We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“AWFUL HOTEL - NOT 5* DINGY SMELLY AND DANK” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Taj Palace Hotel

Save Saved
You added Taj Palace Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Taj Palace Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   36A St, Al Rigga Rd | P.O Box 42211, Dubai 42211, United Arab Emirates   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #142 of 471 hotels in Dubai
London, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“AWFUL HOTEL - NOT 5* DINGY SMELLY AND DANK”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

I am still in utter disbelief and shock that this property is run by the same company as their flagship location in India.

My wife and I travelled to Maldives for 7 nights (Sheraton Full Moon - 5nights Water Villa and Ocean Villa 2 nights) and then Dubai for 5 nights in the Jumeirah Zabeel Saray (Fabulous hotel) we had such an amazing time that we extended trip by 1 day & night.

It was to our dismay that after changing flights we found out that the Zabeel Saray was fully booked and we had to check out on our original check out date, however as internet is complimentary for all guests we browsed and checked out hotels, the plan was to spend the day visiting shops/Souks (as we had hardly ventured away from JZS at Jumeirah beach as the Zabeel Saray has everything you need within its confines, in our 1st 5 nights) so we opted to pick somewhere close to the airport for our return flight as well as looking for close proximity to mena bazaar.

We found The Taj Palace 5* (No way in hell can it be rated as 5 star) at very reasonable rates ticking the boxes mentioned in terms of location. And as I had stayed at The Taj in India and was relatively impressed we decided to go with - Huge mistake put a dampener on our last day/night on holiday on what was an amazing holiday.

We arrived to the location which looked like it was in the middle of Dubais version of a council estate (think Attack the Block type of location) Reception however was nice. Check in was smooth and within 5 mins we were on route to our room..... which is when the nightmare began.

The sockets didnt work, no iron in room, furniture dirty and worst of all stains on bedsheets and covers and the SMELL WAS AWFUL (Oh boy little did we know- will come to in a min)

All in all I could not believe this is part of the same hotel group as the property in India If you are looking for a commute into Deira or looking for something close to the airport then maybe.. just maybe, this hotel
will suffice- just do not have any expectations.

Wahid

Room Tip: STAY AWAY- or request an upgrade once there and pay for it as this makes it a lot cheaper then buyin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

345 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    151
    126
    38
    18
    12
See reviews for
111
66
25
77
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mashhad, Iran
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

Although there are lots of 5star luxury hotels in Dubai because of business situation of this City and most of them are in new part of the city "Bur Dubai", in the old part of Dubai the Taj Palace is one the nicest 5star hotels with most of the amenities of a standard 5star hotel.
The staff of the hotel are very polite and helpful and the front desk are friendly but in some cases like changing the rooms and so on are not very helpful. Generally the staff are well educated and do their best to satisfy you.
The breakfast is ok and has lots of option but not very big. However, you will enjoy it.
The hotel has 11 floors and each floor is divided to two eastern and western part. In one part are the normal rooms and in the other part are the hotel-appartments. I stayed in both of them during my stay. The rooms specially the executive ones are very luxe and have all the facilities. The beds are big enough and the bathroom is nice. There are tea coffee maker and 2bottles of complimentary water in each room. There mini bar is ok.
The apartments are nice and very big with 2big rooms and one small room. It has all the facilities of a furnished apartment in the kitchen and you can stay with your family there. It has a nice big balcony and the living rooms is big enough for a relaxing stay. The only problem with the apartments in compare with rooms is that they are a bit old and not renovated recently.
*I do not agree with those reviews that complain the apartments and give low scores to them because of bad smell and these things. I agree that the location of the hotel because of locating in city center is not very nice and but the hotel itself does not deserve those complaints!!!
There are some restaurants in the hotel lobby and in other floors for dining and lunch but you can not find any bar in this hotel and alcoholic drinks are not served in this hotel at all!!
The parking is big and free of charge.
The out door swimming pool, the gym and spa are in 11th floor and very clean and the facilities are complete. You will have relaxing times if you use them specially at nights!!
Located near Al Rigga street in Dubai downtown, The location of Taj Palace specially for business purpose is quite nice. There are chain restaurants within 5min walk from the hotel. The Alqurair shopping mall which is one of the oldest and biggest mall of the region is not so far. There are also some supermarkets around the hotel where you can find everything you may need during the day.
The only big problem with the hotel is that the WiFi in the lobby is not free and you have to pay about 30$ for 24hour internet connection which makes problem when sometimes you may need the connection for some minutes.
For better view and away from the noise of the streets around, I suggest you to book higher floors.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guangzhou
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

On last trip Dubai Stayed in Taj Palace is real Palace with great value
I believe the hotel under rated
The property is real 5 star
Big room comfortable bed huge bathroom very bright nice lobby
Friendly good staff

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pune, India
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

The hotel is a decent business hotel. One feature of the hotel is that it doesnot serve alcohol. Therefore, if you are a teetotaler and want a decent place for your family to rest, this could be a good choice.
The overall feeling of the hotel is that of a 3 Star or at best a 4 star hotel. It surely doesnot boast of the finer aspects and the attention to detail you expect in a five star hotel.

THUMBS UP:
> The 2 & 3 bedroom apartments are spacious. The layout provides good privacy for each room. The apartments are big enough to accomodate a large family.
> Overall cleanliness levels are good.
> Breakfast menu is good. Overall food is decent.
> They have a great Indian restaurant

THUMBS DOWN:
> Does not offer a great view. Nor is it's location too great. Tourist attractions are a bit far away.
> Service staff is average.
> Overall ambience of the reception lobby and breakfast area is nice. But the lobbies and passages to the rooms may feel too dingy.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

Stayed for 7 nights and suffered sewage smell to the extent that it was giving us a headache. It was a serious health issue but the staff made us feel that it was our issue. We could not sleep without having to leave the balcony door open. The GM was always in meeting and no one had the authorisation to do anything. It was extremely frustrating. They offered no partial refund but a basket of fruit!!! We paid 5 star price to smell sewage in the apartment - we would have been better off booking a 2 star hotel and still not have the sewage smell. Maybe the sewage smell is a new addition to the service that they provide!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

Went from SFO with friends for our 50th birthday. Stayed in a 2 bed apartment. Had trouble with a sewage smell coming from the bathrooms from day one. Management did not want to address the problem, kept sending people up to spray the place to get rid of the smell. On day 3 they moved us but there was still the same problem. We slept with the balcony doors open. No one had authority to compensate us. They offered a basket of fruit or a free taxi to the airport. The GM was never around and everyone just tried to avoid us. Think the staff thought it was our problem. No one returned calls. Would never stay here again. 7 nights of headache.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

We were three of us and stayed for 6 days. The executive room was quite large, spacious, clean, comfortable and luxurious with two queen beds (each large enough to sleep two), good quality toiletries (Gilchrist and Soames), linen and coffee. Breakfast was awesome with amazing variety and selection causing us to gorge and stuff ourselves. Staff were very friendly and helpful. It is definitely a luxury five star hotel. Most of all, the hotel is very well located - just 3-5 minutes walk from the Al Rigga metro station (its quicker if you cut across the car park) and Al Rigga road which is one of the main roads and has many shops and restaurants. The Al Ghurair Mall is just 10-15 minutes walk from the hotel - and has Max and Splash stores in it - which I found to be great value for money - unlike the foreign brands in the more upmarket malls. So is Al Safadi - an excellent Lebanese restaurant with reasonable prices. The restaurant Handi in the hotel also has very good food but its a bit expensive. Within two minutes walk of the hotel are three mini supermarkets. There is a huge Carrefour supermarket in the Diera City Centre Mall. Al Rigga is a nice busy area with people, couples and families bustling about till late at night.

We checked out many places and concluded that Diera is the best place to stay in Dubai - but you should stay close to the Al Rigga metro station, which is on the red line - so that you can easily get to Dubai Mall, Mall of emirates, Jumeirah, Diera City Centre Mall (which is just one stop or Dhs 2.50 from Al Rigga) etc. From the hotel we could easily get taxis to take us everywhere - along the creek in Bur Dubai which leads to the Meena Bazar, to the Gold Souk and spice souk, to Al Karama market (about Dhs 18), to Dubai Mall (about Dhs 32.00) to Mall of emirates (about Dhs 55) and airport (Dhs 15).

Room Tip: The hotel is surrounded by apartment buildings on all sides so the view upto the 11th floor is the s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Taj Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Taj Palace Hotel

Also Known As:
Hotel Taj Palace
Taj Palace Dubai
Taj Palace
Address: 36A St, Al Rigga Rd | P.O Box 42211, Dubai 42211, United Arab Emirates
Location: United Arab Emirates > Emirate of Dubai > Dubai
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#105 Business Hotel in Dubai
#115 Family Hotel in Dubai
#122 Luxury Hotel in Dubai
#142 Top resorts Hotel in Dubai
#142 Spa Hotel in Dubai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Taj Palace Hotel 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the famous Taj hospitality and unsurpassed luxury at the heart of Deira's commercial and business district. The hotel is located 15 minutes drive from Dubai International Airport and Dubai Convention Centre. The hotel offers five-star accommodation, dining options, Taj Spa, recreation and fitness facilities as well as conference and exhibition spaces. Just few minutes walk from Al-Rigga Metro station. Nearby, guests will find much to see and do including Arabian shopping bazaars, cultural centres, museums and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, Tingo, Priceline, Expedia, Venere, HotelTravel.com, getaroom.com and Otel so you can book your Taj Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Taj Palace Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.