We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Shangri-La Hotel, Dubai

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Shangri-La Hotel, Dubai to your Saves list
Shangri-La Hotel, Dubai
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Sheikh Zayed Road | PO Box 75880, Dubai, United Arab Emirates   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #44 of 486 Hotels in Dubai
Geelong, Australia
1 review
“Fantastic place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

Perfect location, able to walk to the dubai mall, see the world's tallest building outside bedroom window. Metro train in walking distance to visit the palms, theme parks & zoo. Dessert sarfari and souks a musy visit

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShangriLaHotelDubai, General Manager at Shangri-La Hotel, Dubai, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review.

We are glad to hear that you were pleased with your stay at the hotel and particularly enjoyed the location of the hotel, which is indeed a regular comment we received from our valuable guests.

Thank you once again for your comments and we hope to see you soon again.

With kind regards,
Eric Mommejac
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

883 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    588
    203
    43
    16
    33
See reviews for
111
239
91
309
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (209)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

This is a first rate hotel the understands the meaning of quality. The staff are 100% focused on the needs of the customer. The food, staff, location and customer service were was excellent. We will definitely return.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShangriLaHotelDubai, General Manager at Shangri-La Hotel, Dubai, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your review and kind comments about our team members. The "Shangri-La experience" is very important to all of us and we always strive to give the best possible service to our valuable guests.

Thank you once again for staying with us and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

With kind regards,
Eric Mommejac
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

Great Hotel with excellent staff and facilities. In the heart of Sheikh Zayed Road. Easy access to many of Dubai's attractions. Trip was a combination of business and leisure. While I worked, my wife enjoyed the relaxation in the Spa and Salon.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShangriLaHotelDubai, General Manager at Shangri-La Hotel, Dubai, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to review us on TripAdvisor.

We are excited to know that you and your wife enjoyed your stay with us and especially our service and facilities. The location of the hotel indeed allows quick access to business areas and tourism attractions, being right opposite Dubai Mall, Burj Khalifa and DIFC.

Thank you once again for staying with us and we hope to welcome you soon again in Shangri-La Hotel, Dubai.

With kind regards,
Eric Mommejac
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

Good hotel with very good and smiling staff but expensive compared to other 5 star hotels. The capacity if the two bedroom is good and bathrooms are nice as well. There not enough towels though in baths



  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShangriLaHotelDubai, General Manager at Shangri-La Hotel, Dubai, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to write a new review.

We are pleased to read the cmments about our team members.

May I ask you to contact me on eric.mommejac@shangri-la.com before your next visit in order for us to assure your personal preferrences of additional towels are met.

With kind regards,
Eric Mommejac
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

Unfortunately this time there were a few problems. Upon entering my room for the first time after a long flight I found that my bathroom had not been cleaned. There was rubbish in the bin, a man had just shaved in the sink, there was hair lying around, old soap in the holder, etc. I had to wait 30 minutes for housekeeping to come and clean it before I could finally get to bed.
Next morning at breakfast, my bill was put on my table before I had even started, and then after returning to the buffet only the first time, I returned to my table to find it had been given to someone else!
Perhaps this all happened because it was Moslem New Year and they were very busy, because usually this hitel is a wonderful place to stay, and usually the service is great.
The hotel is still beautiful, rooms comfortable, and staff lovely. I just hooe these slip ups are a one off.

Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShangriLaHotelDubai, General Manager at Shangri-La Hotel, Dubai, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your review on TripAdvisor.

We always appreciate our guests comments on their experience with us. Please accept my appologies for the issues you experienced during your stay. I hope you can give us another opportunity soon to proof that indeed these slip ups are only a one off.

Please contact me directly via e-mail on eric.mommejac@shangri-la.com

With kind regards,
Eric Mommejac
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

Just spent 3 night in Dubai at the Shangri-la. Hotel is superb with fantastic staff who would go to any length to help. It was my wife's birthday and although I did not mention this, a superb birthday cake was delivered to the room compliments of the hotel which was a lovely touch. Great location only 5 minutes walk from metro station.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShangriLaHotelDubai, General Manager at Shangri-La Hotel, Dubai, responded to this review, November 2, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for posting your review about Shangri-La Hotel, Dubai on TripAdvisor.

We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and that our team looked after you especially on your wife's birthday.

Thank you once again for your nice feedback and we are looking forward to welcoming you back soon.

With kind regards,
Eric Mommejac
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daegu
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

We stayed at Shangri-la for 2 days in October. The rooms are exquisitely designed and among the top 3 I've stayed. I was pleasantly surprised that their electric outlets were designed to accommodate power sources from other regions. Our room had a nice view of the Dubai skyline and the sea. The hotel staff was very welcoming and helpful to our needs especially in securing a taxi and directions our destination. The hotel bar is nice, though you should make a reservation to ensure a table.

The only complaint is that the room lacked a iron and ironing board, though this could be be a characteristic of UAE hotels.

The hotel is within walking distance of a large supermarket (behind) and Starbucks/Tim Hortons (500m walk, turn left when exiting 1F front door).

Room Tip: - Higher floor is better to take in the skyline (buildings). - Reserve table in advance for bar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShangriLaHotelDubai, General Manager at Shangri-La Hotel, Dubai, responded to this review, November 2, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review us on TripAdvisor.

We are glad to hear that you had enjoyed your stay with us and were pleased with our welcoming staff.

We do not place iron and ironing boards in the room, however they will be brought to the room upon request. Please let us know next time you stay with us and we will make sure to note down your special request.

Thank you once again for choosing to stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back.

With kind regards,
Eric Mommejac
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Shangri-La Hotel, Dubai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La Hotel, Dubai

Address: Sheikh Zayed Road | PO Box 75880, Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Location: United Arab Emirates > Emirate of Dubai > Dubai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Romantic Hotel in Dubai
#30 Spa Hotel in Dubai
#33 Family Hotel in Dubai
#41 Luxury Hotel in Dubai
#41 Business Hotel in Dubai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Shangri-La Hotel, Dubai 5*
Number of rooms: 301
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located along Sheikh Zayed Road, Shangri-La Hotel, Dubai is just 15 minutes away from Dubai International Airport, and five minutes from the World Trade Centre, Dubai Convention Centre, Dubai Mall and downtown Burj Khalifa.The hotel comprises 302 spacious guestrooms and suites, including two floors of elegant Horizon Club accommodation. To meet the needs of the long-stay guests, the hotel also offers 126 serviced, furnished apartments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your Shangri-La Hotel, Dubai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri La Hotel Dubai
Shangri La Dubai

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shangri-La Hotel, Dubai, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.