We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice choice!!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Chelsea Plaza Hotel

Save Saved
You added Chelsea Plaza Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Chelsea Plaza Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2nd December St | PO Box 24621, Dubai, United Arab Emirates   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #258 of 475 hotels in Dubai
Manama, Bahrain
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Nice choice!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012 via mobile

The hotel is not modern or brand new but we found it very chic and its comfortable &clean. İt has a couple of restaurants which we didnt try but looked nice. Theres no free wi fi, only internet in the office room computers are free. The staff is quite helpful. The location is good as its at a known roundabout and easy to pick a taxi. Also the hotel has a shuttle to beach which you have to book your place in advnce. Overall we were pleased with our stay at Chelsea plaza and would love to stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

210 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    51
    94
    34
    14
    17
See reviews for
24
70
23
54
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Athens, Greece
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

Quiet, very clean, beautiful big rooms which in the bathrooms have a bathtub and separate shower place. Good service staff.
Very good, with nice style the Il Rustico restaurant on the ground floor, excellent food.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

We stayed with a young family for a few days in Dubai. There are good food options - nice italian, mexican and Goan all on site. There are a couple of bars for the evening and a nice pool for the kids. The hotel is well placed to get to all the major sites of Dubai within a cheap 20 minute taxi ride. Decor is a little faded but the hotel is good value for money when looking at other options in the city. Staff were friendly and helpful and managed an early check in with tired kids straight from the airport.
Most taxi drivers still know the hotel as Rydges Plaza.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid
Top Contributor
128 reviews 128 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

Dubai is not a cheap city: for a one day stopover this was the best option under 600 Dirhams: it is well placed, the rooms are big and reasonable clean. There is no swimming pool, parking and it is in front of a busy roundabout (which makes it very easy to find). Warning: This hotel is still the Rydges in most GPSs

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helston, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

I stayed in the Chelsea Plaza, as a business trip for 3 weeks in Sep. My room was on the 5th floor and had views over a busy fountain roundabout, the surrounding district was a bustling busy area, with various local shops and restaurants. The room was one of the improved rooms, with large LCD TV, the hotel is undergoing some renovation, but I personally didn’t find this intrusive or disrupting. A few of my colleagues said otherwise. The front of house manager, Mr Silvo was very pleasant and accommodated our group needs, understanding our varying shift patterns and providing great customer service.
We had a buffet breakfast, and dinner which was pleasant and just the ticket, but it did repeat a little and there is only so much chicken and fish you can stomach after 3 weeks, so the alternative which is very nice is the Italian restaurant on the ground floor, Il Rustico, the pizzas are delicious.The lobby area with coffee shop was recently opened after renovation is very nice, breakfast was served here for the remainder of the duration of the stay.
There is a nightclub on the 1st floor, Pegasus which wasn’t too loud, however the 9th floor one XL (I think) was and many nights I phoned to complain about the loudness of the bass, the hotel reception were reluctant to sort this issue out, obviously the business was independent to the hotel and they had little control over the noise. Champs bar another independent, a sports bar that had a great band on most night 10-2pm. The price in there was almost double to that of the St Andrews Bar, where St Andrews had a happy hour on every night 6-9pm. The staff, especially Razzel, Marie and Diana were brilliant and after 3 weeks of our group putting money behind the bar they were very welcoming and friendly.
The rooms were okay, comfortable beds, water replenished daily and the housekeeping staff did their jobs, no special mentions. The one thing I thought was annoying was the fact that the water (hot tap in shower) was extremely sensitive, so much so that you touch the tap gently and you were scolded with hot water. Something I thought a renovation would have solved.
Internet is chargeable in your room and was intermittent a fair amount of the time, signal connection was slow on Wi-Fi and often spells of up to 2 hrs whereby there was none. The lobby business suite has one computer that was working the time of my stay and that was free. Wi-Fi in room was AEd400 a month and AED35 a day, a little bit steep in my opinion.
The pool area had the sun for most of the day and that was lost at around 4.30pm. The pool is about 15M long and was clean and tiled areas in good order. The Jacuzzi next to the pool is warm and chlorinated but nice after a day’s work. The gym staff were pleasant and courteous, and gym equipment good for an end of day work out, which steam room and sauna (at 20 mins notice request to be switched on) in the changing rooms for both male and female.
To sum up a pleasant hotel, with some good staff members but its let down by its independent businesses, namely the night club on the 9th Floor.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the fountain, and main road you might escape the Nightlub noise by doing this...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
riyadh
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

had 3 sleepless night because the once restaurant on the 9th floor was not a disco directly above our room on the 7th floor. Have been going to his hotel when was rydges for 2.5 years and found the staff and rooms great. No more !!!!!!!!!! names change and change in staff ( who really dont care if you sleep or dont ) We arrived at 1.30am and were promptly told that the next day the rate would change as it was high season......... nice and welcome to you also. Back to the disco many requestes to please reduce the volume and to move us! Every night for the three nights we were there we were still awake at 3.30 - 4.00 am as the music was so loud we could not sleep. Other guest on the same floor experienced the same. As I said I have been going to dubai on business for 2.5 years and loved the hotel and the staff who welcomed me with my name as I arrived. I will never go back again and will make sure other managers in my company will stay elsewhere. As I said the other guest on the same floor had the same experience one of whom who had been useing th hotel for 5 years was no longer going to return.
No for the icing on this cake let me share with you the puncture in the wall above the TV and the broken tiles that stayed in my bath for two mornings yes I do have pics just check out my facebook site
Denise khalil

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

Experience from October 2009 when still Rydges Plaza. Whilst working in Dubai for a week chose Chelsea Plaza - formerly Rydges Plaza. Easy to get to and I used the same Taxi each day to get around the city. Good location for getting elsewhere, but I would recommend the taxis - luxury limosines that were very cheap. I travelled all week in a monster Mercedes limo - very helpful friendly staff everywhere. My room was on 5th Floor overlooking the roundabout. No problem with noise. Three restaurants on top floors with wide variety of cuisine - easy to eat-in or get taxi and go to other hubs in city. Would recommend for holidaying, this is good value and high quality. I spent evenings going to the malls around the city, easily spend an evening ice skating, skiing, brousing, or go to the creek and see the souks. Walked from the creek back to the hotel - safe but wouldn't recommend unless you want to go through the migrant worker areas (about 3.5Km) - where the real workers live - whole districts of shared-room Indian, Mauritian, Bangladeshi, etc. communities who earn the money for the business owners. Interesting to see the other side of Dubai from here - not on the tourist route.
Would recommend the city bus tours, (short taxi ride to nearest stop) and spend all day touring the parts of the city - jump on - jump off and get reduced or free admission to wide range of museums, etc. I am back off to Dubai in a few weeks and will be staying here again.
A fire drill took place when I stayed last time - the Hotel is opposite the Fire Station - I was very impressed with the organisation, planning and execution of the fire drill - staff were very well trained and did everything by the book. It didn't disrupt my stay at all - but I was re-assured by their evacuation procedures, etc.
The swimming pool is a bit cramped, but okay, clean and functional - wouldn't use it unless winding down or cooling off. A/C in hotel worked well. Double glazed rooms kept the noise and heat out.

Room Tip: Use the cheap taxis and use the hotel as a central hub from which to get about from here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Chelsea Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chelsea Plaza Hotel

Address: 2nd December St | PO Box 24621, Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Location: United Arab Emirates > Emirate of Dubai > Dubai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #258 of 475 hotels in Dubai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Chelsea Plaza Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Exquisite decor of the 90 deluxe rooms and 8 suites is finished in impeccable detail with wood, silk and bronze, complementing a king or twin bed/s with Dream Beds, lush linens, feather duvets, large work desks and high-speed Internet. Enjoy views of bustling Satwa or the serene view of the fountain. What is special to all rooms is the unique separate Bath and Walk-in shower facility, plus thoughtful touches such as bathrobes, slippers and morning newspaper on request. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, HotelsClick, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Chelsea Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rydges Plaza Dubai Hotel Dubai
Dubai Rydges Plaza Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chelsea Plaza Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.