We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great price and wonderful Platinum benefits!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sheraton Deira Hotel

Save Saved
You added Sheraton Deira Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Sheraton Deira Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Al Muteena Street | PO Box 5772, Dubai, United Arab Emirates   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #238 of 474 hotels in Dubai
Bayonne, New Jersey
Top Contributor
172 reviews 172 reviews
103 hotel reviews
Reviews in 92 cities Reviews in 92 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
“Great price and wonderful Platinum benefits!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2012

I booked this hotel at an amazing price. It was recommended by a friend and I decided to try it out. The club lounge had delicious food. It was a smaller selection of food choices than most club lounges but the service was prompt and friendly. My platinum upgrades were fantastic. I was upgraded to a nice suite and had a lot complimentary additions. I concur with the hall smell but it doesn't carry over to the rooms.

Room Tip: This is a great hotel if you have SPG benefits. The price and upgrades are fantastic. I have been...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FWaller, General Manager at Sheraton Deira Hotel, responded to this review, April 15, 2012
Dear whslc,

Greetings from Sheraton Deira Hotel.

Thank you for your very recent stay with us at Sheraton Deira Hotel and your valuable feedback regards the services received.

We are happy to note of your acknowledgement on the complimentary upgrade received at check-in being a Platinum guest as well as the other Platinum SPG benefits.

As always it will be a pleasure to welcome you back again in the near future.

Sincerely,

FW
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

418 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    94
    135
    107
    51
    31
See reviews for
55
88
55
126
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lautoka, Fiji
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2012

I stayed here for two nights and, despite my being a platinum member and my reservation being booked by a SPG ambassador, I had to use two suite nights to ensure that I was even an upgrade - not a good start! My suite was expansive but it did not help that almost all the lights were controlled individually rather than through a bedside master and I have a personal hobby horse with telephones that are not programmed as per the button identifications!

There was no automatic turndown service as I discovered on the first night and, while the staff were very friendly, they were not pro-active. For my second day, housekeeping failed to provide fresh laundry bag and laundry form - presumably, they felt that I would not use a same-day service on my last day but I do not think they should make that call.

On the roof, where the pool is located, the staff seemed more interested in attending to the plane-spotters than to those of us who wanted drinks/food and the pool bar was frequently unattended.

Service in the club lounge was excellent but the choice of food during the evening service left a lot to be desired in terms of healthy options.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FWaller, General Manager at Sheraton Deira Hotel, responded to this review, April 15, 2012
Dear SPGGlobal,

Greetings from Sheraton Deira Hotel.

Thank you for your very recent stay with us at Sheraton Deira Hotel and your valuable feedback.

We would like to take opportunity to clarify that the reservation was made directly by yourself through our Central Reservations online and the option for upgrade was selected by yourself and not the hotel. Please be advised that at Sheraton Deira Hotel all our Platinum guests are extended with a suite on arrival without any additional use of points.

We have duly noted your comments regarding the lights, the laundry bag and form. I have addressed this concern with the said departments so that in future there is no such re-occurrences.

We will look into the manpower attendance at the pool bar as well as some healthy food options at the Club Lounge . Thank you for bring this matter to our attention.

We understand that your Starwood Ambassador has contacted you regards the Starpoints and that you are happy to accept the 7000 starpoints offered as a gesture of goodwill by the hotel.

Looking forward to welcoming you back soon.

Sincerely,

FW
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2012 via mobile

The first thing I am going to complain about is the Wifi which is not free in the Hotel unless you book a suite and even then, its use has to be renewed every 2 hours in the club lounge, and can only be used free in the Club lounge.

You still have to pay for Wifi in all other parts of the Hotel and your room - it's not cheap. If I didn't have access to the lounge then this hotel would have been a little unbearable by Sheraton standards.

The rooms corridors and carpets smelt of a strong nasty odour which I found unacceptable. Basically the place needed a good clean. .

Happy hour was useful in the Club Lounge with basic but tasty nibbles.

They do not do free transfers like the other Sheratons, but a cab shouldn't be more than 20 drm

In short, this hotel doesn't uphold the standards of a Sheraton Hotel and you will be disappointed if your loyalty to the brand was an reason for choosing this Hotel. The management seem financially petty making it financially driven rather than service led.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FWaller, General Manager at Sheraton Deira Hotel, responded to this review, April 15, 2012
Dear Anthonyold,

Thank you for taking the time to offer your feedback on the associates, the hotel and services at Sheraton Deira Hotel whilst you were a guest recently.

We are sorry to note that your stay was a disappointment as you had to pay for the use of internet which is an acceptable practice in Middle East or elsewhere in the world as we too are travelers with experience. Guests who book Club rooms have this service at no additional cost within the Lounge only. Free internet anywhere in the hotel is offered to our Platinum Guests for their continuous loyalty after achieving certain lengthy stays in Starwood Hotels all around. Moreover on browsing we do have certain rate codes that include the service of free internet. We take pride in informing you that we have many of our guests who have thoroughly enjoyed their stay with us because of our hospitality and services offered as an established Sheraton Hotel.

We also note that you have mentioned about a strong odor in rooms & corridor and have checked to see if there were any other such comments from our valuable guests who stayed at the same time as yourself. Unfortunately we have none of their comments of such nature. However we appreciate your comment and will be more alert on sensing unfavorable odors in rooms or corridors so that we can tackle this problem.

Should your travel bring you back to Dubai, we will be happy to be of service to you again.

Warm regards,

FW
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2012

We stayed in this hotel for one night on a trip back from India, we chose this hotel due to its close proximity to the airport (10 min taxi ride) - only costing £7.
When we checked in, one of our rooms wasnt ready, so they upgraded our rooms to a suite. They were amazing!!!!! We could not fault this hotel at all. The hotel is a good taxi ride from all major attractions, but the taxis are cheap enough anyway, we did a 2hour taxi tour for £30 and it was fab.
We ate at the hotels restaurant, the food was lovely and wasnt badly priced either. The drinks however are not cheap £6-7 per drink. Overall a meal for four with drinks was around £50-60.
Loved Dubai and cant wait to return. This hotel is ideal if you want to be close to the airport.

Room Tip: Suites are amazing
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FWaller, General Manager at Sheraton Deira Hotel, responded to this review, April 15, 2012
Dear SarahClark17,

Thank you for your very recent stay with us at Sheraton Deira Hotel!

We also appreciate your positive highlights on the hotel’s product and services. Moreover we are happy to note that you were a happy guest at Sheraton Deira by your statement – open quote” They were amazing!!!!! We could not fault this hotel at all”- you have made our day

Again, thank you for choosing to stay with us and we are looking forward to welcoming you back soon.

Sincerely,

FW
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2012 via mobile

Not a bad hotel, friendly and efficient staff. The restaurant off the lobby is quite good. Rooms are pretty good too. The biggest issue is it is RIGHT under the approach/take off for Dubai airport so you have the noise of a plane every minute or so 24 hours a day. It's a pity

Stayed November 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FWaller, General Manager at Sheraton Deira Hotel, responded to this review, March 27, 2012
Dear Mark A,

Greetings from Sheraton Deira Hotel.

Thank you for taking the time to offer your feedback on the associates, the hotel and services at Sheraton Deira Hotel whilst you were a guest recently.

We appreciate your comments including that of the plane being close to the flight path as Sheraton Deira Hotel is very close to the Dubai International airport. We do apologize for the noise caused due the coming in & take off of planes despite that our windows are double glazed to keep off sound.

Looking forward to welcoming you back soon.

Warm regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2012

Great rooms with the famous Sheraton beds. Breakfast buffet is great and the swimmingpool at the roof gives you a nice view. Only disadvantage is the distance to the airport. This is quit close so easy for arrivals and departures however every 5 minutes an airplane flies over the hotel which can be quit noisy.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FWaller, General Manager at Sheraton Deira Hotel, responded to this review, March 27, 2012
Dear MartijnG3,

Thank you very much for posting a review on trip advisor regarding your recent stay at Sheraton Deira Hotel. We are continuously striving to meet our guests need with satisfaction.

However, I am very sorry to read that you were not very happy on the noise issue because of the planes flying close above the hotel as we are indeed very close to the airport flight path. However our windows are double glazed to keep off maximum sound. Please accept our regrets for the inconvenience caused because of this.

Yours sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2012

Stayed here for three nights recently and would definitely recommend it. Staff are all excellent, very friendly and overall the service was top notch. Rooms are fine, food in the restaurant is of a very high standard and the hotel is within 5-10 minutes walking of the Metro. It is also a short taxi ride to the airport so very handy in that respect. Facilities such as a supermaket and pharmacy are only across the road too.

Only downsides are the 18 Euro a day Wi-Fi and the fact that the hotel is in the flight path of most planes from the airport but neither particularly bothered me.

Would highly recommend it.

Room Tip: I was on the 4th floor - business centre with Internet and Printers is Third Floor so very near.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FWaller, General Manager at Sheraton Deira Hotel, responded to this review, March 27, 2012
Dear BrianOHDublin,

Thank you for your very recent stay with us at Sheraton Deira Hotel! We're so glad to note that you recommend us to other fellow travelers.

We also appreciate your positive highlights on the hotel’s product and services as well as the room tip of the business center. We have taken note of your feedback regarding the internet fee which is very much in keeping with the surrounding hotels and the noise of passing planes as we are strategically situated close to the flight path.
Again, thank you for choosing to stay with us and looking forward to welcoming you back soon.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sheraton Deira Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Deira Hotel

Address: Al Muteena Street | PO Box 5772, Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Location: United Arab Emirates > Emirate of Dubai > Dubai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#174 Luxury Hotel in Dubai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Sheraton Deira Hotel 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Priceline, Expedia, Starwood EMEA, Agoda, Hotels.com, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com and Venere so you can book your Sheraton Deira Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Dubai
Dubai Sheraton
Sheraton Deira Dubai

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sheraton Deira Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.