We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dissapointing, especially with kids” 2 of 5 stars
Review of The Palace at One & Only Royal Mirage Dubai

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added The Palace at One & Only Royal Mirage Dubai to your Saves list
The Palace at One & Only Royal Mirage Dubai
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   Al Sufouh Road | Jumeirah Beach, PO Box 37252, Dubai 37252, United Arab Emirates   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #44 of 499 Hotels in Dubai
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Dissapointing, especially with kids”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2006

We arrived here after 5 nights at Dar Al Masyaf and were immediately dissapointed. The room was fine but a bit small and certainly not contemporary in any way. It was about a quarter of the size of the rooms in Madinat. The pool area and gardens were beautiful, but we felt that there were many dissaproving looks as we had an 18month old toddler. This is a hotel clearly for adults. The girl checking us in suggested that children could only eat in one of the restaurants and at certain times. Later we found this not to be the case. The pool bar offered no suitable food for toddlers whatsoever. We asked for plain pasta or steamed rice and were told that we should go to our room after our lunch and order this on room service. I queried this from the manager who reiterated this advice. I couldn't believe this in a 5 star hotel. The beach area was clean but the view was simply of construction and half-finished buildings on the Palm Jumeirah. No uninterrupted views of the horizon are to be had and so it feels like swimming in a lake. I would not consider returning to this hotel, even without children.

  • Stayed November 2005, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

955 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    698
    144
    70
    30
    13
See reviews for
195
516
13
52
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (192)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cagnes-sur-Mer, Provence-Alpes-Cote-d'Azur, France
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2006

We stayed there from July 30th to August 4th 2006.
Probably one of the worst period of the year as it was pretty warm (around 40C) but also very humid.
Still, we just planned to stay there to enjoy the pool, restaurants, spa and shopping centers, so the heat was not a real issue.

The hotel is very different from the rest of the hotels you can have in Dubai. Most of them are "vertical". The Royal Mirage complex must be the, or one of the biggest Hotel resort in dubai. Blocks are 4 or 5 levels max shaped in some kind of arabic style. Very nice, luxurious.

We had a gold club room, which I guess makes to real difference from the standard room. The main difference for us was that it was very close to the swimming pool, and we had complimentary snacks and drinks at the Gold club lounge throughout the day until 7pm.

The pools are great, the temerature is kept around 28. (The sea temperature was around 37C in the morning, yes, 37!)

All the restaurant we went to were very good (Olive, Tajine) or excellent (Nina).

The staff is very friendly and efficient. The hotel is in perfect condition, always very clean. The rooms are done at least twice a day.
We loved it.
If we go back to dubai, we'll probably return there.
Boris.

  • Liked — Luxurious, great Pools
  • Stayed July 2006
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2006

We must be the only people who were unlucky enough to endure four days' of rain in a five-day trip to Dubai (February 2006). Even The One & Only struggled to provide any worthy distractions when it was 'cats and dogs'.

But the hotel is delightful. We stayed in The Palace with an upgraded room and enjoyed eating at Olives and The Beach Grill.

You're unlikely to be disappointed (the offshore Palm development doesn't intrude) but here are three tips that might be worth knowing:

1 There's nowhere to walk to from the hotel (unless you love hiking!); everywhere else is a taxi ride away.
2 There isn't enough seating in the Celebrities restaurant for breakfast so, unless you time it right (or have room service or upgrade and get a club room for breakfast) prepare for a short wait.
3 Do check your final bill - someone else had charged their (expensive dinner) to our room and it took some polite but assertive persuasion to get the costs deleted.

This won't be our 'one and only' trip but just hope that next time Dubai stays as sunny as everyone expects.

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton,
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2006

I visited The Palace in April with a friend of mine and have just returned from my second visit in August with my husband.

This hotel is fantastic and deserves more than five stars for the service alone. On each visit the service was the same, as you arrive you are greeted with a 'Gong' and taken to a lounge area to check in. As we arrived early we were taken to breakfast and were able to change afterwards to use the faciities of the hotel, until are room was ready.

We were taken to the pool area where you are provided with towels from a Cabana. The pool staff take your towels to a sunbed of your choice even if you go to the beach. They lay the towels out for you, turn the beds around to face the sun and within minutes bring you iced water which continues throughout the day. Later they come around to clean your sunglasses and bring fresh fruit. Don't let the construction bother you. You cannot escape the fact that it is there but you can hear the birds chirping more than you can anything else.

The restaurants again are fantastic. We ate in Olives for breakfast which has a vast selection of food and this is the same for evening dinner. We also ate in the Beach Grill, the food here again is excellent. August was really busy but we had no trouble booking tables in any of the restaurants.

On my first visit I stayed in a Deluxe room which was wonderful with huge bathrooms and large walk in showers. This time however we were allocated a suite and this was massive. You could live there quite happily. There was fresh fruit, orchids and lillies and a well stocked minibar. The room staff call to your room twice daily and they are left immaculate.

My lasting impression on both occasions is the impeccable service from the staff who cannot do enough for you. From the room cleaner, to the waiters, reception staff, everyone. I felt completely spoilt on both trips.

This hotel deserves more than its five stars and I will return for the third time.

  • Liked — Impeccable service, staff, food quality, pool, cleanliness
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, UK
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2006

My boyfriend and I have just returned from a wonderful week at the Royal Mirage Palace. We left on 12th August, just days after the security alerts at Heathrow. The horrendous delays at the airport soon melted away as we arrived at this fabulous hotel. After the gong to announce our arrival (even at 4a.m.!!) we were ushered to the very opulent lounge area where complimentary tea/coffee/juice and pastries were offered. Our room was spotless and of a good size. We had a small balcony overlooking the pool, but didn't use it too much due to the temperatures in August. The air-conditioning was set to a perfect temperature. The bathroom was beautifully laid out and spacious, with a small walk-in wardrobe just outside. A pleasant surprise was the fact that you didn't need a plug adaptor. The staff everywhere were fantastic - there for your every need and more, although never intrusive. Our room was cleaned every morning. Then about 7p.m., he would return to "turn down the beds"! Around the beautiful pool area, we were looked after by a lovely man called George. As well as being a fountain of knowledge about anything we asked him about the resort, he also sorted out our sunbeds, booked restaurant reservations and got us bus schedules. During the day around the pool, guests were offered ice cold face clothes, had their sunglasses cleaned and given fresh fruit kebabs - all lovely little touches which made this hotel such a special place for us. A free shuttle service is laid on for guests to take them between the 3 parts of the resort. Toni, the driver, was wonderful - so polite and always happy to see us. He was really upset the night we were returning from the Arabian Court part of the resort and his vehicle was full. Rather than wait the couple of minutes for him to come back for us, we accepted an offer by another member of staff to take the ride in a golf buggy. Tony couldn't apologise enough and felt like he'd let us down! There is also a daily free bus servive to take you to the Wild Wadi water park (great fun and well worth a visit) and the Emirate Mall (400 shops in one lovely air-conditioned mall with Ski Dubai attached to the side - a huge indoor man-made snow ski area!). The hotel was virtually at capacity, although you wouldn't have thought so - nowhere ever appeared crowded. A calm elegance was evident throughout the hotel. All areas of the hotel were spotless - we watched skirting boards being scrubbed and brass hand rails in the lift being polished! Even the ashtrays in the public areas which were made of small pieces of black crystally type grit, had patterns drawn into them! And these changed daily! The hotel has its own 1km stretch of white sandy beach. This was virtually deserted everyday when we ventured down there. The sea water was absolutely unbelievable. Because the area is cordoned off with boulders to keep the waters safe, the tide doesn't really move the water. Consequently, the sea just keeps on heating up and is unnaturally hot. The view from the beach is probably the one negative thing about this place - to the right it's dominated by the construction of the Palm Island. We were upgraded to complimentary half board (to encourage visitors to come during the very hot summer months). Breakfast was served in either Olives or Celebrities. We definitely preferred the latter - just a little more attention to detail. Evening meals could be taken in any one of the many restaurants in the 3 hotels of the resort either from a set half-board menu or Dhs120 towards the a la carte menu. All restaurants were lovely with high standards of service. Wine is quite expensive - about £25 at the cheaper end of the menu. 2 meals really stood out for us. Nina's was superb. Nina stands for "neither indian nor asian". The food we had was superb. I really liked the idea that on main courses, you could choose the small or large portion. But without a doubt, our favourite was Eau Zone. You approach the restaurant via a wooden deck pathway over the brightly lit swimming pool. It really is beautiful. You have to try the chef's table. There's only one in the restaurant and there are 2 sittings per night, so you'll need to book as early as possible. Basically, you have the chef in front of you for about 2 hours as he prepares dish after dish of fantastic food (about 6 courses in total for around £35). It's a very interactive experience. Eranda our chef was great. Involved us all the way, giving choices and offering suggestions. He even let my other half have a go! Every dish was out of this world. Really can't recommend this enough. Frank the restaurant manager, was very attentive and made us feel very special. We ate once outside of the resort, at the 27th floor restaurant at the Burj. A very different experience and incredibly expensive! It was all a bit garish, but a great experience nonetheless. I had wagu fillet steak (the best steak in world and apparently previously only available to Japanese emperors!). It was divine - but at £60 for the smaller portion, so it should be! We had considered staying at both the Burj and the Jumeirah Beach, but having visited both while we were there, we knew with 100% certainty, we'd made the right decision to stay at the Palace. 7 nights definitely wasn't enough. Could have stayed there forever!

  • Liked — staff attentiveness and general luxury of the place
  • Disliked — construction around the city
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helensburgh
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2006

On arrival in Dubai we were met by TRAVECO (Thomson Worldwide Rep) and escorted to a waiting area whilst our luggage was collected. We were then ushered to our waiting executive car and transferred (25 mins) to the O&O Royal Mirage.

We were welcomed with a reception drink on arrival at the O&O and requested to wait in the fabulously air conditioned lounge area. We were ushered to the Gold Club Room reception to complete the check-in process. Initial impressions of the hotel were that it was clean, cool (more importantly in June) and fantasticly opulent.

Our room was on the large side for rooms of this quality and standard that we have experienced previously. It was decorated with fresh flowers, petals around the bed and fresh fruit. We were greeted with several letters from areas around the hotel welcoming us to the O&O and congratulating us on our wedding. We were offered and took advantage of a 30% reduction in the prices and the Givenchy Spa & Hammam (FATASTIC!!!!), where we spent 3 hours relaxing in the lap of luxury. Over our 5 night stay we received several little gifts including Givenchy perfume and Aftershave, flowers, honeymoon breakfast and reserved area within the attached nightclub (which is frequented by many of Dubai's rich and famous, you can tell by the amount of Bentleys parked outside and reservations are necessary for tables or seats).

We ate breakfast in the Gold Club lounge and were impressed with the service and selection available although we were more than welcome to eat breakfast in Olives where the selection is bigger but not as intimate. We only had one other meal in the hotel and we were slightly disappointed but that was enhanced by the fact it was our last night in Dubai.

Eating out in Dubai is invariably done in other hotels (5 stars) and the choice/effects are endless. No more expensive than eating in 5 star hotels anywhere else in the world with the same status (New York look out). Try Teatro's (Towers Rotano Hotel) a fantastic restraunt with a great walk-in glass wine cellar where you will be invited to choose your bottle of wine and remember and dispose of the cork in the woks on the floor (seems to be a tradition) (give yourself plenty of time, traffic in Dubai is almost as bad as London).

Visit all the souks you can and do the 4X4 desert safari, but be prepared for a bumpy ride. Dont bother with the over priced trip to the over stuffy Burj al Arab, the most beautiful part of this hotel is the way it looks from the outside. The big bus city tour although interesting is a little strange, touring a city with very little history doesn't match any other tour of this type I have conducted (London, Barcelona & Edinburgh). Dhow trips have been spoilt since the Bahrain Dhow accident as you now have to stay inside but I'm sure with time this will relax.

Dubai a great city to visit, the O&O Royal Mirage a great luxury destination designed for the traveller looking for complete relaxation, excellent service and relaxation. Many thanks to all that made this part of our honeymoon a great success.

  • Liked — Luxurious furnishings and spacious
  • Disliked — Gold club rooms are further away from hub of hotel
  • Tips/Secrets — Get upgraded to a Gold Club Room!!!!!!
  • Stayed June 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, England
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2006

We stayed here for 5 nights July 8 - 13 and only wished we could have stayed longer. Service is superb and all of the staff were extremely pleasant and courteous.
Our room was first class and serviced at least twice a day. The decor is beautiful and the gardens and swimming pool areas are immaculate.
We ate at Tagines (Moroccan), Rotisserie, Ninas(Indian) and Eau Zone. They were all superb but our favourite was Eau Zone, its in a fantastic setting and the food is great.
The Spa and beauty centre at Residence is also worth a visit, they have an extensive menu of treatments and the Hamman massage is very very good.
We will definitely be returning to this hotel.

  • Liked — Everything!
  • Disliked — Nothing!
  • Stayed July 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Palace at One & Only Royal Mirage Dubai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Palace at One & Only Royal Mirage Dubai

Address: Al Sufouh Road | Jumeirah Beach, PO Box 37252, Dubai 37252, United Arab Emirates
Location: United Arab Emirates > Emirate of Dubai > Dubai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Dubai
#19 On the Beach Hotel in Dubai
#30 Family Hotel in Dubai
#38 Romantic Hotel in Dubai
#43 Luxury Hotel in Dubai
#103 Business Hotel in Dubai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Palace at One & Only Royal Mirage Dubai 5*
Number of rooms: 231
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Palace at One&Only Royal Mirage conjures the magic of Arabia, a domain where guests may wander amidst the abundant gardens or stroll amongst the meandering water features. The property is generous, with 231 guest rooms and suites, on a private beach that offers rich leisure facilities, such as the impressive temperature-controlled swimming pools, water sports centre, tennis courts, golf putting green, ‘KidsOnly’ children’s facilities and, most importantly, a tranquil haven for rest and relaxation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your The Palace at One & Only Royal Mirage Dubai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Palace At One And Only Royal Mirage Dubai
The Palace At One&Only Royal Mirage Dubai Hotel Dubai
Royal Mirage Dubai

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Palace at One & Only Royal Mirage Dubai, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.