We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely place to stay with 5* service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Palace at One & Only Royal Mirage Dubai

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added The Palace at One & Only Royal Mirage Dubai to your Saves list
The Palace at One & Only Royal Mirage Dubai
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   Al Sufouh Road | Jumeirah Beach, PO Box 37252, Dubai 37252, United Arab Emirates   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #44 of 499 Hotels in Dubai
Meath
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Lovely place to stay with 5* service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

Stayed here for 1 week in September.
What a lovely hotel. Rooms were really spacious and very well equipped. Lovely furnishings.
The hotel's restaurants were all very nice and we also had the choice to dine in any of the other hotels restaurants as we went half board. I was given flowers and chocolates by the hotel manager on the day of my birthday which was a lovely surprise.
The pool was very nice and not too busy, the beach was lovely, the staff all lovely, overall a wonderful hotel with 5* service. Will definitely return again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

955 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    698
    144
    70
    30
    13
See reviews for
195
516
13
52
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (192)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
170 reviews 170 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
100 helpful votes 100 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

We are on or last day of a necessary week in rather Dubai sun here at The Palace as I write. We. Hose to come here this year as it is a relatively easy direct flight from Glasgow, as it now is from a number of regional airports in the UK. We have been here before, but only for a couple of nights, so we have definitely had enough time to experience the place properly this time around. I say we - as the travelers - being my wife and two teenage boys. Overall this has been a really relaxing holiday in what is a truly world class hotel. We have stayed at One & Only's elsewhere, but this one lives up to what is a pretty tough competitive set in terms of performance. This is also a gear time to visit Dubai as the weather allows you to be outside most of the day without risk of over-heating.

The Palace is one of three hotels at the Royal Mirage, and supposedly the lowest rated of the three - which we would disagree with. We are staying in the Gold .club rooms which gives you extra privileges eg free evening cocktails in a private bar, and the rooms here are immaculate and spacious. The highlights here are the unforced and professional service throughout as well as the best pool area in the complex which is never over-populated.

You have the ability to dine around the many restaurants across the three hotels - which we have done, indeed been here a week and not had to eat in the same restaurant twice. At The Palace there is a decent buffet restaurant - Olive's - which suits families and is of a good standard. We have also eaten at The Grill, which is excellent - try the Wagu Beef! For lunch the Esplanade Bar is worth a visit as well. We have also eaten at Eau Zone at the Arabian Court - Asian Fusion - which is worth a visit as well.

The New Year's Eve celebration was brilliantly delivered as well in the Camel Courtyard under the stars with in turned into a weird sort of Arabian/Hollywood sort of affair.

Couple of things to watch out for though. First, this place isn't cheap! We would really recommend the half board option as when you get here you see what excellent value for money it is. Second, tipping is expected almost every where, so carry loose notes with you. Third, if coming at this time of year, beware the under-staffing on 2 January as they give the staff a well earned break. The gym at The Palace is also a bit small but the gym at The Residence next door is excellent.

We are already planning our trip back next year and The Palace gets a hearty thumbs up from the Hughes Family.

Room Tip: Higher floors offer best views and best to be over-looking the pool area if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chepstow, Wales, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

Regular visitors to Dubai for the past 15 years, this was our first stay at the One & Only Royal Mirage. We were not disappointed! Despite arriving at 8.00am (the usual overnight flight from the UK), our room was ready for us. The check-in process was personalised, informal and efficient as we relaxed in the lounge over a delightful complimentary continental breakfast. The room was large and well appointed. Being on the ground floor, we had direct access to our own patio and to the beautifully landscaped gardens. Generally, we request a room on a higher floor to make the most of the views and minimise any noise. However, in this case the entire setting was so tranquil and the lawns and gardens so attractive that it was an absolute pleasure to be able to step out through the french doors. The pool area is extensive, well designed and very attractive with many discrete areas for sitting/lying. This created a real sense of personal space and avoided the 'sardines in rows' feel common to many hotel pools. As we have come to expect in Dubai, the service throughout the hotel was impeccable and the food served in the restaurants was amongst the best we have had. Our restaurant choices were not compromised by our half board arrangement which enabled us to eat from a fixed menu on an inclusive basis or gave us a generous allowance against the full a la carte menu in the majority of restaurants throughout the Royal Mirage complex. Through its glorious gardens and low rise buildings, the Royal Mirage definitely manages to create the sense of an oasis of peace and beauty in what is now a very busy part of Dubai. Our only comment would be that it feels a little sandwiched between high rise office/residential blocks and the main roadway to the Palm. However, this did not detract from our enjoyment of what is a lovely hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

A little bit late in writing this review but my wife & I had a lovely stay in this beautiful hotel back in October. The staff were very professional & attentive, especially the guest relation team who helped make of Silver Wedding Anniversary memorable & special.

Although the hotel was quite busy there was always plenty of quality space available, including sunbeds around the pools/gardens & on the excellent beach.

Our room rate included the free half board offer; this allowed us to have our evening meals for free in the buffet restaurants in the Palace & Arabian Court, or credit was given at the alternative restaurants. During our stay we experienced both buffet restaurants along with Celebrities & the Beach Bar & Grill, the food was very good in all locations (although the wine is expensive as per the rest of Dubai)

An afternoon at the spa was a real treat, the Royal Hammam Package was fantastic & an experience never to forget.

We had a quick visit to the new One & Only The Palm & wow it’s another world, let’s hope one day we can maybe return but as a resident for a few days.

All in all the One & Only experience was first class.

Room Tip: Room 317 was quiet & well positioned over looking the garden
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

As someone who has been fortunate to stay in some of the most luxurious hotels in the world, George V, Mandarin, etc,I wish to put on record the experience of my stay at The Palace.

My wife and I stayed for 5 nights in September and we were esconsed in luxury and service second to none.

It is a fact that it at this level of luxury, it is often the staff that makes the slight difference between fantastic and fabulous. Whilst not an inexpensive hotel, (I have in the past paid a lot more), the staff from the bell boy all the way up to seior management, made us feel as if we were their most important guests. I cannot praise enough how much we enjoyed our stay.

Thank you again to all who made us so very welcome.We look forward to seeing you again in 2013.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

If you want to experience a little pure luxury without paying the price for the hotel you can always go to the roof top bar for a few cocktails and one of the most beautiful settings I have seen to date in Dubai.
The lift at the entrance takes you direct to the roof, no stopping.
Some nights are themed and a band often plays. If you are here in the winter months (over Christmas) then there is a covered area just incase you are unlucky enough to get caught by rain - but that would be really unlucky.
Enjoy

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London UK
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
117 helpful votes 117 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

Overlooking the marina, The Palace is a group of 3 hotels in the same complex. The others are The Residence which has only 48 rooms and is the most expensive and The Arabian Court. On arrival a gong is sounded to announce to everybody that newcomers have arrived. The Palace is the oldest of the hotels and the decor in the rooms tends to be brown and cream which is slightly dated, but the rooms are spacious and well appointed with all the usual bathroom accessories and the luxury of towel change morning and evening.

Our room was a long, long way from reception and you will get lots of daily walking exercise zig-zagging down the corridors if you do not get a room near the lifts.

The staff are extremely helpful and come from all over the world although the predominance is South Indian as the is a large population of Keralans in Dubai.

We were staying on a half board basis and had a gold club membership. This entitles you to continental breakfast, afternoon tea and open ended drinks in the club lounge on the 3rd floor between 6 and 8pm which considering a bottle of water in the restaurants is £6, is well worth the extra cost. It also allows you to break the ice and chat to other guests over your drinks.

There is a good choice of restaurants to choose from and the food in general is very good although some restaurants are better than others. The hotel offers a complimentary shuttle service between the hotels to allow you to visit the restaurants. My favourite was Nina, a fusion Indian restaurant with funky music, followed by Tagines which by its name is Morroccan themed. There is also Eau Zone, a pan Asian fusion restaurant overlooking sparkling pools of water, The Beach Bar which is steak and seafood, The Rotisserie and Olives which are buffet style dining and Celebrities if you want to trash the credit card. But be warned. If you are on half board you only have a credit of 155dhs or £30 per head. In Celbrities and Eau Zone this will only get you a main course and you will end up with additional charges of approximately £40 to £50 per head if you have 3 courses plus wine and water. Ask for the half board menu in the other restaurants which is not always forthcoming when you sit down.

The grounds are pretty well landscaped and the beach with its Cabanas and plentiful loungers is welcoming. Iced water is brought for you without asking and skewers of fresh fruit do the rounds in the afternoon. There a 3 tennis courts as well as the obligatory gym.

The hotel has a complimentary shuttle service to the Emirates mall but this is only 1 way and the Dubai Mall which is the largest in the middle east is a £10 taxi ride away. Dubai is an extremely modern city and the architecture is simply stunning. From the Burj Kalifa to the Burj Al Arab hotel Dubai sets itself out to impress. When you go to the malls and get shopped to death you will see wall to wall Ferraris, Lamborghinis and Bentleys. The gold souk is 200 meters of wall to wall diamonds and gold and you will be inundated with touts offering you fake watches and handbags which are hidden away in back rooms behind the gold laced shops. A diamond ring in 1 window of a jewellers in the Dubai mall we were told was £4 million dollars. My wife will have to wait for our 100th wedding anniversary to get one of those.

If you like golf, water sports or want to shop till you drop, Dubai is the place to come but be warned. It's not cheap and a few days is more than enough to take in all the sights.

Room Tip: Get a gold club membership. Book through a travel agent as the half board option is thrown in to att...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Palace at One & Only Royal Mirage Dubai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Palace at One & Only Royal Mirage Dubai

Address: Al Sufouh Road | Jumeirah Beach, PO Box 37252, Dubai 37252, United Arab Emirates
Location: United Arab Emirates > Emirate of Dubai > Dubai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Dubai
#19 On the Beach Hotel in Dubai
#30 Family Hotel in Dubai
#39 Romantic Hotel in Dubai
#43 Luxury Hotel in Dubai
#92 Business Hotel in Dubai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Palace at One & Only Royal Mirage Dubai 5*
Number of rooms: 231
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Palace at One&Only Royal Mirage conjures the magic of Arabia, a domain where guests may wander amidst the abundant gardens or stroll amongst the meandering water features. The property is generous, with 231 guest rooms and suites, on a private beach that offers rich leisure facilities, such as the impressive temperature-controlled swimming pools, water sports centre, tennis courts, golf putting green, ‘KidsOnly’ children’s facilities and, most importantly, a tranquil haven for rest and relaxation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your The Palace at One & Only Royal Mirage Dubai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Palace At One And Only Royal Mirage Dubai
The Palace At One&Only Royal Mirage Dubai Hotel Dubai
Royal Mirage Dubai

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Palace at One & Only Royal Mirage Dubai, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.