We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Noisy nightclub kept us awake - rude breakfast staff!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Chelsea Plaza Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Chelsea Plaza Hotel to your Saves list
Chelsea Plaza Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2nd December St | PO Box 24621, Dubai, United Arab Emirates   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #229 of 499 Hotels in Dubai
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Noisy nightclub kept us awake - rude breakfast staff!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

I've been staying at Rydges Plaza on and off for many years - I'd class it as a business / budget hotel, the rooms are comfortable, the service, food and pool area were all pretty good for the cost and it's well located hence I kept going back.
This however was my first trip as the new (but sadly not improved) Chelsea Plaza!
A new addition to the hotel on the first floor is a Filipino Nightclub, it opens every night from early evening till 3am. We stayed on the 4th floor, it was like we were in the club!
In fairness the staff did give us options for three alternative rooms, even though it took them an hour to sort. We finally opted for a room on the 7th floor, but sadly you could still hear the bass but at least by midnight we were able to get some actual sleep. Plus the room stunk of smoke, even though we requested a none smoking room.
Also the breakfast has been moved from the lovely room next to the pool and the staff who manned the breakfast buffet area were rude and less than attentive - overall we were so disappointed we cut out trip short and didn't stay the second night.
On check out the reception didn't even ask how our stay was, or why we were leaving early. Sadly it's the last time we'll be staying here, it really has gone down hill and attracts a less than desirable crowd, that coupled with the horrendous thumping disco we'll not be staying here again!

Room Tip: Go higher up to avoid the noise, at least 7th floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

241 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    64
    103
    39
    17
    18
See reviews for
30
79
30
61
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Riyadh, Saudi Arabia
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

The Chelsea Plaza is in a lively street and handy for all areas of the city. From the airport the taxi takes you quickly along a paid road to Diyafah street in the Satwa area of town, and there are few traffic jams till then.

Diyafah street and surroundings are filled with local shops and restaurants, good Lebanese and Iranian food and you can eat out on the wide pavements. There is a Carrefour mini supermarket just across the road.

Taxis are easy to find in this area and although the new metro system is a good 15 minute walk up to Sheik Zayed road (World trade Centre), there are plenty of buses going by in the Deira/ Bur Dubai direction or the opposite way along beach road. You could walk to the public beach in Jumeira 1 in 20 minutes, though you might melt in the summer


The financial district and the Burj Khalifa are near, there is a good view of the Burj from some of the rooms, otheres look onto the swimming pool. I had a room on the 4th floor and had no problems with noise. Windows are double glazed so traffic noise is not a problem.

Swimming pool is small but temperature controlled, so warm in the winter and cool in the summer.

Rooms themselves are spacious and clean, large TV with satellite channels. Very large comfortable double bed, sheets were changed daily. Fridge in the room, safe, and all the usual you would expect.

There is a large bathroom with separate shower and bath.

On the downside the bathroom could have done with being freshened up a bit and was starting to look a bit dated. The windows to the street are very grubby too but this is common in any place in the desert.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

This hotel was booked for us as a gift from an Emiratee friend and so was not chosen by us. When I checked it out on line I was disappointed that it was only 3 star. When we arrived we were pleasantly surprised.Easy access to metro and places of interest. The welcome at reception was good, the room was of a high standard with a king size bed,settee and easy chairs. The bathroom had a large walk in shower and a bath . Breakfast was buffet and had a good selection. We ate in the Italian restaurant a couple of times and, although not cheap, was good quality. There were other bars and restaurants but we didn't try them. Make sure that your rroom is not under the night club which is on the ninth floor. We were fine but did hear others complain.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

Close form all business hubs in Dubai, close form lots of Markts, Airport,
If you like to have good sleep, make sure to go away from the Night club are and Bar, some noise is there

Rooms are wide space, clean, and beds are really good

Room Tip: If you like to have good sleep, make sure to go away from the Night club are and Bar, some noise is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Venice, Italy
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

I travel for business 40 weeks a year. Being to Dubai more than 100 times. My group booked 5 rooms in different floors. There are clubs, pubs, dance rooms both in the second and ninth floor. The music is SO LOUD that walls are shaking. Non stop until 3.30am. I spoke several times to Mr. Koshy the hotel manager which could not find any solution. The clubs are leasing the rooms and they do all they like. Absolutely avoid it by all means !!

Room Tip: Just forget about this hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

What a find! good location, Clean, good sized rooms with fully loaded bathroom. Would stay there again! Easy to get taxis from. but when returning you must say its by the roundabout in Bur Dubai - The only shame was a 'local' family who arrived at 5.30am with noisy children.

Room Tip: ask for a room on the higher floors as noise from the bar does filter up!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barling Magna, Southend-on-sea, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

We got a fantastic bargain price for 10 nights at this hotel. Recently refurbished it has two bars, three restaurants and two nightclubs. It's not one that I'd recommend particularly for young families but for business, couples and parties visiting Dubai it's excellent.

The World Trade Centre is only 10 minutes away by taxi (very cheap), Jumeirah Beach Resorts about 25 minutes.

The staff are all veery helpful and the rooms we stayed in were large and well appointed The electricitiy points and wifi need a bit of working out. In my room you had to switch the side lights on to enable to socket!

Free wifi and printer in the Business Centre anyway.

All in all recommended.

Room Tip: Floors 3 and 4 appear to be quieter as they are further away from the night clubs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Chelsea Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chelsea Plaza Hotel

Address: 2nd December St | PO Box 24621, Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Location: United Arab Emirates > Emirate of Dubai > Dubai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #229 of 499 Hotels in Dubai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Chelsea Plaza Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Exquisite decor of the 90 deluxe rooms and 8 suites is finished in impeccable detail with wood, silk and bronze, complementing a king or twin bed/s with Dream Beds, lush linens, feather duvets, large work desks and high-speed Internet. Enjoy views of bustling Satwa or the serene view of the fountain. What is special to all rooms is the unique separate Bath and Walk-in shower facility, plus thoughtful touches such as bathrobes, slippers and morning newspaper on request. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda and getaroom.com so you can book your Chelsea Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rydges Plaza Dubai Hotel Dubai
Dubai Rydges Plaza Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chelsea Plaza Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.