We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GREAT ROOM, BAD SERVICE” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Golden Sands Hotel Apartments

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Save
You added Golden Sands Hotel Apartments to your Saves list
Golden Sands Hotel Apartments
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Al Mankhool Rd | Bur Dubai, Dubai, United Arab Emirates   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #227 of 486 Hotels in Dubai
Doha, Qatar
1 review
“GREAT ROOM, BAD SERVICE”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2014

At Golden Sands Hotel Apartments 5 :

THE BAD :

- Help desk is slow and needed three times to get a baby crib and that even after i sent them email a week ago.
- Rooms are not clean even after room service, it is still dirty.
- sheets are dirty with stains.
- horrible noises all around the room, specially from inside the hotel.

THE GOOD :
- The room was spacious.
- parking lots are available.
- location is very good.

Room Tip: Not room 428
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,007 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    192
    435
    246
    77
    57
See reviews for
342
241
91
103
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (165)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cocoa Beach
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2014

This is a good value for the money, it is short walk to "Jumbo" electronics center, which has great deals on hardware and software. Nice resturants are close by and also food shopping. Many attractions are 20 mins away. Its very family oriented place.

Room Tip: Yo can check your booking at the airport Sands location and or change your room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Western Australia
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2014

This hotel claims to be a 4 star hotel, but we believe it is only 2-3 star. We paid AUD$500 for 2 nights for a double room with access to the "Executive Lounge" but it was only worth (perhaps) $100 per night. Our room overlooked a carpark, the bathroom was mouldy and there were no instructions whatsoever for the in-room washing machine, which we wanted to use, but could not. We did not have time to wait for someone to come to explain it to us. A simple leaflet would have been useful. The "Executive Lounge" is a bit of a joke, the 2 times we went to breakfast there, there was hardly anything to eat! The coffee is terrible, from a cheap machine and the cleaners are trying to clean around you as you look at the tiny buffet, trying to decide how to put together some sort of breakfast. Our daughter lives in Dubai and she rang the hotel 3 times to talk to us, but she was never able to get through - she said the phone rang and rang and nobody picked up. We informed Reception about this, but they insisted that their phones were working... She ended up calling our mobile phone, in order to be able to speak to us. The pillows are one size only - BIG - so if you are not used to very big pillows, bad luck! As other reviewers have said also, if you do not know which apartment block you are booked into (there are several) it is impossible for a taxi to take you to the correct one. There is nowhere on the booking sites that let you know which one it is and our taxi driver had to try to contact the hotel on the way from the airport so that he would know where to take us. I would not return. Too dissatisfied with too many things.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doha, Qatar
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2014

Staying at the Golden Sands was really great for budget and convenience in Dubai. Beyond that it is not much to rite home about.
We stayed in Golden Sands 6 - of which I have no idea how many buildings there actually are - but there are a lot. The great thing is that taxi's and locals all know where it is and you can easily get home at the end of every day. it is also quite central for getting to new and old Dubai and close to the souqs and markets, museums and attractions.
Our room was totally fine, just in need of a re-vamp. It's clearly an old apartment building that has become a hotel and they could stand to do some minor changes - such as changing out the sinks, re-grouting the showers and finding some new couches that don't smell like smoke from 1995. Aside from needed upgrades it was clean and standard for a hotel room.
In Golden Sands 3 (the hub) you are able to book all kinds of Dubai adventures through different tour desks that are set up there. This was great because we got there and immediately wanted to do a safari the next day and it was totally stress free to make that happen.
The food is completely avoidable - we were not impressed. but if you're in Dubai you have endless options for cuisine so definitely take advantage of that and just void the hotel food (even the free breakfast). It s also nice to have a fridge in the room so we could purchase some market items for breakfast and snacks.

Room Tip: Enjoy the rooftop pool at Golden Sands 6!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2014

We stayed at the Golden Sands Apartment Hotel in Dubai. Very nice and clean. The staff were very helpful and friendly. Very close to the metro. Great location, within walking distance to shopping areas. I would love to go back. I would recommend it to friends and family.

Room Tip: We had a room facing the back. it was lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2014

A very fast check-in for Golden Sands 3 and I got an apartment with a decent balcony. The room design was a little better than few other places I have been to. Staff is friendly and helpful with good service. But I didn't like the food at all both from the room service and buffet breakfast. Its an apartment with kitchen, so can work if cooking is an option. Atleast, the location is good so finding food it in some nearby restaurant was a better bet. Should be good if pool facilities would have been in a separate area, its right in mid of the passage and restaurant, mostly the area is occupied. Was there for work and found it pretty peaceful area to work, could relax a bit in the balcony when felt little tired.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

I booked an apartment in this chain... It was very complicated to locate it at first... because there are many of them in the same area. So i spent a lot of time to find the right one (no indication in the booking).
the apartments belong to a very big building, in a very quite area (no restaurant close to it and I need to order some takeaways once).
I would not suggest to book this room/apartment. I guess it is convenient if you are travelling by car... that one was not my case.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Golden Sands Hotel Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Sands Hotel Apartments

Address: Al Mankhool Rd | Bur Dubai, Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Location: United Arab Emirates > Emirate of Dubai > Dubai
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#46 Best Value Hotel in Dubai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Golden Sands Hotel Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 750
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook, Asiatravel.com Holdings, getaroom.com, HostelWorld, Travelocity, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Golden Sands Hotel Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Sands Dubai
Golden Sands Hotel Dubai
Golden Sands Apartments Dubai
Golden Sands Hotel Apartments Dubai
Dubai Golden Sands
Golden Sands Apartment Dubai

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Golden Sands Hotel Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.