We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“reat budegt hotel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Golden Sands Hotel Apartments

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Golden Sands Hotel Apartments to your Saves list
Golden Sands Hotel Apartments
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Al Mankhool Rd | Bur Dubai, Dubai, United Arab Emirates   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #242 of 499 Hotels in Dubai
Lagos, Nigeria
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“reat budegt hotel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2014

Great budget hotel for a family trip, very helpful staff, has a good supermarket round the corner to get stuff you need, the location is great, probably try to eat outside the hotel, did not fancy the hotel food much.
Again I think Golden sands 5 is good, i hear 3 is a no go area.

Room Tip: top rooms higher floors are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,099 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    206
    477
    271
    84
    61
See reviews for
379
253
96
111
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (184)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bradford, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2014

We stayed at golden sands 3 for 10 days. We were out during the day everyday but it was always a nice experience to come back to our clean room. Room service was excellent and everythings was topped up. Fresh towels, shampoo, teabags and sugar. We were on the first floor above the pool which was nice. A nice and different choice of breakfast everyday. Overall experience was very good and would certainly recommend!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pune, India
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2014

We stayed in Golden Sands 10 from 4th march 2014 to 10th march 2014.we were 6 of us and a kid.
The apt was not as good as expected.
it had 3 washrooms ,1 kitchen, 1 hall and 3 bathrooms.
only 1 bedroom has an attached washroom and the other 2 do not have it.
only 1 bedroom has a double bed , the other two have twin beds.
The washrooms had dirt( Black Linings ) near the tub area which was really bad.
Every time you need hot water we have to on the geyser sometime before which is never seen in an hotel.
The kitchen had very few vessels,the burner was really old and not so good.
Kitchen did not have basic things like some liquid soap to clean vessels, no napkin. We had to keep requesting for all this.
The Staff at the reception was not really very helpful. In case we need anything we have to call them at least 4 times which is not expected.
Compared to the service and the apt we found it expensive.
The breakfast was good ( Indian types)
The metro would be 10 mins from the hotel.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coquitlam, BC
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2014

This hotel is NOTHING like to pics advertised! Looking on line the pics of this beautiful lobby area with bright crisp looking rooms was nothing that we walked into! I'm not kidding! A completely different building! Only after we arrived did we realize that there are 11 different golden sands buildings, and we were in the dumpiest one! This was a real shock to us as we booked our whole vacation on line without any issues except for this one.

Of course because it was non-refundable, we felt stuck here. We contacted the on line booking website we went through the first day and complained that this is not the hotel that we booked! We asked the front desk about changing buildings at least but they said the other buildings were residential.

We were expecting a Best Western type of hotel, ( like the pics ), and walked into a run down dirty motel 6 or super 8! The price of this was ridiculous! $150 canadian plus a 20% tourism tax so this dump cost us $180 per night!! I can see $180 for the three nights we stayed there but NOT per night!

Our room was dirty looking and a strong pee/mould stain from the bathroom masked with deodorizer! The grout on the tile and cocking around the bathroom was both pink and black in colour. The sink and or toilet leaked all over the bathroom floor. I felt like I might as well have been camping! It just felt dirty being there, yuck.

We changed rooms the next day as we were told to come back in the morning. We told them we would be out for the day but would check back with them when we returned. He promised us the best room, no problem I will take care of you! When we came back, there was no specific room waiting for us. He looked around the computer and sent another guy to take us to the room. It was the exact same room on the top floor. A little cleaner than the first. Next problem though, the generator was on the roof vibrating and buzzing in our room constantly. When the guy phoned up to our room to see if we were satisfied my husband explained to him that this is not what he told us he was going to do for us and that this room was very noisy. He said he had to phone his supervisor and would call us back in 5 mins. Two hours later, no call. This was now 11:30 at night. We went down to the front desk to inquire what was happening but the guy we were dealing with had already left!

I know Dubai hotels are expensive but we got a great deal in a beautiful hotel not too far from this one called the Movenpick and we paid $130 canadian. I was disgusted that we were stuck there for 3 days.

This was the only hotel I came across that did not call on a cab for you. They told us you had to wait on the street for one to come by! This was a hit and miss because it is not on a busy street. Which brings me to another thing I do not like about this location, the website claims it is close to everything and great location, which it is not. You had to walk 15 mins to be close to anything. When you are wanting to go for a coffee, snack or shopping, it's not convenient to go for breakfast and come back and get ready for your day out.

We made the most out of our vacation which meant we were walking daily for hours and hours so when we arrived at this hotel and needed to walk 15 mins just to do anything, we were not happy about that at all. The area itself made us feel unsafe walking back to the hotel in the night so we always had to cab it. This area was the older part of Dubai but we weren't expecting it to be so "shady". This is NOT a good hotel for families!!!

I cannot say enough how much we HATED this hotel ( which was building #3 ). I have been in contact with the booking website regarding my complaint and that this hotel should not be allowed to post pics of hotel that they do not plan to put their customers in!

Room Tip: Do not stay here, period!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2014

This is the second time I have stayed at The Golden Sands Apartments in Dubai. We initially were booked into Golden Sands 3 which is where the taxi took us. upon arriving the grumpy reception staff said we had been upgraded to a larger suite in Golden Sands 10. Whilst this was pleasing to here, we ended up taking another taxi to Golden Sands 10 after their own taxi had broken down.
Anyway when we arrived at Golden Sands 10, reception staff were prompt and checked us in to our suite which had 3 twin bedrooms and 3 bathrooms, a big kitchen and lounge/diner. Wow! It was so spacious for 4 people we took a room each. towels were provided straight away and we even called front desk to show us how to use the cooker. Beds were very comfy and there is so much storage in the cupboards. We had a balcony which overlooked other apartments opposite. Spinneys the 24/7 supermarket is walkable from the apartment and has everything including a pharmacy.
There are restaurants which are walkable eg, 10-15 minute walk. We ate out at Bombay Dining restaurant which was nice one evening. In Mina Bazaar, Rangoli is a good vegetarian restaurant along with veg world which is in the middle of an open market. There are not much restaurants around the Gold Souks.
Some of the rooms are in need of a little paint, but they are all clean and functional for a short stay. The bigger suites are great!

Room Tip: Rooms are quiet and you don't here much street noise if you are floor 3 or above. All rooms are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castleisland, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2014

My husband and I stayed at the Golden Sands 5 Hotel Apartments for 6 nights from 26th March to 1st April 2014 while attending the Dubai Duty Free Gaelic Games. All the staff were friendly and very helpful, reception, restaurant and housekeeping. The Golden Sands 3 Tourism desk arranged a safari, which was absolutely a great evening of entertainment.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 606, nice room, bathroom a bit dated.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2014

Total shambles when we arrived as thomas cook had cancelled our booking and not told us, so hotel said well "pay again and claim it back" anyway eventually got sorted, hotel rooms are clean but need updating, breakfast was fine, staff polite, pool fine but Avoid room 122, even though it says "please be silent in the corridors" it is on the main route from 3 lifts through to the restaurant and the pool so screaming kids ( usually shouting in English ) at 2 am every nigh was a pain, the sign was in english, shame it was ignored, not the hotels fault just Brits abroad!

dont you the cabs outside they cost twice as much as one 50 meters away pay no more than 24 dirhams to the Dubai Mall etc

Room Tip: avoid 1st floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Golden Sands Hotel Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Sands Hotel Apartments

Address: Al Mankhool Rd | Bur Dubai, Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Location: United Arab Emirates > Emirate of Dubai > Dubai
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #242 of 499 Hotels in Dubai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Golden Sands Hotel Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 750
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, getaroom.com, HostelWorld, Asiatravel.com Holdings and Agoda so you can book your Golden Sands Hotel Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Sands Dubai
Golden Sands Hotel Dubai
Golden Sands Apartments Dubai
Golden Sands Hotel Apartments Dubai
Dubai Golden Sands
Golden Sands Apartment Dubai

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Golden Sands Hotel Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.