We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for quality and cost” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Traders Hotel Dubai

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Traders Hotel Dubai to your Saves list
Traders Hotel Dubai
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Corner of Abu Baker Al Siddique & Salah Al Din Road, Dubai 81877, United Arab Emirates   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #87 of 487 Hotels in Dubai
Leicester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Great for quality and cost”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

I was only here for one night while transiting through Dubai - and booked a room on the internet at the last minute. The hotel was very reasonably priced and really surprised with the great quality and excellent staff. It's great to get a genuine friendly welcome and the staff went out of their way to make our short stay really enjoyable - even taking out time to plan out a quick itinery with us for places to go in the evening and mapping out routes with the metro. I will totally stay here again next time I'm in Dubai!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

685 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    312
    295
    50
    16
    12
See reviews for
79
207
114
189
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (141)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Odessa, Ukraine
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2014

This is by far the worst hotel I've stayed in Dubai. Now, admittedly, I'm usually staying in very good hotels there, so that hotel is not bad by itself. I've opted for Traders since Shangri-La was fully booked, and they belong to the same chain. The two hotels are night and day, however.

Traders, in short, is a very basic three-star hotel which somehow managed to get four stars. The hotel was meant to have some designer perks, but by now they look shabby, like a smallish 21" (?) plasma TV. The place is significantly rundown, all the way with mildly stained carpet.

The location is awful. Though it is listed in Deira, the hotel is actually on the outskirts, with gas station being the main attraction in the vicinity.

Traders has a smallish swimming pool, indoors and smelly. I guess the hotel added it to obtain four-star rating, but being slightly larger than a bath, the pool is really of no use.

The hotel's policy is to pre-authorize your credit card for a few hundred dollars on check-in. I would be understanding of such precautions in a two-star place in Eastern Europe, but hey, do they really expect their guests to run away without paying for minibar ($15 vodka)?

On arrival, they insist to have your valid email - and then start spamming you with survey requests.
Asked for taxi, the staff gets you a hotel car, assuring you all the way that its rate is same as taxi. Comes out thrice the taxi cost. Next day, ask for taxi or limo; they had no limo available and so were telling me for forty minutes that taxi service has no taxis in the area, either; finally their limo arrived.

I didn't take dinner in the hotel, but breakfast was simple to the point of being absent. Sumptuous breakfasts are common in the Emirates hotels, and scarcity such as in the Traders is highly unusual: no fresh juice, to begin with.

Planes from the nearby airport are well heard at night, though not to the point of forbidding your sleep.

In the middle of my first night there, fire alarm sounded and the staff ordered evacuation. After half an hour on the street, someone from the staff told me that oh no, there was no fire, just false alarm because of electricity failure, and we don't know how to reset it. Huh?

The worst part about that hotel is its prices. I booked two days, and the price was very high. Added one day later, and the price was still double. That kind of price gets you very nice five-star hotels in Dubai's best locations.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephan_Kapek, General Manager at Traders Hotel Dubai, responded to this review, March 4, 2014
Dear Vadim C,
Thank you very much for taking the time to write about your recent stay at Traders Hotel Dubai. I would like to apologize, as you have experienced a shortfall in our service and would like to ask you to get directly in touch with me at stephan.kapek@tradershotels.com with your details.
Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2014

this was the best I have ever experienced having travelled around the world staying with many hotel groups, the staff are amazing very helpful and fantastic choice of food being a vegetarian nothing was too much trouble, looking after my personal needs

Room Tip: just right for a few nights stay, every thing you need for a good nights sleep during you journey...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2014

Very clean and modern hotel. Was upgraded to the Presidential Suite upon arrival at no extra cost. Will definitely return to the hotel next time I'm in Dubai. Very helpful and friendly staff. Couldn't do enough to help me.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2014

A little gem in the big sandpit... just could not fault this hotel. Slick staff, slick service, slick product. Would definitely stay here again! Right in the heart of Deira, contemporary style, clean and polished. Not easy to find a taxi in rush hour but the doormen know a few tricks. Its got a 24 hour business centre, meeting facilities, a gym, juice bar and indoor pool. Check out the chameleon bar and the Junction. Well done Shangri-La.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2014

After a rather long drive or not driving in the local rush hour, we were confronted with a busy hotel in a very dubious looking area. The foyer was smart and modern and we were greeted a little bit late by the porter. Checking in was quick and easy and we were recommend the restaurant for dinner.
This is the diamond bit, the food was fantastic and the wine, it didn't end there it wasn't expensive.My guest for the evening suggested that we stayed there for the rest of the evening and work our way through the menu. Oh yes rooms were pleasant and clean and the shower wonderful, the views were poor, but the menu was really the only thing worth looking at.

Room Tip: Stay and have a meal very good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephan_Kapek, General Manager at Traders Hotel Dubai, responded to this review, February 23, 2014
Dear LJWilks
Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay with Traders Hotel Dubai. We are very happy that you very much enjoyed our hotel and especially the dinner in our restaurant. Let us know when you are coming back
Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2014

Knowing what Deira can be like, I wasnt expecting that much from this hotel despite it being part of a large hotel group.
However, the rooms were good clean, decent size and had everything I needed. The lobby was bright and welcoming and the staff there were always helpful.
The location of the hotel is in central Deira and not too far from airport. This is handy if there on business, like I was but maybe not if you have come to Dubai expecting beaches.
I did have one problem on arrival late at night, when I was told there was not a non-smoking room available for me. This appeared not to have been communicated between third party booking site and the hotel that I had requested a non-smoking room. The hotel staff apologised and let me know that I would be moved in the morning as soon as a non-smoking room became available and being so late I wanted to get some sleep so went a long with it. The next day I was promptly moved to a non-smoking room and later that evening a complimetary bottle of wine was sent up to my room from the manager, which was a nice touch. I was quite impressed with the way they dealt with a problem that wasnt entirely their fault and tried to atone for it.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephan_Kapek, General Manager at Traders Hotel Dubai, responded to this review, February 23, 2014
Dear John W.
Thank you very much for staying with us and to write a review on this site. We are glad to read that you enjoyed your stay and were impressed with our ability to address the issues at hand.
Hopefully you can come back soon
All the best
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Traders Hotel Dubai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Traders Hotel Dubai

Address: Corner of Abu Baker Al Siddique & Salah Al Din Road, Dubai 81877, United Arab Emirates
Location: United Arab Emirates > Emirate of Dubai > Dubai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#33 Best Value Hotel in Dubai
#51 Spa Hotel in Dubai
#71 Romantic Hotel in Dubai
#73 Business Hotel in Dubai
#75 Luxury Hotel in Dubai
#88 Family Hotel in Dubai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Traders Hotel Dubai 4*
Number of rooms: 250
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just a 15 minutes drive from Dubai International Airport and 2 minutes from the Metro Station, this 4-star hotel offers spacious rooms with free Wi-Fi. A free shuttle to Al Mamzar Beach, Deira City Centre, and Al Ghurair Mall is provided. Rooms at Traders Hotel, Dubai by Shangri-La feature a stylish and modern decor. Each has a satellite TV and the private bathroom is stocked with luxury toiletries.International buffet dishes and menu specialties are served at The Junction. The Chameleon Bar offers live entertainment and 88 Ultra Lounge is an outdoor bar. A 24-hour room service is also available.Guests can work out at the gym, plunge in the indoor pool, and relax at the sauna and steam rooms. Massages are offered in private massage rooms. Abu Baker Al Siddique Metro Station is a 2-minute walk away. Dubai World Trade Center, the Dubai Mall and Burj Khalifa are a short drive away. There is also a tour desk, which can arrange car rentals. Hotel Rooms: 250 Hotel Chain: Shangri-La Hotels & Resorts ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Agoda, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Traders Hotel Dubai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dubai Traders Hotel
Traders Dubai

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Traders Hotel Dubai, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.