We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“only good at first sight” 2 of 5 stars
Review of EWA Dubai Deira Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added EWA Dubai Deira Hotel to your Saves list
EWA Dubai Deira Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   AL-Khaleej Road Near Al Baraha Hospital | Al Khaleej Road, Al Baraha, Dubai 93499, United Arab Emirates   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #251 of 499 Hotels in Dubai
Kuala Lumpur
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“only good at first sight”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

When one enters the room of this new hotel and sees the nice modern furniture, one may be impressed. But wait....water was half cold at evening and really cold next morning. I heard that other guests experienced the same problem. It was difficult to find a plug to upload electronic devices. There is some minor noise from planes starting from the nearby airport. The breakfast buffet was o.k., but staff was a bit slow to refill certain things like coffee and eggs. Staff at reception was polite but not really welcoming. When entering the room, it was cooled down to 15 degrees Celsius, what a waste of energy. So overall, not really well managed, many small things can be improved. The fact that there was no hot water made the stay here overall bad and I cannot recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    47
    22
    9
    8
See reviews for
21
27
17
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Penang
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

This hotel has all the basic amenities, just. It is convenient if you have business with the Al Baraha Hospital across the street but I cannot see what the attraction would be otherwise. It's comfortable enough but there is nothing to distinguish itself for an hotel in its price range.

Breakfast is OK but not great, there is no tea making service in the room, the pool is pocket handkerchief size and Internet connection is only available in the lobby which can get noisy when it's busy. During the times I was in the lobby for the internet service, the receptionist speaks very loudly and at length on the phone in Tagalog - I guess she thinks the guests cannot understand her conversations but it was very intrusive. If these can be fixed that I would rate this place as average.

The room is smallish and with the heavy furniture, things become a tight squeeze with luggage in the room. If one is there to work, which I was, the lighting around the work desk is poor and you cannot shift the other lights in the room because "maintenance" conveniently tapes up all the wiring for the lights in the room and lined them in a straight line at the head of the bed - where one really does not need so much lighting. Maintenance conveniently said nothing could be be done with the lighting but it takes a responsive chap from housekeeping to "free " one lamp by removing some tapes - a one minute process. A multiple plug is helpful because there are not enough wall sockets in the room.

There are shops nearby which is convenient for food. Any guest going to Ewa should be aware that there is an "EWAN" hotel nearby. I was sent to EWAN by my taxi driver by mistake and he insisted it was "Ewa" even after being told it was the wrong hotel. Another colleague was also sent to Ewan and she had to walk the short distance to Ewa with luggage at 2 AM in the morning!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

I stayed here for two nights as it was near the dolphinareum. coming from centro hotel in abu dabhi this was awful compared to centro.The pool had lots of flies and bird feathers, i literally was feeling very sick whilst in there and did not spend more than five minutes. The jacuzzi was not a Jacuzzi it was just a small bit big enough to fit a toddler in and really do not understand why it was called a jacuzzi!!!!
the tea was like a soup that had gone wrong!!!!
we did not have our room cleaned whilst there
the airoplane noise was awful
the windows did not lock or secure shut was in room 318
there was an smell of wrotten eggs when we arrived there in the lobby and hallway when asked what it was they told us it was maintenence work but the smell was kinda little bit gone by the next day
the chair near the pool area were broken which unfortunately was the only one available
we were able to check out at 2 rather than 12 which was nice
the bathroom had a dampish smell
the tiles had black dirt in the grit
we were only given one key guard although there was 2 of us when we asked why they said there was a shortage
i would like to stress that although the overall maintence was not very good the security guard and the reception gentlement were quite helpful but i would not stay there again

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jizan, Saudi Arabia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

We came to EWA hotel with a deal contains an accommodation for two nights in it.
the problem is that I requested to be in a room with a Double Bed.
after I received the key I found that they put two beds together !! with two separate blankets !!
I accept the beds, but how can I get a confirmation for a double bed room with my wife & I found it for singles !!.
the staff, breakfast, location & all other matters were good.
But they are not keeping them promises. especially when the told my that they will resolve my problem, & at the next day they were asking me again about my problem what it was !!!

finally I'm gonna say that I wasted my weekend fighting for my rights.

Room Tip: In this hotel, you have to check the room before you accept it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nizwa, Oman
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

Ewa is complete value for money, offers clean rooms, super comfortable beds, friendly staff and an excellent breakfast spread which changes everyday.

Ask for the rooms facing the sea, you cant see much of the water as large part of it has been reclaimed. But on weekends its truely entertaining, as you can sit in your rooms and watch local cricket matches happening at a distance.

It nieghbours a 24 hr store called Jesco Supermarket which also has a currency exchange place. Its 10 mins away from Union Metro Station, which costs minimum fare by cab, amounting to 10dh.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nuremberg, Germany
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

We were staying in this hotel during a stayover in Dubai arriving from Southeast-Asia.

PRO
- not far from the airport
- hospitality, nice staff
- shops nearby
- rooms: clean
- swimmingpool, small but nice

NEG:
- airport / plane noise (located directly on the approach path to the airport - so it's really loud)

OVERALL:
- if you want a hotel for a stayover or a short vaccation and you are getting a good rate, think about going there.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riyadh
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

That Hotel is really nice hotel, clean with very nice staff and good and corporative manager, they are 4 floor but really organized, it is not that luxury but it is nice and
Near to Gold and Fish market, historical area not far from Kornish and mamser..

No connected rooms, swimming pool nice and parking (small) but there security
So nice and helping to stop car safely..

I recommend that hotel for budget stay near historical area..

Room Tip: Room facing Sea will be nice..
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to EWA Dubai Deira Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about EWA Dubai Deira Hotel

Address: AL-Khaleej Road Near Al Baraha Hospital | Al Khaleej Road, Al Baraha, Dubai 93499, United Arab Emirates
Location: United Arab Emirates > Emirate of Dubai > Dubai
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #251 of 499 Hotels in Dubai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — EWA Dubai Deira Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
EWA Dubai Deira Hotel is an ideal address for both business travelers and tourists. It exudes warmth and comfort in a cosmopolitan environment. EWA Dubai Deira Hotel is a 3-Star property conveniently located in Al Baraha area facing Al Baraha Hospital on Deira Corniche, merely 10 minutes away from Dubai International Airport. The hotel is ideally situated to explore old Dubai within easy reach of the famed Dubai Gold and Spice Souq, Heritage Village, Dubai Museum and Bastakia, Naif Souq, Hamriya and Al Shindagha. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Despegar.com, Agoda, Odigeo and HostelBookers so you can book your EWA Dubai Deira Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage EWA Dubai Deira Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.