We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Belgian beer and frites” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Belgian Beer Cafe

Belgian Beer Cafe
Madinat | Jumeirah, Dubai, United Arab Emirates
04-4470227
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #446 of 5,569 Restaurants in Dubai
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Belgian
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Houston
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Belgian beer and frites”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

The room is spacious, the beer is real and poured well. Much of the menu is akin to frites (French fries). Most entrees also come with fries so no need to order extra.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    41
    66
    16
    9
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Top Contributor
683 reviews 683 reviews
274 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 114 cities Reviews in 114 cities
1,317 helpful votes 1,317 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

In April 2011 I wrote a review on the Belgian Beer Cafe (BBC), Festival City stating it was the best bar in Dubai, this is no longer the case the BBC in the Madinat is even better.
It's perfectly located on the floor above and close to Left Bank and Trader Vic's, it has two floors with both inside dining and a terrace for drinks on the lower floor and a small bar upstairs with a larger outside dining area which has great views of several wind towers and the Burj Al Arab.
The Belgian beer is very strong and you need to be careful not to drink to much. Our favourite is Leffe Brun although the Leffe Blonde is equally good. I wish they had a bigger selection of bottled beers. There is a varied menu, we like the mussel pots. If you are at the Madinat you should visit!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belmont, Lancashire.
Top Contributor
137 reviews 137 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Nice location but overpriced”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

We're big fans of Belgian beer but we thought this place was a tad disappointing. The beers on offer were the mainstream, big brewery offerings you can get all over the world such as Duvel, Leffe and the obligatory Stella, not the 'great variety' that some people had mentioned, and they were very pricey.

The food seemed very expensive too... although, to be fair, my wife enjoyed her mushrooms on toast and it was a good sized portion.

Sitting outside overlooking the 'Vegas' style canal was pleasant enough but overall a pretty average offering.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guernsey, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Refreshing change”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

Wandering around Madinat Jumeriah looking for a dinner that wasn't either fine dining or the usual steaks/burger/ pizza /asian based food.

There it was on the 2nd floor the Belgian Cafe . Basically a Belgian Brasserie Pub with a varied (and for our tastes ) really excellent menu.

So,  could the food live up to our hopes? Only one way to find out so in we went. We arrived without reservation and on arrival we were met by the manageress Sharon who apologised for only having inside tables. No problem for us, but after being seated the table next to us paid and left , so we were moved to a table adjacent to a large open window, excellent.

Bottle of wine and water delivered within minutes and we then relaxed to make our choices out of  an extensive brasserie menu that has great fish as well as meat dishes.

Our food,: to start a beef tartar on toast for me and a half dozen oysters for my wife . Both excellent. Mains : both of us ordered Dover sole excellent , we both thought this was as good a dover sole as we have had anywhere. We finished of with with an apple crumble and ice cream to share . Not special but no problems with it.

The place was kicking and busy, service was good , price was middle average typical UAE level. 
We had a really good experience which we thoroughly enjoyed , so much we have booked again on Sunday.

To summarise, if you want posh , gourmet, fancy fine dining this isn't it.

But if a lively Pub/ Brasserie with good pub service and really good european style food this is it.

We found this one a refreshing change.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“When You Open a Restaurant, Make Sure the House is in Order”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

I recently took a friend visitng from overseas to the Belgian Cafe at Madinat.
Lets start with what was good: (i) the salmon salad was nice. I'm afraid that's it!
Now for the bad: (i) If all else fails, the restaurant manager should request his staff to pretend to show an interest in what they are doing even if they genuinely could not care less. Remember your gratuity is directly proportional to your interest! (ii) The chocolate tasting platter (dessert) was average.
And for the downright ugly: (i) the restaurant was leaking! Yes, leaking. Notwithstanding the heat and humidity, I think it is a fair expectation that you not have cleaning staff with sponges attached to long poles, attempting to soak up excess condensation coming out of air conditioning vents while standing at your table as the third guest, while you are eating! No matter how many times you apologize or fake smile, it will not make it alright. I'd rather be disappointed by a closed restaurant fixing its problems than an open one with rain! Unless I completely missed out on the concept - drink enough to make everything look good. Hmmmm.....

If you miss this eatery, you will be none the worse off. Of course, if beer is what you crave, I'm sure you will not really mind all the 'added extras.'

  • Visited September 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Belgian Beer Cafe also viewed

 
Dubai, Emirate of Dubai
Dubai, Emirate of Dubai
 

Been to Belgian Beer Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Belgian Beer Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.