We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Hotel we have stayed at in Dubai” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Palace at One & Only Royal Mirage Dubai

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added The Palace at One & Only Royal Mirage Dubai to your Saves list
The Palace at One & Only Royal Mirage Dubai
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   Al Sufouh Road | Jumeirah Beach, PO Box 37252, Dubai 37252, United Arab Emirates   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #45 of 499 Hotels in Dubai
Leeds, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Best Hotel we have stayed at in Dubai”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

We have stayed at several hotels in Dubai but keep returning to The Palace, we have booked to go back in August.

Excellent restaurants, the staff are great very friendly and attentive without been in your face for example we like to sit by shallow area of the pool as we have a 10 year old daughter and every morning the same seats are prepared for us with towels and water which really gives it the personal touch.

They have a great sports program that get guests involved daily water volley ball, football on a Friday to name a couple which means we always make new friends as well as catching up with regular visitors.

Only down side I could say about this hotel is the lack of free wifi this gets mentioned in so many reviews and free wifi is just expected these days in a 5 star hotel, I can't believe they haven't sorted it yet!!!

Anyway you will have a great holiday at this resort give it a go

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

953 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    697
    144
    69
    30
    13
See reviews for
194
516
13
51
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (192)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

My husband and I are just back from staying here for 3 nights as part of our honeymoon. The hotel is beautiful, it really has the wow factor. We arrived very late at night and very tired after the airline lost our luggage. Kenneth on reception was extremely welcoming and Boulton the concierge was so helpful in chasing them up and ensuring the luggage was there for us the next morning. The hotel, rooms and grounds are all perfectly manicured and very attractive. We had breakfast in both Celebrities and Olives and both were excellent. Plenty of selection and really tasty. We were half board and so ate in Celebrities one evening also. If I'm honest, I felt that because we were half board and selecting from a set menu, the staff in the restaurant weren't really interested in us. They served us and were civil but there were no pleasantries. They were more interested in tending to the tables who were ordering off the main menu and requesting bottles of wine! That said, the food was very good. We stayed in a superior deluxe room overlooking the pool with a large balcony. The room was huge, bed very comfortable and very well appointed as was the ensuite. It was very quiet and we got a great nights sleep. Taxis are always readily available and very cheap to get around. Checkout is at 12pm but we weren't getting picked up for our transfer until 10pm. The hotel were very helpful, stored our luggage fo the rest of the day and confirmed our transfer on our behalf. We were also able to avail of the fitness suite right up to our transfer to shower and change etc which was great after being out and about in the Dubai heat all day. Wifi is readily available throughout the hotel however there is a charge. Given its a 5 star hotel I would have thought free wifi could be provided but this is a minor detail and didn't impact upon our stay in anyway but may frustrate other travellers. All in all a great trip and we would definitely return.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 232 with a pool view was excellent and had a great balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Noisy jet skis that can't be stopped as its the royal family & noisy boat parties all can be heard from pools , beach & rooms .
Managerial staff lack customer care especially when dealing with problems .
No free wifi !!! Unbelievable
Apart from business suite which shuts at 6pm.
Lack of service round the pool & beach.
No tea & coffee facilities in the rooms & to buy was extremely expensive .

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

This resort is very expensive which is reflected in the decor & food however the wifi is not free which we were very shocked about having travelled the world and receiving free wifi everywhere even in lower rated hotels.
We also had two incidents that were dealt with very poorly. The first being a large piece of glass in a breakfast yogurt glass bowl. We reported this incident & had to chase a response which we found disgusting considering the damage this could have done. Then as compensation we were offered the odd drink & meal, which we considered a cheap jester .
The second incident was a major row including two guests in the two rooms next door to us having a full on fight & the night manager laughed at the situation. Not really what you would expect in this beautiful hotel.
So all in all the customer care needs to be upgraded to match the lavish surroundings & it will be perfect.But we will not be returning.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Telford, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

As you would expect from a 5 star Dubai hotel. Made to feel welcome upon arrival & the sounding of the gong on entry both novel & amusing / embarrassing in a good way. Felt they could of done a little more on arrival with letting us know exactly what was happening with breakfast & check in, that said still very good. Had buffet breakfast while waiting for check in as arrived at 9am.
Check in at our table - very efficient and had a room ready and were shown to our room when we were ready, stayed in Gold club. The walk to the room was down several corridors with twists and turns and felt a little off putting to start with as the hotel is not a "Contemporay" hotel so not everything is down a straight corridor! Gold club reception is small but intimate, which generally reflects the whole hotel. Staff ultra helpful and we were shown around the club lounge and explained our benefits and lounge timings, again intimate & relaxed - offered drinks before being shown to our room.
A very nice room with an old world feel created using dark woods, but with high tech where required, cool marble underfoot just added to the feel of quality.
Private lift down to the pool and small discreet side entrance just add to this understated hotel.
The staff are excellent right across the board from the guy operating the lift to the senior management - they all make it feel personal.
Excellent pool and great beach, if not a little sharp underfoot at the waters edge and makes for a great relaxing walk along the length of the beach.
The downside:-
1. The buffet breakfast, although plentiful with good choice feels just a little crowded - like there is not enough space if 2 of you are looking to get cereal at the same time, not really and issue but just feels like you need more personal space around the servers area.
2. These are my personal observations and my apologies if it offends anyone reading it - well not really, I'm just being polite and I suppose it happens at all quality hotels, I've just never seen it before. The way several of the "guests" spoke to the staff, especial the staff in the gold club room lounge & the pool staff, I would have happily punched them on behalf of the staff and and full credit to the staff the way they handled these "guests". Manners and politeness cost nothing & barking orders at the staff doesn't make you look important.

This was our 1st week long trip without the children in 15 years and this hotel was the perfect choice. No bling, just quality with excellent discreet helpful staff. Not sure how child friendly a hotel it is, but for couples how want to relax - this is a great hotel.

Room Tip: We were in 334, great view of the pool and skyline.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertfordshire
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

This was our fifth time at the Royal Mirage The Palace. Yet again the resort exudes understated luxury, has no bling and is sheer class.

The start of the trip was however nothing short of disastrous. Our car transfer failed to show and on arriving at the Royal Mirage, Palace we were told there was no reservation in our names.

A duty manager managed on sight of the hotel booking confirmation managed to find a room (one that looked a little tired but we were thankful for the roof over our heads! The problem appeared to lie with the travel operator Destinology whose system had apparently not followed through the booking!.....easy to blame system glitches.

Anyway the next morning after breakfast we saw another manager, Alvaro Martin who took it upon himself to ensure our holiday experience would be fully restored. He managed to upgrade us to a gold club room (much better), access to gold club facilities ie FOC internet access and complimentary high tea and drinks from 6-8. A cracking bouquet of flowers was in the room on our arrival together with home made confectionery.

We questioned the integrity of the One&Only at the start but even though it was not their fault they more than went the extra mile.

The staff as ever in the Palace are the X Factor. To highlight individuals is an injustice as everyone works so hard to make your stay as good as it could be. However, given the disastrous start to our trip certain individuals stepped up to the plate and need mentioning in dispatches...Nancy,Angel and Samuel on reception, Alvaro Martin who literally rescued us from the brink, Sasi (pool attendant who kept the water coming), Islam (who kept our room immaculate) and of course two old friends who we have got to know over the last 5 years....they sum up everything that is good about the Royal Mirage- Babu and Sharma .....for their advice, first class service and taxi procurement.

How could we have doubted the Royal Mirage, Palace? ....The best kept secret in Dubai and worth every penny. Sheer class.

Room Tip: My wife had a Royal Hammam......she always has this treatment in the best spa she has ever been to.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

My wife and I have had 17 perfect vacations in the palace and have already booked trip number 18 for later in the year.The management and the staff could not do anymore for you in any way.We find the all of our trips to be absolute perfection.We have now reached the stage that after this year we have no intention of taking trips anywhere else but to extend the length of our stays in the palace and when one considers we started off with one week stays and are now up to three weeks that must say something.Start the day at breakfast on to the pool,pool bar for lunch afternoon by the pool and then on to dinner at your favourite restraunts or an early night with room service every part of the day perfection.And all made that way by the care and kindness shown by the managers and the wonderful staff.I end as I began. It is perfection.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Palace at One & Only Royal Mirage Dubai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Palace at One & Only Royal Mirage Dubai

Address: Al Sufouh Road | Jumeirah Beach, PO Box 37252, Dubai 37252, United Arab Emirates
Location: United Arab Emirates > Emirate of Dubai > Dubai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Dubai
#19 On the Beach Hotel in Dubai
#30 Family Hotel in Dubai
#39 Romantic Hotel in Dubai
#44 Luxury Hotel in Dubai
#101 Business Hotel in Dubai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Palace at One & Only Royal Mirage Dubai 5*
Number of rooms: 231
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Palace at One&Only Royal Mirage conjures the magic of Arabia, a domain where guests may wander amidst the abundant gardens or stroll amongst the meandering water features. The property is generous, with 231 guest rooms and suites, on a private beach that offers rich leisure facilities, such as the impressive temperature-controlled swimming pools, water sports centre, tennis courts, golf putting green, ‘KidsOnly’ children’s facilities and, most importantly, a tranquil haven for rest and relaxation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your The Palace at One & Only Royal Mirage Dubai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Palace At One&Only Royal Mirage Dubai Hotel Dubai
The Palace At One And Only Royal Mirage Dubai
Royal Mirage Dubai

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Palace at One & Only Royal Mirage Dubai, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.