We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely, spacious room with great decor.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Taj Palace Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Taj Palace Hotel to your Saves list
Taj Palace Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   36 A Street, Al Rigga Road, Deira, Dubai 42211, United Arab Emirates   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #205 of 486 Hotels in Dubai
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Lovely, spacious room with great decor.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

Best thing about the room is the size and the ensure is amazing. The staff were really friendly, rooftop pool is great for chilling and sunbathing! Can easily book yourself into tours downstairs at reception. Everything is clean and tidy, overall very good hotel!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

406 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    165
    149
    49
    22
    21
See reviews for
127
78
27
94
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

We extended our trip to Dubai however the Jumeirah Zabeel Saray (where we had been staying for 5 nights was full) for our final day and night we stayed at the Taj Palace. The rooms were what you would expect to see in a 2*/3*...the rooms smelt really bad and were unclean. We asked to change rooms immediately and reception were happy to give us a 'better' room. The only difference in room was what floor it was on and there were no marks on the bed sheets. The decor is really old and the bathroom/toilet are just basic. I am so grateful that I had to only stay there for 1 night. Would never ever recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

I am still in utter disbelief and shock that this property is run by the same company as their flagship location in India.

My wife and I travelled to Maldives for 7 nights (Sheraton Full Moon - 5nights Water Villa and Ocean Villa 2 nights) and then Dubai for 5 nights in the Jumeirah Zabeel Saray (Fabulous hotel) we had such an amazing time that we extended trip by 1 day & night.

It was to our dismay that after changing flights we found out that the Zabeel Saray was fully booked and we had to check out on our original check out date, however as internet is complimentary for all guests we browsed and checked out hotels, the plan was to spend the day visiting shops/Souks (as we had hardly ventured away from JZS at Jumeirah beach as the Zabeel Saray has everything you need within its confines, in our 1st 5 nights) so we opted to pick somewhere close to the airport for our return flight as well as looking for close proximity to mena bazaar.

We found The Taj Palace 5* (No way in hell can it be rated as 5 star) at very reasonable rates ticking the boxes mentioned in terms of location. And as I had stayed at The Taj in India and was relatively impressed we decided to go with - Huge mistake put a dampener on our last day/night on holiday on what was an amazing holiday.

We arrived to the location which looked like it was in the middle of Dubais version of a council estate (think Attack the Block type of location) Reception however was nice. Check in was smooth and within 5 mins we were on route to our room..... which is when the nightmare began.

The sockets didnt work, no iron in room, furniture dirty and worst of all stains on bedsheets and covers and the SMELL WAS AWFUL (Oh boy little did we know- will come to in a min)

All in all I could not believe this is part of the same hotel group as the property in India If you are looking for a commute into Deira or looking for something close to the airport then maybe.. just maybe, this hotel
will suffice- just do not have any expectations.

Wahid

Room Tip: STAY AWAY- or request an upgrade once there and pay for it as this makes it a lot cheaper then buyin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mashhad, Iran
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

Although there are lots of 5star luxury hotels in Dubai because of business situation of this City and most of them are in new part of the city "Bur Dubai", in the old part of Dubai the Taj Palace is one the nicest 5star hotels with most of the amenities of a standard 5star hotel.
The staff of the hotel are very polite and helpful and the front desk are friendly but in some cases like changing the rooms and so on are not very helpful. Generally the staff are well educated and do their best to satisfy you.
The breakfast is ok and has lots of option but not very big. However, you will enjoy it.
The hotel has 11 floors and each floor is divided to two eastern and western part. In one part are the normal rooms and in the other part are the hotel-appartments. I stayed in both of them during my stay. The rooms specially the executive ones are very luxe and have all the facilities. The beds are big enough and the bathroom is nice. There are tea coffee maker and 2bottles of complimentary water in each room. There mini bar is ok.
The apartments are nice and very big with 2big rooms and one small room. It has all the facilities of a furnished apartment in the kitchen and you can stay with your family there. It has a nice big balcony and the living rooms is big enough for a relaxing stay. The only problem with the apartments in compare with rooms is that they are a bit old and not renovated recently.
*I do not agree with those reviews that complain the apartments and give low scores to them because of bad smell and these things. I agree that the location of the hotel because of locating in city center is not very nice and but the hotel itself does not deserve those complaints!!!
There are some restaurants in the hotel lobby and in other floors for dining and lunch but you can not find any bar in this hotel and alcoholic drinks are not served in this hotel at all!!
The parking is big and free of charge.
The out door swimming pool, the gym and spa are in 11th floor and very clean and the facilities are complete. You will have relaxing times if you use them specially at nights!!
Located near Al Rigga street in Dubai downtown, The location of Taj Palace specially for business purpose is quite nice. There are chain restaurants within 5min walk from the hotel. The Alqurair shopping mall which is one of the oldest and biggest mall of the region is not so far. There are also some supermarkets around the hotel where you can find everything you may need during the day.
The only big problem with the hotel is that the WiFi in the lobby is not free and you have to pay about 30$ for 24hour internet connection which makes problem when sometimes you may need the connection for some minutes.
For better view and away from the noise of the streets around, I suggest you to book higher floors.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guangzhou
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

On last trip Dubai Stayed in Taj Palace is real Palace with great value
I believe the hotel under rated
The property is real 5 star
Big room comfortable bed huge bathroom very bright nice lobby
Friendly good staff

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pune, India
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

The hotel is a decent business hotel. One feature of the hotel is that it doesnot serve alcohol. Therefore, if you are a teetotaler and want a decent place for your family to rest, this could be a good choice.
The overall feeling of the hotel is that of a 3 Star or at best a 4 star hotel. It surely doesnot boast of the finer aspects and the attention to detail you expect in a five star hotel.

THUMBS UP:
> The 2 & 3 bedroom apartments are spacious. The layout provides good privacy for each room. The apartments are big enough to accomodate a large family.
> Overall cleanliness levels are good.
> Breakfast menu is good. Overall food is decent.
> They have a great Indian restaurant

THUMBS DOWN:
> Does not offer a great view. Nor is it's location too great. Tourist attractions are a bit far away.
> Service staff is average.
> Overall ambience of the reception lobby and breakfast area is nice. But the lobbies and passages to the rooms may feel too dingy.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

Stayed for 7 nights and suffered sewage smell to the extent that it was giving us a headache. It was a serious health issue but the staff made us feel that it was our issue. We could not sleep without having to leave the balcony door open. The GM was always in meeting and no one had the authorisation to do anything. It was extremely frustrating. They offered no partial refund but a basket of fruit!!! We paid 5 star price to smell sewage in the apartment - we would have been better off booking a 2 star hotel and still not have the sewage smell. Maybe the sewage smell is a new addition to the service that they provide!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Taj Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Taj Palace Hotel

Address: 36 A Street, Al Rigga Road, Deira, Dubai 42211, United Arab Emirates
Location: United Arab Emirates > Emirate of Dubai > Dubai
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#81 Spa Hotel in Dubai
#159 Luxury Hotel in Dubai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Taj Palace Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 159
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Taj Palace Hotel Dubai is conveniently located in the heart of Deira, minutes' from the international airport, within easy reach of the business and commercial district, touristic sites, shopping malls, leisure and entertainment facilities, the beach and creek, as well as the Dubai Metro line. The hotel features 159 rooms and suites plus 90 apartments as well as superb dining and leisure options. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, EasyToBook, Travelocity, Asiatravel.com Holdings, getaroom.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Taj Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Taj Palace
Taj Palace Dubai

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Taj Palace Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.