We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A beautiful and classy hotel with a warm heart” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Palace at One & Only Royal Mirage Dubai

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The Palace at One & Only Royal Mirage Dubai to your Saves list
The Palace at One & Only Royal Mirage Dubai
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   Al Sufouh Road | Jumeirah Beach, PO Box 37252, Dubai 37252, United Arab Emirates   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #39 of 483 Hotels in Dubai
London
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“A beautiful and classy hotel with a warm heart”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

If you're looking for a luxury/romantic Dubai hotel with beautiful decor, you'd do well to stay at The Palace at the One&Only Royal Mirage. We'd add 'incredibly friendly' to the above as the standard of service and attitude of staff was second to none and 100%-guest focused which can be hard to find even in Dubai

We were very lucky to be upgraded to a suite. It was seriously impressive, beautiful and came with a supremely helpful host, Eric, who really went the extra mile to book tables for us, and help us with anything we needed. The housekeeping staff were also great, and often left us little surprises such as a bunch of flowers, rose petals in the shape of a heart on the bed and a couple of swans made from towels. Sounds small but it's the little things that made the holiday extra special.

We tried several of the restaurants at the Palace and other hotels on the site (Arabian Court, which is less grand but is even more Arabic than the Palace). The Beach, Bar and Grill and Eau Zone are particularly good both quality, freshness and service wise. Despite being relatively busy, the clever design meant that you never felt crowded and it always felt exclusive. More importantly the food was fantastic. The Hammam Spa was a jaw dropping space and a real must-do. We also had an amazing speedboat ride, and wished we'd had more time for some of the other water sport facilities of which there were lots more to choose from.

The fantastic location is handy for everywhere from Dubai Creek through to the Marina and beyond, via taxi, but you could very happily just stay at the Royal Mirage all week long if this is what you're looking for. It has a superb huge pool and beautiful long beach (something not to be sniffed at in Dubai) which we used daily. It really delivers an exclusive feel despite it's size, thanks to more clever design that makes it feel more intimate despite its grandeur, and service you'd expect from a hotel of this caliber.

There were both families and couples staying at the hotel. From a couples point of view, it was a total relaxing escape with a genuine sense of luxury. If that's what you're looking for, then Royal Mirage is definitely also for you. We wouldn't think twice about going again. It felt like home...but better.

Room Tip: We were really lucky to be upgraded to a suite, we can 100% recommend ours - 233
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

868 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    642
    124
    63
    27
    12
See reviews for
183
467
12
44
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (163)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

I potentially had to change some arrangements for our trip and when we contacted the tour operator "Letsgo2" (who we had first used last year) they were very helpful indeed. I even spoke to their MD (Eddie?) who was put me at ease so they are again recommended.

Regards the hotel, the property and general standards were faultless (similar to our honeymoon at another One & Only resort - Le Saint Geran). But it would be wrong not to highlight that the service in the pool bar and a couple of the restaurants was irritatingly slow for a 5 star deluxe product. We had to ask 4 times for our drinks at the pool bar and similar examples of v slow service in two of the restaurants (breakfast at Olive in particular). Without prompting, friends who were also staying there had similar comments.

Wouldn't stop me returning but plays on the mind when you have paid so much for a short break.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ndola, Zambia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

Can you find a real Boutique Hotel in Dubai?? I doubt it - and the O&O Palace Gold Club is as close as it gets. With its private entrance, short distances from entrance to reception to room and the extra service one always gets when staying at a small hotel with fewer people, this is a very good alternative. Had a lovely stay. Breakfast brought to the room at no extra charge and could enjoy in privacy on balcony overlooking the palm. The beach is pristine and waters so calm it was like swimming in a pool. Oh and one tip: Allan at the Zouari Salon is an absolute gem and hair master! I am very fussy about who touches my hair and he is the best - go while you can!! Finally let me join the chorus who complain about the expensive internet access. Very 1999 - move on and provide your guests who really are paying a lot (!!) with free internet, just makes us feel we are not being squeezed for every last penny.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

we first stayed here before the Palm was built, been back a couple of times since.
Arrived early ,9am, the hotel were aware of that when we booked. We didnt get a room until 3pm.! Living out of a suitcase for 6 hours after a long trip didnt get the holiday away to a good start.
After mentioning that this wouldnt have happened a few years ago here, the front office manager said 'its easy to give fantastic service when you are only running at 30% capacity' ..... a pretty damning endightment I think. Quantity before quality. Yes the hotel has changed in attitude and this is evident.
The beach bar restaurent is poor, ridiculosly overpriced and the food average at best.
We thoroughly enjoyed the 'celebrities' restaurent and ate there on every night except the one.
Servie in here was very good and the French Maitre D is doing a very good job.

I was disgusted on the two visits to the 'Jetty bar' that tables had been reserved for customers not staying in the hotel. No outside seats/tables available .

This is not a 'ONE AND ONLY' hotel like it used to be ... it should be called 'one of many'. I left feeling disapointed, bubble burst, and will seek an alternative the next time we visit Dubai.

First time visitors will surely enjoy it, it is still a very good hotel, the rooms are well appointed, very clean, but in general the feel of the hotewl is not a patch on what it used to be.

As a footnote.... and this galls me out of all proportion.... the hotel charges £20 a day for wi-fi.!!! do you expect to pay this when you are paying hundreds of pounds a night for the hotel ??

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

Had a bad experience during check in due to a rude front desk employee. Stayed for two days, could have stayed more. It is not a good place for business meetings, some rooms are very far away from lobby.
The food is great, world class. The seating areas outside are nice, the rooms are very clean.
The internet is expensive. Shame on all so called five star hotels that are still charging for internet usage. I will always deduct a star for that, especially since the other 5 star hotels in Dubai do not charge for internet.
The hotel had great past, however, after the Palm was built, the beach died.... Many small lakes around the world do offer better views than their beach, no open views due to its location, hotel manager can't do anything about this. Just proper disclosure is in order.
If it wasnt for the great Jumeirah hotels, this facility would have received 4 stars. However, relative to its competitors, it falls short.

Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

First of all, the negative reviews about this hotel I just don't understand. We arrived at the hotel after our flight from the UK. Were greeted warmly and "gonged" in and because it was 9am only one room out of the three we had booked was ready. We were invited to enjoy a light breakfast in the lounge across from the main reception....pastries, juices, coffee and tea all very nice indeed.

We were staying in Gold Club rooms so we left that area to by taken up to the Gold club lounge where we were checked in and invited to enjoy some more breakfast!! From the moment we arrived to the moment we left, every member of staff were exceptionally friendly and welcoming and really could not do enough for you - fantastic.

We simply dropped all our bags in the one room that was ready and went to the pool area which is large, plenty of sun-loungers with fluffy towels and exceptional service. We were telephoned a couple of hours later and went to our rooms and sorted ourselves out.

The rooms on level 5 were amazing - huge with a good balcony looking out to the Palm with a huge bathroom. The rooms were exceptionally clean and comfortable with good working AC. The room had a coffee machine and a well stocked mini bar. In the Gold club rooms you have free wifi for your stay, access to the Gold Club lounge which offfers breakfast (though we were on a half board package so enjoyed breakfast every day in Celebrities) - the lounge also offers 24 access for soft drinks, hot drinks and water - afternoon tea is served from 3pm with an amazing selection of sandwiches and cakes. The most popular lounge benefit was the "happy hour" from 6pm-8pm which offered free alcoholic drinks and nibbles, but arrive early as it does get busy and the lounge is not that big!

We had the same spot around the pool every day, personally reserved for us and chilled water is offered throughout the day, sunglasses are cleaned, cold towels are offered and in the afternoons a fresh fruit skewer.

We did breakfast in Celebrities and enjoyed dinner one evening there too which was superb, well worth a visit. We visited Olives on two nights which was good and we also enjoyed the Rotisserie over at the Arabian Court too.

The Roof top bar at the Arabian court is worth a visit as is the Jetty lounge for a evening drink or two. A shuttle bus takes you around ths resort which is big but the private stretch of beach looking out the palm was very inviting too and nice for beachside walks.

We really just chilled out on our break but we did visit the Mall of the Emirates which was good to see and we also visited ther Souk at Madinat Jumeriah.

Would we go back - certainly yes, would we stay here again - without question. A fantastic resort with amazing staff, superb rooms and service which simply amazes.

Room Tip: Book a Gold Club room for the benefits these rooms offer!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leyburn
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

Our second visit to the Place in this low hotel complex amongst towering hotels. Pure bliss for winter sun. Everyone smiles and nothing is too much trouble to make your stay perfect. Attention to detail throughout. Immaculate gardens, spotless beach, resort and restaurants. Rooms spacious with all amenities. Fabulous range of restaurants, mainly with eating outside an option- from relaxed to fine dining, morrocan, snacks ay sunset bar on beach. Food is really great. Pools are afe for children and there is an adults only too. Try the Kasbar fror a drink and a shisa! great atmosphere and fun. They even have somone to clean sunspecs!
The Royal Mirage is a true mirage come true. Very ggod value if you negotiate half board and only pay for light lunches. Alcohol is expensive as imported.

Room Tip: we suspect all rooms are good we do not have the better ones and like the ground floor with access s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Palace at One & Only Royal Mirage Dubai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Palace at One & Only Royal Mirage Dubai

Address: Al Sufouh Road | Jumeirah Beach, PO Box 37252, Dubai 37252, United Arab Emirates
Location: United Arab Emirates > Emirate of Dubai > Dubai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Dubai
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Dubai
#29 Family Hotel in Dubai
#36 Luxury Hotel in Dubai
#40 Romantic Hotel in Dubai
#50 Business Hotel in Dubai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Palace at One & Only Royal Mirage Dubai 5*
Number of rooms: 231
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Palace at One&Only Royal Mirage conjures the magic of Arabia, a domain where guests may wander amidst the abundant gardens or stroll amongst the meandering water features. The property is generous, with 231 guest rooms and suites, on a private beach that offers rich leisure facilities, such as the impressive temperature-controlled swimming pools, water sports centre, tennis courts, golf putting green, ‘KidsOnly’ children’s facilities and, most importantly, a tranquil haven for rest and relaxation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your The Palace at One & Only Royal Mirage Dubai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Palace At One And Only Royal Mirage Dubai
The Palace At One&Only Royal Mirage Dubai Hotel Dubai
Royal Mirage Dubai

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Palace at One & Only Royal Mirage Dubai, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.