We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth a visit if you are interested in the history of Dubai” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dubai Museum

Dubai Museum
Al Souq Al Kabeer | Bur Dubai, Dubai, United Arab Emirates
04-3531862
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Private Tour
$48*
and up
Private Tour: Dubai City Half-Day Sightseeing Tour
Ranked #26 of 111 Attractions in Dubai
Type: History Museums, Museums
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: This museum uses life-size dioramas to depict everyday Dubai life in the days before the discovery of oil. Galleries recreate scenes from the Creek, traditional Arab houses, mosques, the souk, date farms and desert and marine life.
Portland, OR
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
54 attraction reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
“Worth a visit if you are interested in the history of Dubai”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

We went here on our recent trip to Dubai. I wanted to go to take some pictures of the fort that the museum is housed in, and didn't expect too much from the exhibits. We ended up pleasantly surprised.

For starters the price of the museum visit is AED 3 per person (small children even less expensive) which was much less expensive than the cab ride to the museum. The outside and above ground exhibits show some historic weapons and cannons, old fishing boats, and a replica palm frond house people used to live in, which are interesting in their own right.

There is a very large exhibit below ground which is dedicated to telling the history of Dubai through many large dioramas showing the lives and settings of the population of the past. If you have glass and steel skyscraper overload this exhibit puts things into perspective quite effectively. There are also some archaeological exhibits.

Given the price this is something you shouldn't miss if you are interested in history at all. Allow for about 1-2 hours to see everything.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,354 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    494
    558
    237
    51
    14
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Seriously needs to be updated”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

I was disappointed to see that the museum hasn't changed since I visited there 6 years ago. Yes, it is excellent value for money and much can be learnt from the imaginative displays. However the big let down is the film that shows Dubai changing through the decades to the 'present'. It is an excellent idea and so rivetting but it stops too early and actually shows the year 2000 as being the future and correct me if I am wrong but it is now 2013. It actually shows drawings of future projects such as the Palm and Festival City, which have been up and buzzing for a long time now. Please oh Please can you update. Also, if you put some bench seats along the back, you could also give a little more detail about the various eras of change as it is truly a fascinating city.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lahore, Punjab, Pakistan
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
44 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
103 helpful votes 103 helpful votes
“Dubai Museum”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

you can find all old to new feeling , once you go in , it is diff dubai and out side it is different , in my opinion , it is wastage to go there until you love history or that kind of stuff

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daytona Beach, Florida
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Very Suprised and worth the visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

For only 3 Dirhams you enter what seems like a waste of your time, but keep walking through the exhibit and I bet you'll be pleasantly surprised. This is a 25-60 minute visit depending how fast you go through the musuem.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
23 attraction reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“Surprising and excellent value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

If you buy a hop on hop off ticket, and in fact there is a stop right outside this fort, entrance is free. Can't get better value than that. It was also opposite our hotel - Arabian Courtyard which was excellent and reviewed elsewhere.

Looking in through the doorway you might think there is nothing here, but its very large, and mostly underground.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dubai Museum also viewed

Dubai, Emirate of Dubai
Dubai, Emirate of Dubai
 

Been to Dubai Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dubai Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.