We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“3 nights of value of money” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Marco Polo Hotel

Save Saved
You added Marco Polo Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Marco Polo Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Al Muteena St | PO Box 25570, Dubai, United Arab Emirates   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #141 of 474 hotels in Dubai
Riyadh, Saudi Arabia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“3 nights of value of money”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

I stayed for 3 nights in the high season of Eid when almost all 4 and 5 star hotels were fully booked or had exorbitant rates. It was a good stay overall.

Good things:
Value for money
Relatively good-sized rooms
Modern furniture and decorations
Good breakfast
Friendly staff and good quick service
Great car valet services

Not so good things:
Very Cold room. Me and my family all went down with cold/flu in the end of visit (August)
Location is far from new Dubai

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

344 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    102
    143
    68
    22
    9
See reviews for
53
129
35
47
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

My wife and I arrived at the Marco Polo in the early hours of the morning and as we expected, our room was not ready for us. The wonderful people at the Marco Polo took our luggage and sent us up to the restaurant for a complimentary breakfast. After breakfast, we had a short wait then we were in our room and the unexpected surprise of a complimentary lunch to make up for any inconvenience caused. The room was large, the bed very comfortable the air conditioning very welcome after the 43 degree temperatures on the street. I don't know enough superlatives to describe the staff and the service that we received, outstanding somehow does not do the hotel any justice. We'll be going back to Dubai and we'll be staying at the Marco Polo, its a seven star service hotel at a 3 star price.

Room Tip: Just ask at the desk for a good room, you'll get it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MPHDubai, Vice President at Marco Polo Hotel, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Dear Michael,

It was a pleasure having you with us at Marco Polo Hotel Dubai for the first time and I would like to sincerely thank you for your comments of appreciation which shared with us the pleasure and joy you experienced during your stay with us. It is always very rewarding to receive such positive feedback, as we continually strive to improve and go beyond our guest’s expectations.

It is gracious guests like you that inspires and motivates us all to always offer our best. Once again, thank you and we certainly look forward to your next visit.

Regards,
Sunil Marya
Vice President
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burton upon Trent, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights beginning of July and found the hotel welcoming, clean and good value. Were picked up from airport in private taxi and whisked straight to hotel getting there about 0500 We were greeted politely, checked in speedily and advised that check in time was 14:00. There was a fifteen second conversation with my wife when the member of staff discovered he was wrong. Check in time was now PRONTO! and it was. Room was very good and after a brief nap we went out and about. Had breakfast both days which was excellent. Had one evening meal in the pub which was first class and the second in the Tex-Mex restaurant which was even better. Steak would be acceptable in any UK hotel. Picked up as arranged on day of departure and whisked back to airport in style and air-conditioned comfort. One word of caution : our final night was the night before Ramadan ~ the locals have a bit of a go at letting their hair down ready for the holidays. It's a bit like what you would expect if Manchester United were playing Liverpool, England won the Ashes and Prince Philip finally got to speak his mind. Did not spoil our enjoyment at all. Thanks to all

Room Tip: Only reason sleep quality was average was due to partying for Ramadan. One night only - first night...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MPHDubai, Vice President at Marco Polo Hotel, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Dear Guest,

It was a pleasure to welcome you to Dubai and we are quite delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay at the Marco Polo Hotel Dubai, even if it was just for a 2 day stop over. Our 24 hour Check in is very convenient for transient travelers especially those catching the red eye. We do apologize for the slight misunderstanding at Reception and happy to note it was resolved immediately.
Thank you for all your kind comments on our rooms, prompt service, excellent breakfast as well as the meals and fun you had at our pub and restaurants. We are glad to be part of your Dubai experience and look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Regards,
Sunil Marya
Vice President
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Letterkenny, Ireland
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for three nights en-route to Asia. It's very close to the airport and only a short Taxi ride to Dubai mall etc. We went to the Atlantis waterpark too and it cost us about 70 dirham in a taxi. All the staff were really helpful and we were served a refreshing glass of juice as we checked in at 4am! Very welcome in the Dubai humidity! Rooms were very clean and comfortable. Couldn't fault it really for the price! It might not be as glamorous as other Dubai hotels but its a great value option!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MPHDubai, Vice President at Marco Polo Hotel, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Dear Ms SandraDee,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your feedback on Marco Polo Hotel. Value for money accommodations without sacrificing guest comfort is our aim and glad to hear from you that we achieved this.

We are glad you made us a part of your trip and look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Regards,
Sunil Marya
Vice President
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

We stayed at the hotel for 5 nights in mid July and found that it was good value for money and was clean, comfortable and spacious. Due to it being ramadan, we paid for breakfast at the hotel each morning and found it to be quite nice, with a variety of Western and Indian dishes predominantly.

Staff are polite and helpful and though room service takes a while (20-40 mins on average), the food is good.

My only complaint would be that the mattress was a bit soft and made my back sore, but this is personal preference.

If you're looking to see the glitz and glamour of Dubai, you will not find it in this part of town. Here is old Dubai - perfect to visit the gold and spice souks and visit the creek etc.

Travel to the malls and other modern sights of Dubai cost about AUD $15 to $20 depending on traffic and we were happy to pay this.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MPHDubai, Vice President at Marco Polo Hotel, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Dear Guest,

It was a pleasure having you with us at Marco Polo Hotel Dubai and I would like to sincerely thank you for taking time out to write us quite a wonderful review.

We are glad you enjoyed our International breakfast buffet spread which we plan and design to cater to all nationalities. As for our location in Deira, yes we are in the older part of the city. The old Dubai of the spice souks, gold souks, the Abras and many cafeterias sprinkled around Deira serving authentic Arabic coffee and shisha pipes with your choice of flavor. Many choose our hotel because of our proximity to the airport and the local surrounding culture.

Thank you once again for your kind comments and we hope to welcome you back again soon.

Regards,
Sunil Marya
Vice President
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

My wife and i only stayed 1 night at the marco polo on the way through to europe. It is not a 5 star hotel in the new area of Dubai, instead it is a 4 star hotel in the older part of Dubai, so if you are looking for super luxury this is probably not the place for you. It is 10 mins from the airport, and overall was a pleasent place to stay. I personally found the staff there to be very friendly,and very helpfull, and with a variety of restaurants on site, the choice of food is really good, and very reasonably priced. It is the older area of Dubai which is not as touristy as pherhaps the new area of Dubai, but if you look around not too far from the hotel you can find some great little shopping areas that are much cheaper than the specialised tourist areas which are going to be a lot more expensive. Some of our best shopping on our entire 5 week holiday was done within 5-10 mins walking from the hotel. Incredibly cheap prices. Overall experience very good, and i will certainly stay there again any time i go to Dubai.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MPHDubai, Vice President at Marco Polo Hotel, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Dear Guest,

We are very glad to hear that you had quite a pleasant experience staying at the Marco Polo Hotel even if it was just for a day. We do get a lot of transient guests en route to Europe and Asia due to our proximity to the airport. Our location of being close to the souks /markets ( gold, textile, spice etc.) is also a plus as you have discovered for yourself.

Thank you for kind and generous comments on our staff and various food outlets and we most certainly will look forward to welcoming you back again soon for your Arabian adventure.

Regards,
Sunil Marya
Vice President
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

We only stayed one night so being in the old area of Deira and away from the incessant shopping disease didnt bother us. The hotel was a pleasant oasis in the 40degree heat. The Indian staff were cheerful and helpful, suggesting a dinner cruise on The Creek to enjoy our only evening. ALL guests except us were Indian (the food was not all Indian -it would suit anyone) so we felt a bit conspicuous, but needn't have worried as we were happily drawn into the Bollywood dancing and had great fun. They also had a spectacular whirling dervish dancer.Back to the room- lovely kingsize bed, desk and comfy long sofa for watching the flat screen TV.The delightful Arabian inner courtyard- the Jumana Lounge- had free Wifi and a man to help check ongoing flights.24hr cafe, bars and entertainment made this good value.

Room Tip: Our room had no window which didnt bother us for a short stay
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MPHDubai, Vice President at Marco Polo Hotel, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking time to provide feedback of your recent stay at the Marco Polo Hotel Dubai. We are very glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us even if it was just for a day and that we were able to provide a cool respite from the heat outside. Ensuring guest comfort is always a top priority for all of us here as well as providing value for money accommodations and services. Your kind and gracious comments on the staff, the rooms and other aspects of the hotel certainly make all our efforts worthwhile.

Again, thank you and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon perhaps for a longer trip this time.

Regards,
Sunil Marya
Vice President
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Marco Polo Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marco Polo Hotel

Address: Al Muteena St | PO Box 25570, Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Location: United Arab Emirates > Emirate of Dubai > Dubai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#32 Best Value Hotel in Dubai
#120 Luxury Hotel in Dubai
#125 Family Hotel in Dubai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Marco Polo Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the centre of Dubai’s business and leisure district in Deira, the Marco Polo Hotel offers quick and friendly service to business and leisure travellers. A sleek, classy experience of primary hospitality filled with warm ambiance lies within the glass curtain facade. The hotel has a host of premium outlets that takes you on a culinary journey while the recreational facilities and culture of hospitality helps you unwind and enjoy a relaxed holiday. Bon voyage on a silk route to hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Otel, EasyToBook, BookingOdigeoWL, HostelBookers and Venere so you can book your Marco Polo Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marco Polo Hotel Dubai
Marco Polo Dubai
Hotel Marco Polo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marco Polo Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.