We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel is run down” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Marco Polo Hotel

Save Saved
You added Marco Polo Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Marco Polo Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Al Muteena St | PO Box 25570, Dubai, United Arab Emirates   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #141 of 474 hotels in Dubai
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Hotel is run down”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

One gets the impression that the hotel may once have been quite a nice hotel. However as a 4 star rated establishment - it does not cut it. Once again no interleading rooms upom check in but we were moved later that same evening and these rooms were much better. The rooms in general are run down, have a damp smell and well worn e.g. dirty grouting in the showers, towles not replaced timeously. We had corner rooms on the first floor facing a street intersection so it was expected that one could clearly hear the noise of traffic. The staff service is great but the overall rating is low because it is not a 4 star hotel but rather a 2 to 3 star rating. Over the December period I stayed in no less than 5 hotels across Thailand, Malaysia and Dubai. They were all 4 star hotels but the only one that really clame close was the Renaissance hotel in Kuala Lumpur. The rest were no where near 4 stars. Marco Polo is in the old part of Dubai called Deira and I suspect no one wants to stay there anymore preferring the more trendy new parts of the city, I will not stay there again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MPHDubai, Vice President at Marco Polo Hotel, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Dear Guest,

It was a pleasure to welcome you to Dubai and we thank you for giving us the opportunity to serve and show you our brand of hospitality. It saddens us however to read that the impressions left on you were not positive. Our rooms have received many praises since the general refurbishment in 2010 and daily towel change is the standard. We have discussed your feedback in our operational meetings to alert the Department Heads concerned and take action on the matter accordingly.

As for our location in Deira, yes we are in the older part of the city. The old Dubai of the spice souks, gold souks, the Abras and many cafeterias sprinkled around Deira serving authentic Arabic coffee and shisha pipes with your choice of flavor. Many choose our hotel because of our proximity to the airport and the local surrounding culture. The new Dubai is just a 15-20 minute taxi ride away or you may even take the Metro train as we are close to the Salah Al din Station. It is really a matter of preference.

Thank you for your feedback and we hope you come visit us again soon.

Regards,

Sunil Marya
Vice President
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

344 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    102
    143
    68
    22
    9
See reviews for
53
129
35
47
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

Excellent service and cleaniness. Always friendly help with tour suggestions and shopping venues. Breakfast was good and lunch service excellent. Room was comfortable and always clean. Thank for a wonderful stay, will definately recommend.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

The stay at you place in Dubai was great.
The room was very good, the breakfast was excellent. The service was good.
Overall if was an excellent experience.
We would definitely recommend your hotel to our friends.

Room Tip: There aren't any room with great views because this is on the old Dubai
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubrovnik, Croatia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

Very good location, 15 min with taxi from Dubai Mall and Burj Khalifa , 20 min from the airport.
Very comfortable and clean, great choice for breakfast! Friendly and helpful staff. We stayed only 2 nights there on our way back from Mauritius, but it was short & sweet:)

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Havelock North, New Zealand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

Very helpful staff,who do everything possible to make you comfortable [ June is a very hot month to be there ] but I really enjoyed a four night stay, Pick-up and delivery at any time to the Airport, and all at a reasonable price.

Room Tip: Anywhere on the third floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Italy
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

Really a great beautiful environment. I highly recommend it. An exceptional staff, attentive, friendly and always available. Very good, in the rooms, excellent reception, excellent Vijai, excellent the girls in the bar on the ground floor, excellent the manager and all his staff. Tullio Condello

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Playa del Carmen, Mexico
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

This place has everything you need, nice and clean and the great reception are beckoning your call, The Fox and Hound is a great place to kick back a pint and grab some fish and chips , entertainment starts around 8 pm, what a great show!!!!! they have a coffee shop on the first floor and a steakhouse as well. i believe the indian bar and chinese as well. sushi anyone!!!!!!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Marco Polo Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marco Polo Hotel

Address: Al Muteena St | PO Box 25570, Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Location: United Arab Emirates > Emirate of Dubai > Dubai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#32 Best Value Hotel in Dubai
#120 Luxury Hotel in Dubai
#125 Family Hotel in Dubai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Marco Polo Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the centre of Dubai’s business and leisure district in Deira, the Marco Polo Hotel offers quick and friendly service to business and leisure travellers. A sleek, classy experience of primary hospitality filled with warm ambiance lies within the glass curtain facade. The hotel has a host of premium outlets that takes you on a culinary journey while the recreational facilities and culture of hospitality helps you unwind and enjoy a relaxed holiday. Bon voyage on a silk route to hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Otel, EasyToBook, BookingOdigeoWL, HostelBookers and Venere so you can book your Marco Polo Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marco Polo Hotel Dubai
Marco Polo Dubai
Hotel Marco Polo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marco Polo Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.