We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“poor first impression” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Traders Hotel Dubai

Save Saved
You added Traders Hotel Dubai to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Traders Hotel Dubai
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Corner of Abu Baker Al Siddique & Salah Al Din Road, Dubai 81877, United Arab Emirates   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #76 of 474 hotels in Dubai
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“poor first impression”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

Threshold factor was good… great reception from duty manager and ushered to club floor. Traders aims to be a budget Shangri-la.
After first day we are not overwhelmed… the Club check-in was poor. Despite phoning for an early check-in and told the room will be ready for 1pm and arriving at 2pm (normal checkin), the previous guest were given an extended checkout. Therefore we didn’t enter room until after 4pm ☹ Subsequently, we missed evening cocktails as we needed to re-schedule a prior meeting. We got the pointless stuffed camel toy as an apology.

Later (at 9pm) we were given a leaflet covering Club facilities and informed of services available. That meant we missed the complimentary laundry. The evening Club-lounge host (Anisa) did best to correct matters– Thank-you.

So far, not a patch on Hilton, Radisson or Hyatt Club … see my reviews. IMHO If you charge a premium for Club, make the guests feel like they belong, else it’s simply a revenue generator. Hope things improve…

The Traders suite is good size and well decorated. Our’s had a view of the intersection, but the location means there is little else to look at. Internet is very good and available through hotel.. free in rooms. Thank-you. This is very useful when you’re on business. Gym is 24hr… good. 10m pool is indoor and warm. Gym staff are helpful. There are food courts and malls within walking. Marriott and Movenpick are 30yards away.

Room Tip: rooms are generally a good size.. the suite is large and separate rooms. Quality and design good. Vi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephan_Kapek, General Manager at Traders Hotel Dubai, responded to this review, January 6, 2013
Your stay at the Traders Hotel Dubai!

Dear WorkNPlayHomenAway ,

Thank you for staying with Traders Hotel Dubai and taking the time to write a review.

It’s great to read to read such a detailed review and we are pleased that most aspects of your stay were to your satisfaction. At the same time we are sorry to hear that you encountered some issues during your last stay with us. Please contact me directly at stephan.kapek@tradershotels.com to further discuss these.

In the meantime, it would be a pleasure to welcome you back to Traders Hotel Dubai in the near future. If you ever need reservation assistance please contact me or the hotel directly or via our website.

WIth best regards
Stephan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

549 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    253
    233
    42
    11
    10
See reviews for
58
161
90
158
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
doha, qatar
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

I usually stay at cheaper hotels but booked this specially as it was my birthday. I really love Traders in Abu Dhabi but found this to be not a patch on the A.D one. The room absolutely stank from a faulty AC and tho the staff supposedly solved it whilst we were out it was still exactly the same. Felt like you could taste the air. I complained the next day ( never do that but had really had horrible stay ) front desk lady didn't seem to take me seriously at all. I expected some kind of compensation but after waiting 40 minutes she tried to fob me off with a small stuffed camel. Seemed she thought this was funny or cute.. But actually I just wanted some of my money back as I really didn't feel the standard of the room warranted the money at ALL. Wouldn't stay here again. Even Citymax felt way cleaner with more proactive staff. Am amazed other people have been so positive.

Room Tip: Don't stay in the one I did ,!!! Lol !
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephan_Kapek, General Manager at Traders Hotel Dubai, responded to this review, December 31, 2012
Dear Claredoherty01

Thank you for taking the time to review us on TripAdvisor.

Guest feedback is most important to us as it keeps us in check constantly on how we can further improve our services. I am sorry to know of the challenges you experienced during your stay with us and would appreciate it if you could contact me directly at stephan.kapek@tradershotels.com with details on your stay experience.

WIth best regards
Stephan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lagos, Nigeria
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012

Hotel was excellent, friendly accomodating staff, nice foyer, clean rooms.
Had a session at the spa, Clean and extremely relaxing. Had a facial and a massage, therapist truly skilled.
Only slight downer was the carpets in the rooms, a bit old and would be better replaced with a darket colour.

Room Tip: Ask for non smoking if possible, some room carpets smell of tobacco!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

My husband and I arrived at Traders Hotel on 21 Dec 2012 at 9.45am, feeling completely angry about the terrible experience at the Dubai International Airport (that's a different story altogether). When we arrived at the lobby, we were greeted by a cheery Good Morning and at the reception, check-in was an absolute breeze.

The counter staff saw that we were extremely upset and listened with a sympathetic ear about our harrowing experience. Meanwhile, they offered us drinks, wet towels and suggestion of feedback to the relevant authorities. All thanks to Traders Hotel, they made our impression of Dubai so much better.

We got a King Room which was clean and spacious. Everything we could ask for in a hotel room. Breakfast was not too bad and offered a good spread. We were able to get a taxi easily to the Dubai Mall. The tours service was also efficient in arranging our Desert Experience.

We were originally slated to stay at another hotel, but we are convinced this hotel is a much better deal.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

Me and my friend stayed at traders this weekend (nov 28 - dec 3 2012) and, having never been to dubai before we were unsure of what to expect.

We researched a lot of hotels and decided on traders because of the value for money it offered.

Upon arrival we asked if we had been allocated a twin room, (because we are two single men) and were told that they had no twins left but they would upgrade us to a king suite and provide an extra bed at no extra cost (normally they would charge for this) and this was the first of countless examples of the friendlyness of the staff and their desire to make the stay as perfect as possible.

All the staff are always smiling, always friendly, happy to chat to you about anything and everything and always willing to go out of their way to help make you feel welcome.

The hotel is only 10 - 15mins from the airport and when you arrive you will be greeted by the roar of jets flying right over the hotel - you are literally at the end of the runway - but don't be put off by this. Once inside you cannot hear a thing and you would never know how low the jets were flying over you.

The room, ok we had a suite, was spacious, clean, very well equiped and we cannot find anything to complain about at all.

The breakfast, we had ours included as part of the upgrade, is a very wide ranging all you can eat buffet and although it might seem expensive at 85Dhs its much better than some of those in hotels we have stayed in before. It catered for every need and again the staff were friendly, attentive, always smiling and nothing was too much trouble. It has everything you would expect from a 4star hotel breakfast and more.

The location is perfect, only 10 -15mins from the hotel (taxi transfer cost us 30Dhs - about £8). For getting around Dubai it could not be easier - the green line metro station is about 200m meters away, and runs all day (apart from fridays when it starts at 1pm). You can access most of the major areas using the metro and the cost is capped at 14Dhs a day and uses a card very similar to London's Oyster card.

Overall this hotel is a perfect choice on many levels, I could not find fault with it at all. We did not use all the facilities but as tourists who wanted to use it as a base for exploring the city its a wonderful choice, yes there maybe hotels that offer more but this has everything we wanted and needed.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

We take groups of fourteen to Europe annually each September and for the second time the group stayed here this September. After arrival at Dubai airport we transfered to this hotel for our overnight stop. We find that stopping over for 24 hours breaks the travel fatigue and leaves us fresh the following day for our 5 hour plus flight on to our european destination. This is a 4 star property and provides a full american breakfast. The rooms are superb and comfortable and the staff are always most helpful and friendly should we require any additional assistance. We would certainly recommend this property to either single or multiple person groups and will once again be stoping there next September

Room Tip: We always contact our hotels prior to arrival each year and discuss our participants individual requ...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kangar
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

Good service, clean room.. Although the rate are not really up to the facilities..... My expectation far more beyond as it is menage by Shangri-La..... However ok to stay... Difficult to get taxi and to travel out..

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephan_Kapek, General Manager at Traders Hotel Dubai, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
Dear Hasmadii

Thank you for taking the time to review us on TripAdvisor.

Your evaluation of our hotel and services was most appreciated and we thank you for the overall endorsement of our efforts. It is our mission to delight our guests every time and we are glad that we have succeeded in doing so. I have shared your feedback with the team.
I would appreciate if you could provide me further details in regards to your experience at stephan.kapek@tradershotel.com.

We hope to see you soon again.

Kind Regards
Stephan Kapek
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Traders Hotel Dubai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Traders Hotel Dubai

Address: Corner of Abu Baker Al Siddique & Salah Al Din Road, Dubai 81877, United Arab Emirates
Location: United Arab Emirates > Emirate of Dubai > Dubai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Best Value Hotel in Dubai
#41 Spa Hotel in Dubai
#63 Business Hotel in Dubai
#67 Romantic Hotel in Dubai
#68 Luxury Hotel in Dubai
#76 Top resorts Hotel in Dubai
#94 Family Hotel in Dubai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Traders Hotel Dubai 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just a 15 minutes drive from Dubai International Airport and 2 minutes from the Metro Station, this 4-star hotel offers spacious rooms with free Wi-Fi. A free shuttle to Al Mamzar Beach and Deira City Centre is provided. Rooms at Traders Hotel, Dubai by Shangri-La feature a stylish and modern décor. Each has a satellite TV and the private bathroom is stocked with luxury toiletries.International buffet dishes and menu specialties are served at The Junction. The Chameleon Bar offers live entertainment and 88 Ultra Lounge is an outdoor bar. A 24-hour room service is also available.Guests can work out at the gym or the indoor pool, and relax at the sauna and steam rooms. Massages are offered in private massage rooms.Abu Baker Al Siddique Metro Station is a 2 minute walk away. Dubai World Trade Center, the Dubai Mall and Burj Khalifa are a short drive away. There is also a tour desk, which can arrange car rentals.Hotel Rooms: 250Hotel Chain: Shangri-La Hotels & Resorts ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, Tingo, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA and Venere so you can book your Traders Hotel Dubai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dubai Traders Hotel
Traders Dubai

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Traders Hotel Dubai, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.