We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small and Luxurious” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Ritz-Carlton Dubai

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added The Ritz-Carlton Dubai to your Saves list
The Ritz-Carlton Dubai
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Jumeirah Beach Residence, JBR, Dubai, United Arab Emirates   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Hotel Credit & Breakfast
Ranked #32 of 486 Hotels in Dubai
Hong Kong, China
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Small and Luxurious”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

5 Great Nights at the Ritz Carlton .

From arrival at Dubai Airport ,pickup by the hotel limousine to departure 6 days later a truly lovely hotel. Attentive friendly and professional service .

The new rooms are most comfortable ,extremely quiet and very well appointed.
Bed is comfortable and towels in the bathroom are big and luxurious .

The rooms now have a bedside pad terminal to operate lights ,curtains ,air-conditioning etc,the unit has a mind of its own .At times the curtains do not open or the lights do not go off or on as they should ,even when you come into the room and insert your card in the wall holder the curtains or lights will each time react in a different manner. Makes coming back interesting .As the rooms are new this is obviously a teething problem and one that is not a major issue.
The rooms are lovely

The club room we stayed in was on the 6th floor ,great view and the amenities at the club lounge are very good .Breakfast in the club lounge is good ,we asked to have breakfast down stairs in the main lobby and found the breakfast here to be much more comprehensive and preferable., both are excellent.

The gardens are great ,the pool is beautiful and outdoor service make the day’s most relaxing. The little touches of cold water and cool towels ,icy poles and other little surprises that come to you during the day make the relaxing a little special.

The lunch by the pool and the menu selection is very good and the food and service here is first class.
The pool staff are really helpful and attentive.
The beach in front of the hotel is excellent ,apparently it is a public beach ,but it seems like a private beach .It is safe to swim the water is warm and clear ,this is a great advantage as with the gardens at the hotel and the beach directly in front it makes the position of the hotel ideal.

Restaurants:
Blue Jade is worth a visit ,we ate their 2 times as we thoroughly enjoyed the food ,service and ambience.

Splendido Italian we ate at 1 night ,the outdoor tables and setting is lovely .The food in this restaurant is not up to par .The food is bland and un interesting even though the menu is comprehensive. I mentioned this to the head waiter and he told me that this restaurant is in the top 2 Italian restaurants in Dubai , obviously that is his opinion .This restaurant does let down the hotel and is not to my experience ,Ritz Carlton standard .I think they could do much better.

I wish to point even though I have been critical on the Italian restaurant , the Ritz Carlton is really excellent from service to rooms and amenities ,it is small and a peaceful oasis in a great city and would most certainly stay here again ,you would go a long way to find better.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

793 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    563
    140
    52
    22
    16
See reviews for
205
317
37
76
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (160)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

I stayed 6 nights and loved it!
The location is great, very central with a beautiful view of the Burj Khalifa or if you are on the other side, the sea.
Despite being on Sheik Zayed rd it's very quiet. The rooms are very spacious and with a great wooden curvy design. Modern and very comfortable! I slept like a baby ( and I am difficult if it's not my bed, my pillow etc...). Great bathroom with separate toilet area, really all the comfort needed with a great service!

The gym is amazing, spacious with all the equipment needed and more! They even have a power plate. The spa is nice too. The pool area is of a good size, there is a pool and a Jacuzzi. In the evening the lounge area next to the pool turns into the Ikandy bar.
Very convenient for a quick breakfast when starting your day.

You cannot reach the Dubai mall and Burj K. by walk even if it looks quite close ( big roads, no walking pass) but the metro line is @ 300 m from the hotel along Sheik Z. rd so very convenient! (one stop away to Burj K. and the Dubai mall. it costs 4 AED for a short ride.) or you can take a taxi ( @12 AED, 5 minutes max).

The hotel is @ 15 minutes away from the airport and it costs @ 50-60 AED by taxi.
I loved that hotel and will go back for sure when in Dubai!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wokingham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

Just wanted to pass on our thanks to The Ritz-Carlton Dubai for making our stay so enjoyable and memorable. We were lucky enough to get upgraded to a Junior Suite on the Club Floor and Wow what a treat. The rooms were enormous with everything we could possible wish for.
The grounds are kept in pristine condition although there was quite a lot of building work going on on the beach areas, but this was kept at a low level and did not interfere with our stay. We did not dine at the hotel apart from breakfast was was served on the terrace or inside depending on your choice. Good selection at breakfast in a relaxed atmosphere. Would definitively recommend the Ritz as a little gem in amides the enormous skyscrapers surrounding it. Thanks again.

Room Tip: Definitely would recommend full sea view overlooking the pool too.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

We went there on a weekend for a quick gateway, we went for the club room with lounge access and it was worth it. The room was quite spacious and well maintained. They offered us at the beginning partial sea view room but we requested a full sea view room and they changed our rooms immediately. The lounge offers snack through all the day, its very good quality and variety. we headed to the pool and its a connected long pool with a waterfall from one side and large pool from the other side. We also kept our son in the kids club and he enjoyed, its spacious, bright and allot of friendly staff working there. The next morning we had breakfast in the restaurant, breakfast was good as well. Over all I loved this hotel and would love to go back once again for another weekend.

One Tip for travelers from outside the UAE, the hotel is located in the JBR which is across the road from this hotel, you have access to shops, restaurants and other services within walking distance.

Room Tip: Ask for Sea view room:)
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miramar Beach, Florida
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

We returned with eager anticipation to the Ritz-Carlton JBR after first staying at the property in 2007. Our 2007 stay is actually what compelled me to join TripAdvisor – our experience was so positive that I felt it was important to share with other members of this community. Times have changed, however, which makes this negative review particularly difficult to write.

Unfortunately, due to delays in opening the new wing of the hotel, we were among the last guests to stay in the old wing. The old wing was just as we remembered it, except with six years of wear and tear layered on top. We were stunned by how poorly the rooms had been maintained since we had last visited. Detached light fixtures in the bathroom ceiling, scratched and dented furnishings, a malfunctioning phone, stained and worn fabric on the chairs, broken fixtures on the sink, rusted shower doors, burnt out lamps – all emblematic of a hotel that has lost touch with its previously stellar focus on maintaining a high standard.

If the only problems we had with our stay related to the accommodations, we probably still would have been satisfied if we had received the high standard of service we had previously experienced at this property. Unfortunately, the current level of service is a shadow of its former self.

We stayed in a club room and found the lounge service to be exceptionally poor. Even though it was rarely crowded, we frequently waited 15-20 minutes before even being acknowledged or asked if we'd like anything. And if we did ask for something (a water, a soda, a tea, etc.), it seemed as though we were burdening them with the request. When I tried to make tour and transportation arrangements through the club concierge, I encountered the same blasé attitude – with a bit of hostility added to the mix to make the experience that much less pleasant. We're well traveled and understand that communication can sometimes be a challenge, but I don't think this was cultural misinterpretation on our part.

Additionally, the food on offer in the lounge was uninspired and paled in comparison to the offerings in other Ritz club lounges. Breakfast in particular was a disappointment. The choices weren't nearly as comprehensive as those offered in the lobby restaurant morning buffet.

As our week wore on, our excitement at returning turned into disappointment, and eventually complete frustration. On our last night, we did politely express our disappointment to the "manager-in-training" at the front desk, who apologized profusely and asked for an opportunity to make our last day a memorable one. We agreed. We didn't see or hear from him (or anyone) again until we checked out later the following afternoon – and the same “manager-in-training” made a point of conspicuously avoiding us after briefly making eye contact with me. Bizarre.

For the sake of full disclosure, we contacted Ritz-Carlton after departing, and they did offer us a modest, but reasonable, compensation for our stay. Of course, we would have preferred to receive no compensation and to have had an experience commensurate with the price we paid. Unfortunately, that didn’t happen.

In short, with so many other comparably priced five-star hotels in Dubai, I can’t recommend you stay here. Not anymore.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dusseldorf, Germany
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

Ritz Carlton is not usually my first choice because of he inconsistent quality between properties. In this case I gave it a try, and had a very nice experience. The hotel is a little older but the rooms were well appointed and comfortable. The view over the super sized pool and beach was beautiful. Check-in was quick and friendly in the club lounge, but the lounge is a little small/crowded. During the day I stayed near the pool because the chairs and service on the beach did not look like it was very good - based on some other reviews it seems I made a good choice. Service, comfort, and view of the water on the grass up by the pool was great. Wanted to go ride the camel on the beach but never made it. A nice oasis in Dubai - just know it's a B+ property until it gets an update (I believe some new construction starts soon).

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartlepool, United Kingdom
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

Stayed here for ten nights , our last night tonight , with my wife and my 11year old son.
From our arrival the stay has been almost perfect. Lots of nice touches like the water in a cool bag around the pool , my son especially liked the 'ice pops' as we call them in the UK, available also around the pool in the afternoon.
The rooms have recently been renovated and are amazing , very high tech and the beds as comfy as they come.
We paid an 'advance rate' on the Club Floor and would recommend upgrading. There is food available all day from breakfast to evening , with five changes of food during the course of the day. Alcohol is also available from lunchtime until 10pm. A special mention for the staff on the Club floor who were excellent and attentive, Anita, Barbara, Marco, Chu, Mika and the rest of the team made our stay extra special.
I find it really strange some of the negative reviews , I travel extensively worldwide for business and this is up there with the best hotels I have ever stayed in.
Also try Blue Jade the new Asian restaurant , food is excellent , the chef even came over personally to check how the food was.
Yes the hotel is expensive and perhaps they should review the pricing of food and drink around the pool to make people buy it , hardly saw anyone with food and drink , but this is a Ritz Calton not a 3 or 4 star hotel.
Would I visit again, absolutely .

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Ritz-Carlton Dubai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton Dubai

Address: Jumeirah Beach Residence, JBR, Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Phone Number:
Location: United Arab Emirates > Emirate of Dubai > Dubai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Dubai
#21 Spa Hotel in Dubai
#23 Family Hotel in Dubai
#29 Luxury Hotel in Dubai
#40 Romantic Hotel in Dubai
#48 Business Hotel in Dubai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz-Carlton Dubai 5*
Number of rooms: 148
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ritz-Carlton, Dubai already and iconic beachfront retreat for over 13years, unveils it's 148 new guestrooms and suites. Enjoy sophisticated dining venues, full leisure offerings including a brand new spa concept, additional swimming pools, lush gardens and expansive indoor and outdoor events spaces. Approximately 35km from Dubai International Airport and 25km from the business and financial districts, the city's traditional souqs and tax free shopping malls. The Ritz-Carlton, Dubai is located on the prime white sandy beachfront of Jumeirah, adjacent to The Emirates Golf Club, world championship courses. Experience The Ritz-Carlton, Dubai, and discover a private playground in the heart of the vibrant Dubai Marina District. With all the opulently decorated rooms enjoying garden and ocean views, this intimately luxurious resort, situated on 350 meters of the pristine white sands of the Arabian Gulf, is the perfect place to relax and indulge.. Alternatively, taking a soothing spa treatment or savouring an exceptional meal in a breathtaking setting are other ways to fully relax in this delightful property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Marriott, Priceline, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton Dubai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ritz-Carlton Dubai Hotel Dubai
Ritz Carlton Dubai
Dubai Ritz Carlton
Ritz Dubai

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Ritz-Carlton Dubai, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.