We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible hotel!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Chelsea Plaza Hotel

Save Saved
You added Chelsea Plaza Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Chelsea Plaza Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2nd December St | PO Box 24621, Dubai, United Arab Emirates   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #258 of 474 hotels in Dubai
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Terrible hotel!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here in August. We booked knowing the hotel was undergoing renovation. However the a/c in our room did not work. When reported we were shown 3 other rooms- a/c not working in any! Then we found insects crawling on the bed. We demanded to change rooms. The next morning my husband was covered in huge bites. It seems the bed was infested with bedbugs!!! The manager suggested he was "allergic to the furniture polish"!! At this point we said we would not stay in the hotel any longer. The manager then arranged or us to move to the Ramada Chelsea Hotel which was fine. We lived in Dubai for a no of years & knew the Chelsea Plaza when it was Rydges Plaza & was a great hotel. However now it is terrible & we would NOT recommend it to anyone.

Stayed August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

210 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    51
    94
    34
    14
    17
See reviews for
24
70
23
54
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
uk
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2012

nice hotel to stay with family nice food nice staff

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2012

Recent name change to Chelsea plaza but taxis still recognise Rydges. Hotel is in a pretty good location, close to airport and plenty to do and see in local area. Facilities are ok, staff are generally very good and food beverage outlets excellent.
However the wifi charges of almost $15 a day are too much. Most hotels catering to western travelers offer either free wifi or much much cheaper than this. Secondly the free coffee at breakfast, which comes in at over $20 does not include decaf coffee, which is almost $4 extra. Ok so no big deal, but it's instant coffee and a jar in local supermarket is $5. Real shame because it has potential!

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2012

We stayed at Rydges Plaza Dubai for 7 nights on our way to Europe. The hotel is ideally located to all the major sites. The rooms are well-maintained and service is of a high standard.

The price of accommodation is very reasonable and the hot buffet breakfast was of a very high standard.

Staff are very polite and very helpful.

I would not hesitate to stay there again on a return trip.

Room Tip: The executive wuite rooms are outstanding and the room rate is very, very reasonable. Complimentary...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2012

I stayed at Rydges Dubai for one night during my stopover in Dubai. Rydges was not a well-known hotel chain in the Middle East, but since I had stayed in its other properties in Australia-NZ before, I chose to stay at the property (plus the room rate was good).

My flight arrived at Dubai after mid-night, so I sent an email to the hotel's reservation desk to hold the room for a late check-in before the trip. They did follow it up, so when I arrived at the hotel (about 2 am) everything was prepared and check-in was speedy. The front desk staff member also explained everything quite clearly and accomodated my request for a late check-out. An excellent first impression.

The room was spacious (though it was the norm in Middle East star hotels) with a good view towards a round-about in front of the property. The decoration and furnishing in the room were old fashion but well-maintained. As it was just a stopover, I spent most of the time in the room during my stay. Even at daytime, I didn't feel the noise from the outside traffic, which was good.

In general, I was pleased with my short stay at the hotel. It did not have the flamboyant atmosphere one might find in other classy hotels in Dubai, but it is a good option to stay at its price range.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
158 helpful votes 158 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2012

Hub and I stayed here for 6 nights last month. I had paid the special rate of £365 plus local taxes for a standard room excluding breakfast.
We had emailed the hotel prior to arrival to inform them we would be a late and by the time we got to the hotel it was 2am. Reception informed us that the only rooms left were twin rooms but promised they would try and find us something else the following day. Not ideal but to be honest we were too tired to argue and just wanted to hit the sack.....the twin beds though were of a queen size and really, really comfortable so must have been their new 'dream' beds.
We didn't wake up until lunchtime the next day but rang down to reception and they had found a room with a king size bed for us to transfer to a floor up - not a problem as we had really only unpacked our toothbrushes. The rooms were relatively identical except the previous room faced the front of the hotel with a view of downtown but with a little noise from traffic. The second room had a view of the rear of the hotel.....well there isn't one really it’s just rooftops but for the price we paid, we could not complain.
I have to agree with other reviews that the rooms are a little tired and definitely need a bit of updating but they were very clean and the bathrooms spotless. In room wired internet although this was at a charge, very expensive mini-bar but a super efficient daily maid service. I cannot recall seeing our maid once during our holiday but as soon as were were back from our breakfast the room was done and all toiletries and towels refreshed accordingly. The only real complaint I have about the room is that our second room did not have the lovely ‘dream’ beds and the mattress was actually quite hard – both husband and I didn’t have the best of sleeps. Make sure you ask for a room with the newer beds!
So on to the pool area. Not massive but again all spotlessly clean and a very helpful pool attendant/lifeguard. A bar and food service is available – on our first day we had a sandwich and it was really nice. Sunbeds are really comfortable, not too plentiful but we never really had an issue getting one unless it was late in the day. At one end of the pool is the gym block which includes a very well fitted gym with a fitness instructor, a steam room and sauna (although I never saw these switched and only saw 3 people in the gym the whole time we were there) – all looked really new and spotlessly clean with all the facilities you would expect from a gym back home.
Can’t comment on any of the restaurants as we didn’t use them but we did use the pool bar and also the music/Aussie bar. As with all hotel bars in Dubai it was pricey so don’t forget to get your Duty Free before leaving DXB! However, the Aussie bar does have ladies night every night and you can pick from a list of discounted drinks.
The real bonus is the location of the Rydges Plaza – very centrally located with easy access to all areas of the city – no problem picking up a cab within a minute or so outside the hotel and for trips to the beach the courtesy minibus runs several times a day and back to Jumeirah Beach Park which I can highly recommend. It has excellent facilities including beach bars, cafés, towel/sunbed hire and nice views along the coast of the Burj.
Lots of restaurants and supermarkets in the surrounding area including the fantastic and world famous RAVI restaurant just across the roundabout – whatever you do don’t miss that if staying at Rydges Plaza! Have fun!

Room Tip: Upgrade from the standard and ask for a high floor to avoid road noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2012

Please note that this hotel changed its name to Chelsea Plaza Dubai while we were staying there. Rydges has apparently sold the property.

Had a pleasant stay in this hotel. You pretty much get what you pay for, plus a little bit extra. Rooms was quite spacious and had a nice bathroom. Location is just okay, but you pretty much need to take a taxi for 10-15 minutes anywhere you want to go in Dubai anyway, since it is too far and hot to walk. We enjoyed walking around near the hotel and eating at the cheap local restaurants. Ravi is a cheap and nice Indian/Pakistani restaurant chain located just across the street. Pool area at the hotel is nice, but it is surrounded by walls so there are no views.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Chelsea Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chelsea Plaza Hotel

Address: 2nd December St | PO Box 24621, Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Location: United Arab Emirates > Emirate of Dubai > Dubai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#258 Top resorts Hotel in Dubai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Chelsea Plaza Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Exquisite decor of the 90 deluxe rooms and 8 suites is finished in impeccable detail with wood, silk and bronze, complementing a king or twin bed/s with Dream Beds, lush linens, feather duvets, large work desks and high-speed Internet. Enjoy views of bustling Satwa or the serene view of the fountain. What is special to all rooms is the unique separate Bath and Walk-in shower facility, plus thoughtful touches such as bathrobes, slippers and morning newspaper on request. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, HotelsClick, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Chelsea Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rydges Plaza Dubai Hotel Dubai
Dubai Rydges Plaza Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chelsea Plaza Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.