. I don't think I've ever seen housekeeping doing such a bad job as at this Marriott. Honestly, making the bed is not that difficult... and not one single night did they make the bed properly. Also other smaller things about housekeeping annoyed us like: paper towel box was left empty for days, dirty napkin from room service was left on counter for days etc... So this is def. an area of improvement.

As for the "dirty windows"... indeed, my first comment in the room was also the dirt of the window... but let's face it, dubai is still a big desert, so it's impossible to have clean windows all the time. At least 2 mornings when we were there, there were people busy cleaning the windows, so I guess this is simply something you need to accept being in the middle of all that sand...

For the rest: this marriott got a big thumbs up from us!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DXBJW, Guest Relations Manager at JW Marriott Marquis Dubai, responded to this review, June 16, 2013
We are so pleased that you had chose to stay with us and that you were able to experience all that the JW Marriott Marquis Hotel Dubai has to offer both business and leisure guests. We hope to welcome you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

Just a quick update now that I've left the hotel.

The bathroom! No powerpoint for a hair dryer??? WT? I looked everywhere! How can there be a bathroom with now powerpoint for a hairdryer. Nice big huge mirror - tick. That's where I like to dry my hair!

Maybe it's hidden? Looked under the counter top! No, nothing!

I asked the room attendant. He told me a funny story about Marriott hotels not having power points in bathrooms any more since some accident some time back? Now, what's really wrong with that story is that THERE IS AN OUTLET FOR AN ELECTRIC SHAVER IN THERE! Have they not heard of kill switches, if there was an accident?

Also the lighting above the mirror is terrible for someone trying to apply makeup - so much shadowing. I ended up having to take my mirror to the window to see my face with makeup on it.

Other than this issue which affected me every day of my 28 night stay - everything else was good.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DXBJW, Guest Relations Manager at JW Marriott Marquis Dubai, responded to this review, June 16, 2013
Thank you for sharing your candid feedback. Unfortunately, it is not common practice in the UAE to have powerplugs installed in bathrooms (both in hotels and private homes), and we sincerely regret the inconvenience this caused during your stay. We hope that this does not prevent you from visiting our hotel again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saudi Arabia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

I was advised by a friend to check it out. Being the HIGHEST hotel in the world was exciting enough for me :) I stayed for two nights on May.

Checking in was smooth and easy. Mr Emre in Front Desk was kind enough to take me in a little tour around hotel public parts and restaurants. Front desk manager was kind enough to grant me an access to the Executive Lounge on 37th floor too.

I got to room 6405 which has a great view on Surrounding area and the blue Gulf in background. The room was spacious with the usual Tech gadgets and a room control tablet.

I didn't have the time to explore all 10 restaurants in hotel, yet I would recommend “La Farine” which is a 24 hrs French Restaurant for a taste of the Riviera , or a relaxing evening moments in the Aqua Poolside Bar. You may want to stop by “Kork” for a soothing glass of wine.

Hotel offers a Shuttle to Dubai Mall & Emirates Mall nearby every 20 minutes. I've enjoyed the comfy shuttle ride back and forth.

Friendly staff .. JW Marriott brand .. plus location. All these points will take me back to the highest hotel in Dubai. Hope it will stay high in service too.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DXBJW, Guest Relations Manager at JW Marriott Marquis Dubai, responded to this review, June 16, 2013
Thank you for your great review and we hope that on your next visit you are able to enjoy many more of our featured restuarants, such as Rang Mahal by Chef Atul Kochhar or Prime 68 Steakhouse.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban, KwaZulu-Natal, South Africa
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

I recently stayed at the Marriott Marquis in Dubai. The hotel is excellent. However there is nothing around the hotel except for more construction sites. One has to take a taxi to get around. The metro station is a 15-20 min walk away. This is fine in winter but not recommended in summer. The breakfast was excellent with a wide variety of food to choose from. Staff are friendly.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DXBJW, Guest Relations Manager at JW Marriott Marquis Dubai, responded to this review, June 16, 2013
Thank you for sharing your feedback. For future visits, we invite you to enjoy our complimentary shuttle service that allows you to comfortably explore some of Dubai's most popular destinations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to JW Marriott Marquis Dubai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JW Marriott Marquis Dubai

Address: Sheikh Zayed Road | Business Bay, Dubai 121000, United Arab Emirates
Phone Number:
Location: United Arab Emirates > Emirate of Dubai > Dubai
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #53 of 474 hotels in Dubai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — JW Marriott Marquis Dubai 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dubai is a city of awe-inspiring ambition and unsurpassed luxury, home to the world's tallest building, the largest shopping mall, the iconic Palm and now the JW Marriott Marquis Hotel Dubai the worlds tallest hotel. It is a place where dreams come true. Offering a spectrum of business facilities for the most discerning of travelers. It is a brand synonymous with intuitive service and refined taste, a title given only to the finest properties in the Marriott portfolio. Elevated above Dubai's business district, on Sheikh Zayed Road, the JW Marriott Marquis Dubai resides in the Business Bay area. Spread across two iconic towers, the hotel features exceptional event and business facilities, an enticing array of bars and restaurants and the sublime Saray Spa and Health Club. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, Tingo, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Expedia and Venere so you can book your JW Marriott Marquis Dubai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage JW Marriott Marquis Dubai, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.