We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A fantastic stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of JA Ocean View Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added JA Ocean View Hotel to your Saves list
JA Ocean View Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   The Walk, Dubai Marina | Jumeirah Beach Residence, Dubai 26500, United Arab Emirates (The Marina)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #28 of 499 Hotels in Dubai
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“A fantastic stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013 via mobile

My wife and myself have just returned from a weeks stay at the Ocean View. We were initially concerned after reading previous reviews about nighttime noise levels from building work. In fact we packed earplugs. The reality however was that there were absolutely no disturbances at night at all and our stay there was nothing short of superb.
We tried all of the restaurants including the sister restaurant the thyme. The quality and choice in each was to a very high standard. Room service was great and always had anything we used topped up daily. The Girders bar had a nice atmosphere and had a band playing live some nights. Even on a Tuesday ladies can drink completely free which helped our bar bill significantly. The hotel provides free of charge a beach kit (towels, large mat and parasol) so for most of the time we used the public beach which we fond clean and always plenty of room. The best part that there is a Starbucks next to the hotel so you could walk there from the beach and bring it back to the beach with you.
We booked some trips and some travel with Gulf adventures but would not use them again as they were 1 hour late for a safari trip and didn't turn up for our return airport transfer (although they did offer to pay for the taxi which we had to get)

We are looking at returning to the same hotel next year.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marc V, Manager at JA Ocean View Hotel, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Dear Markthetravel,

Thank you for your sharing your feedback on TripAdvisor following your recent stay at the recently opened Ocean View Hotel.

It was lovely to read that you had a fantastic stay, and I was happy to know that we overcame your concerns prior staying with us.

I do appreciate your kind words with regards to the hotel’s accessible location, our Housekeeping service, as well as to our very own Girders and our sister property’s Thyme restaurant which you enjoyed.

I would like to thank you once again for taking the time to post your review on TripAdvisor, and we hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Ocean View Hotel in the future.


Yours sincerely,

Marc Voller
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,384 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    923
    356
    81
    19
    5
See reviews for
303
665
63
87
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (401)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

We were a bit skeptical about booking because there were not as many reviews and the hotel is new. The location is awesome and it's much less than other hotels in the area and just as nice if not nicer. Its clean and modern, the rooms are comfortable, the pool is great, the food is awesome and the service is excellent. We were on the last 5 days of our honeymoon after traveling to the Maldives and wanted to check out the city before the long flight back to the US and this was just the place to do it. We could walk to great shopping and dining, and to the beach. There is also a shuttle to their sister hotel with a great beach. We had spent two weeks on the beach in the maldives so we mostly searched out cool stuff to do in Dubai and the concierge made it very easy to go on trips and tours. Do not miss the tour with Dune bashing, camel rides, and traditional dancing and meal in the desert. Also the Wild Wadi Water Park was ah-,maze-balls!

Room Tip: Ocean view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marc V, Manager at JA Ocean View Hotel, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Dear KaraBTravlin,

Thank you for your sharing your feedback on TripAdvisor following your recent stay at the recently opened Ocean View Hotel.

It was great to read your review, in particular about your first impressions of the hotel. You have kindly mentioned that the location was excellent, clean and modern, as well as the rooms being comfortable, having in your words ‘awesome food’ and excellent service!

I was also pleased to know that you had a chance to visit our sister properly, as well as to the tourist attractions and activities here in Dubai which you enjoyed.

I would like to thank you once again for taking the time to post your review on TripAdvisor, and we hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Ocean View Hotel in the future.


Yours sincerely,

Marc Voller
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I have recently returned from a weeks holiday in Dubai staying at the Ocean View on a half board basis. We were given a room on the 21st floor which was absolutely perfect and gave us a great view of the Palm and The Atlantis hotel. From check in to departure everything was first class. The hotel and rooms are spotless and without exception the staff were all helpful. We took advantage of the free shuttle to the Jebel Ali hotel most days and just chilled out by the pool. The buffet breakfast at the Ocean View was great and we ate at the Brazilian restaurant on a couple of occasions and we loved it. I must say that my wife and myself are not easily impressed but we couldn't fault the Ocean View at all, everything about our stay there was first class and we would not hesitate to stay there again.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marc V, Manager at JA Ocean View Hotel, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Dear r55sel,

Thank you for your sharing your feedback on TripAdvisor following your recent stay at the recently opened Ocean View Hotel.

It was very nice to read your positive comment about your stay with us, which you found to be first class, from your arrival to your departure experience! I would like to thank you for your kind words with regards to the hotel and rooms which you have kindly mentioned were spotless, as well as to my team whom you felt were all helpful.

I was delighted to read that you had a chance to visit our sister property via our complimentary shuttle service. I was also happy to know that you enjoyed our breakfast buffet, as well as our very own ‘Fogo Vivo’.

Once again, thank you for taking the time to post your review on TripAdvisor, and we look forward to welcoming you back to Ocean View Hotel in the near future.


Yours sincerely,

Marc Voller
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, England, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

Just wanting to say thank you to the staff at this hotel for making our stay pleasant. The Coral Lounge is a must if you like High Tea - special thanks to Angel Molina & colleague Wylly Perez! Camel riding, shopping and a visit to the Brazillian Restaurant in the hotel are also a must while in Dubai! I would definitely recommend this hotel & for anybody thinking about going to Dubai to make the trip.

Room Tip: A sea view room is pleasant
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marc V, Manager at JA Ocean View Hotel, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Dear Caroline H,

Thank you for your sharing your feedback on TripAdvisor following your recent stay at the recently opened Ocean View Hotel.

I was pleased to read your positive comments about the hotel. It was also lovely to read that you had an opportunity to visit and dine in our very own ‘Coral Lounge’ and ‘Fogo Vivo’ which you enjoyed. I do also appreciate your personal acknowledgement to my team which you have kindly mentioned made your stay pleasant. I will personally ensure that these compliments are passed on to them.

Once again, thank you for taking the time to post your review on TripAdvisor, and we look forward to welcoming you back to Ocean View Hotel in the near future.


Yours sincerely,

Marc Voller
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

We spent three nights at this new wonderful hotel on our way to Australia. We arrived on a late night flight and were met with great welcome from the reception manager.We stayed in a large Sea View bedroom on one of the upper floors and enjoyed the view over the swimming pool. There was a construction site opposite however no noise was heard in the hotel. We were very pleased with this hotel and would feel that it is very good value for money. Our visit included half board daily as a special offer on Bed & Breakfast rate. Thanks to all the very helpful staff.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marc V, Manager at JA Ocean View Hotel, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Dear Colette022,

Thank you for your sharing your feedback on TripAdvisor following your recent stay at the recently opened Ocean View Hotel.

I was delighted to know that overall you had an enjoyable stay with us! It was nice to read your kind words about the hotel which you have kindly mentioned was wonderful and was very good value for money.

I would also like to thank you for your positive comments about my team whom you felt were very helpful. I will definitely ensure that these compliments are shared with them.

Once again, thank you for taking the time to post your review on TripAdvisor, and we look forward to welcoming you back to Ocean View Hotel in the near future.


Yours sincerely,

Marc Voller
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallinn, Estonia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

Very good location, many restaurants and food markets and Dubais famous "The Walk" starting right next to the hotel. View to the ocean, i stayed on 12th floor and the construction site next to the hotel was not noisy at all. All the other hotels nearby (Hilton, Mövenpick, Sheraton, Rotana etc etc) have the same construction outside and they charge much more for the room. Internet is free and breakfast really good. Metro station 10-15 min to walk. Public beach 4 min to walk. Towels and umbrellas for public beach for free from hotel. Pool area - in march sunny only after 15.30, so you can't sunbath before that time at the pool. Free rides to other JA chain hotel (20 min ride), where you get private beach, 10 pools and free entrance. Ocean view is a good choice, while visiting Dubai.

Room Tip: Try to get rooms higher than 8th floor, you get better view and on 3rd floor is a hotel bar, which h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marc V, Manager at JA Ocean View Hotel, responded to this review, March 31, 2013
Dear linz100,

Thank you for your sharing your feedback on TripAdvisor following your recent stay at the recently opened Ocean View Hotel.

It was lovely to read about your first impressions about the hotel, which you have kindly mentioned was great and in a perfect location that is accessible to many restaurants. I would like to thank you for your kind words with regards to the facilities and amenities available in the hotel, such as the complimentary internet, served breakfast, towel and umbrellas provided whilst using the nearby public beach, as well as the complimentary shuttle service and access to our sister property.

I would like to thank you once again for taking the time to post your review on TripAdvisor, and we hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Ocean View Hotel in the future.


Yours sincerely,

Marc Voller
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

We spent 3 nights here on the way to Sri Lanka and had a great stay. The location is superb with shops and restaurants really close by and the beach right opposite the hotel. This central location also means it can be quite noisy, especially on a Friday night when the locals are out showing off their fast cars and in particular the horns! We found it interesting to watch and felt we were a part of the shenanigans. You can't skip over the building work. It didn't bother us, but you can see it AND hear it from all the rooms, so if you are a light sleeper it may be worth bringing ear plugs. It will be interesting to return when the work is complete to see the finished product..
The hotel was spotless and the decor was modern and bright.
We ate breakfast in the buffet restaurant which had a great choice of food and good quality. It was nice to try some of the local delicacies.
We ate at the Brazilian and the Thyme reataturant (at the nearby sister hotel). Both were excellent.
We visited Girders bar a couple of times while we were there and they had a great happy hour on cocktails on a Sunday. The clientele in the bar were mainly ex-pats letting their hair down at the weekend. Whilst we enjoyed the bar, it didn't feel like it belonged in a high standard hotel.It felt like any bar in any UK town centre at the end of a Saturday night.

We used the shuttle buses to the Malls which worked really well and we also had a lovely day on the beach at the Jebel Ali hotel. A previous reviewer has put this little perk down as a con, whereas I see it as a good pro. Yes, it takes 25 minutes to get there and the scenery on the journey ain't that great, but once you are there it is a great escape from the hustle and bustle and a great place to chill out in a more of a resort style hotel.

Overall we had a great stay at the Ocean View and we look forward to returning in the future.

Room Tip: Higher rooms get slightly less noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marc V, Manager at JA Ocean View Hotel, responded to this review, March 31, 2013
Dear Superguest,

Thank you for your sharing your feedback on TripAdvisor following your recent stay at the recently opened Ocean View Hotel.

I was extremely pleased to know that overall you had a great stay with us. I was pleased to read that you found the hotel’s location to be superb and accessible; however, I would like to extend my sincere apologies for any noise disturbance you may have experienced which was unfortunately beyond our control.

It was great to read your first impressions about the hotel which you have kindly mentioned was spotless, and the décor that was modern and bright. I was happy to know that you also enjoyed the food quality and selection served during breakfast in ‘Le Rivage’. I was also pleased to read that you had a chance to dine in our very own ‘Fogo Vivo’ and ‘Girders’, as well as to our sister property’s Thyme restaurant.

Lastly, I would like to thank you for your kind words with regards to our complimentary shuttle services to the shopping malls and to our sister property.

Once again, thank you for taking the time to post your review on TripAdvisor, and we look forward to welcoming you back to Ocean View Hotel in the near future.


Yours sincerely,

Marc Voller
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to JA Ocean View Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JA Ocean View Hotel

Address: The Walk, Dubai Marina | Jumeirah Beach Residence, Dubai 26500, United Arab Emirates
Location: United Arab Emirates > Emirate of Dubai > Dubai > The Marina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 499 Hotels in Dubai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — JA Ocean View Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 342
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The city’s only “four-star” beach hotel has 342 rooms and suites with private balconies overlooking the Arabian Gulf’s blue waters. Several restaurants and bars, interconnecting rooms and a children’s club provide the perfect haven for families. In addition to a health club and spa, there is also an infinity pool just steps from Jumeirah beach and access to the private beach at Jebel Ali Golf Resort ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your JA Ocean View Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage JA Ocean View Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.