We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Welcoming comfort” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Taj Palace Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Taj Palace Hotel to your Saves list
Taj Palace Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   36 A Street, Al Rigga Road, Deira, Dubai 42211, United Arab Emirates   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #205 of 486 Hotels in Dubai
Paris, France
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Welcoming comfort”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014

After a three night visit in an upgraded executive room, I know I would visit again. The room was well appointed with a balcony and a huge bathroom with a separate wc and shower stall along with the usual sink and tub. The best part of the stay was the excellent service. Every single staff person was kind, friendly, and efficient at answering a question or fulfilling a service.

The weak link of this hotel is their internet service. If you do not opt for the executive club plan, you must pay for the internet daily and it is not cheap. What a surprise for guests! No 5star hotel should have such a stingy package for internet. Also, the internet did not work well. I was constantly tossed off and had to reenter the pass info. The last day...well before check out...I was not allowed on the internet because my stay was ending that day. Though the club plan will allow early arrival when possible, our room was not available when we arrived. We asked for an internet code and we were told we could not have it until our room was ready. The only way we could use the internet in the lobby while we waited several hours for our room was to pay 50 AED dollars for food in the cafe area. This was not a proper welcoming.

So.... yes to fabulous service by staff. Yes to a perfect roof top pool and workout room. Yes to an excellent breakfast with an amazing spread of food along with individualized omelets and dosa. Yes to tea at 4 pm and snacks at 6pm. I did not mind that there was no alcohol because it created a wonderful family experience for those with children. Yes, to a good room temperature control. Yes, to cleanliness. Yes, to the lovely piano music played in the lobby during the evenings.

BUT - PLEASE TAJ - DO SOMETHING ABOUT YOUR INTERNET SERVICE.

Room Tip: Get the Club executive package. Avoid this place if using the internet is critical.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

406 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    165
    149
    49
    22
    21
See reviews for
127
78
27
94
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tehran
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2014

We stayed here with a team for 3 nights in January. The hotel seemed large and luxurious, but seriously, it needs a reconstruction plan as the building was a little bit old. I have to say the service was not bad, cause whenever we asked for ice, they brought it right away. I have to say that in breakfast, you don't have too much to choose from either.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2014

Great hotel, but please be aware it does not serve alcohol.

If you upgrade to executive, there is a small lounge which has canapes served in evenings.

Room size is very generous, a more of a traditional hotel in decore.

Breakfast is also very well spread.

My only advice is that the gents sauna could do with better hygene.

Good location and close to metro.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2014

This is the nicest hotel I have ever stayed in anywhere on Earth. So modern, so clean, so luxurious. Very well-appointed rooms with individual service on the floor. Five 5-star restaurants in the hotel (all of which are dry, mind you), rooftop pool, and a lively, flavourful neighbourhood of restaurants just around the corner. The Quality Hotel had beer, lol, just a couple blocks away. This is a safe, family-friendly hotel.

Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, Costa Rica
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2014

Unlike some other reviews, we received great service at this hotel. Our room was made twice a day, comfty bed and pillows. Would recomend it to any one. Breakfast was good, although no pork, but enough options to enjoy. Also no alcohol served in the hotel. The metro station is very close. The hotel is in the old area of town. But nice and safe.
We got a no smoking room but I could smoke in the nice balcony we had.
Also, we bought a tour and paid a better price than if we would have reserved on line or throw a .com place. Our executive room was priced at 4000 Dhs a night which would be around $1200 a night, but we paid around $200 a night for 3 people. Totally worthed at that price but not at $1200, so try a tour.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2014

I was there for a business room. Pick up from the airport is excellent. The rooms excellent! Breakfast with one of the widest varieties! Really good! Staff at dining very polite. The only big let down was the reception staff. Very rude. Taj collects an extra deposit which is refundable. Reception staff should go for extra customer service training. Otherwise, the location, food and the room are the biggest pluses!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vijayawada, India
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014

I had an unpleasant check in at the hotel. alas, after a long flight with small children and in the dead of the night, the last thing one looks for is an unpleasant welcome. the issue was that the guy at the reception wanted 5 days rent plus all other charges paid upfront at check in and they accept only credit cards and my credit card did not have sufficient limit remaining as was trvelling for a week prior to this. i was surprised at this as never in any of my previous stays anywhere abroad have i had such an experience and neither did the booking site or the Taj palace hotel website mention this strange requirement.
but apart from that i had a wonderful stay in an excellent large room with all imaginable amenities. the staff were very helpful for the rest of the stay. the location of the hotel at Deira and its proximity to the metro were definite benefits though we used the taxi service and friends vehicles for most of the stay.i would definitely recommend this hotel for family/couple.
the Indian restaurant servrd authentic and sumptuous food ,of course, rates were five star , but worth it.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Taj Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Taj Palace Hotel

Address: 36 A Street, Al Rigga Road, Deira, Dubai 42211, United Arab Emirates
Location: United Arab Emirates > Emirate of Dubai > Dubai
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#81 Spa Hotel in Dubai
#159 Luxury Hotel in Dubai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Taj Palace Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 159
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Taj Palace Hotel Dubai is conveniently located in the heart of Deira, minutes' from the international airport, within easy reach of the business and commercial district, touristic sites, shopping malls, leisure and entertainment facilities, the beach and creek, as well as the Dubai Metro line. The hotel features 159 rooms and suites plus 90 apartments as well as superb dining and leisure options. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, EasyToBook, Travelocity, Asiatravel.com Holdings, getaroom.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Taj Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Taj Palace
Taj Palace Dubai

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Taj Palace Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.