We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a great hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Le Royal Meridien Beach Resort & Spa

Save Saved
You added Le Royal Meridien Beach Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Le Royal Meridien Beach Resort & Spa
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   Al Sofouh Road | P O Box 24970, Dubai 24970, United Arab Emirates   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 478 Hotels in Dubai
Saint-Cloud, France
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“What a great hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

I must say I'm impressed by the high standards of this family hotel. We stayed there 1 week in March and have spent great holidays. The location of the hotel is excellent, having an access to the sea which is not the cas for most hotels in Jumeirah. Lots of activities for children, restaurants... Staff is extremely friendly and service standard is high. Our room was very nice and extremely quiet.
Prices are high, but not incredible given Dubaï prices.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GHLRM, General Manager at Le Royal Meridien Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Dear Guest,



Thank you for posting your review on Trip Advisor.



We are delighted to know that you had enjoyed your overall stay and were pleased with the service and facilities at the hotel.



Your kind comments are greatly appreciated and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.



Kind Regards



Pam Wilby

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,403 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,762
    454
    131
    46
    10
See reviews for
876
1669
89
180
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (678)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013 via mobile

We were put up in the Deluxe Room with sea views in the Main Block which I believe was built around 1994 and now shows its age by dirty carpets, dirty bathroom and old everything else. After being taken to the room, we asked where the sea view was, we were told if one stood on the bed we could see the sea!
After refusing to take the room and much arguing @ the check in reception we were transferred to their Tower Block but had to pay an extra price.
This is their premier accommodation and certainly an improvement on the Main Block in which I wouldn't let my dog stay in. Never the less the Tower Block is now also showing its age with dirty carpets in the bedroom. It boasts of a butler service but in our 4 days of stay never saw one!
The only 5star facilities are the pool areas and some of the restaurants.
There is a lot of choice now in Dubai for hotels and if the Meridian doesn't start spending money on improvements then it will just a crap hotel for dodgy Russians and tattooed chavs who seem to be around the pool areas.

Finally don't fall for the so called 5 star deluxe rooms in the Main Block. If you have to stay here then only settle for the Tower Block.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GHLRM, General Manager at Le Royal Meridien Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 24, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on Trip Advisor.

We are sorry to hear that you were not fully pleased with the room standards at the hotel and would like to take this opportunity to inform you that as part of our continuing efforts to improve our facilities our Superior Deluxe rooms are going under refurbishment through the summer. However, please be assured that your valuable comments are positively taken onboard and has been shared with the concerned manager and the team accordingly.

On a more positive note, we are glad to hear that you had enjoyed the pool & beach facilities as well as the restaurants at the hotel.

Thank you once again for taking the time to write your review and we would very much appreciate the opportunity to welcome you back at Le Royal Meridien on your next visit to Dubai.

Kind Regards

Pam Wilby
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
336 reviews 336 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 86 cities Reviews in 86 cities
161 helpful votes 161 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

This is certainly a very good hotel as many of the reviews have stated. The service and gardens/pool areas are really excellent - in fact they cannot be faulted. There's a good Restaurant choice - we particularly liked Rhodes and the Al Khaima which is ouside in the lovely gardens.

We stayed in the Club Tower which has the big plus of it's own breakfast room and a lounge where they serve afternoon tea and pre dinner canapes/drinks. The quality is just outstanding and the service memorable.

So why only 4*???? The room we were allocated did not face the gardens with the great views that others have spoken about - despite us requesting in our booking form. Instead we had views of the road & a work area which are not as nice and suffer from noise due to early morning workers, traffic and a late night club further up the road. It still has a view of the beach plus the evening sun but it's definitely the poor side of the building. I also found room insulation to be a problem and could clearly hear people talking, tv's from the next room etc. To be fair the hotel did explain the hotel was full, offered us a change later in the week and left a bottle of sparkling wine.

So overall a very, very good hotel but bring you earplugs if you are light sleeper.

Room Tip: Go for the club tower with garden view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GHLRM, General Manager at Le Royal Meridien Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 24, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for posting your review on Trip Advisor.

It is a pleasure to read from your review you had enjoyed your recent stay with us and were pleased with the service and facilities at the hotel.

We are also glad to know that you liked the new club lounge and the benefits like the afternoon tea and pre dinner drinks.

With regards to the room, we are sorry that we were unable to allocate a room facing the pool side for you on this occasion and please accept our apologies for the any noise disturbance you had encountered.

Thank you once again for taking the time to share your feedback on Trip Advisor and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind Regards

Pam Wilby
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

I have stayed in this hotel every year since 2007 and each year it exceeds my expectations. The staff cannot do enough to make your stay wonderful. We arrived late at the hotel and our check in was done in the room so that we had the least amount of delay. In our room on arrival, they had placed towels in the fridge along with freshly made lemonade. After a 9 hour flight plus travel time, this was very welcome.
We always stay in the Royal Tower and this year guests of the Tower have afternoon tea and later cocktails plus canapes in what would have been originally Fusion Restaurant. The cocktail hour was fantastic, a chance to meet and chat with other guests whilst watching the sun going down.
This is a fantastic hotel and already we are looking forward to our return.

Room Tip: We stay in Royal Tower, the rooms are a little bigger than the main building, the bathroom has bath...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GHLRM, General Manager at Le Royal Meridien Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 24, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your comment on Trip Advisor.

It is a pleasure to read from your review you had enjoyed your recent stay with us and were pleased with the high level of service our Associates had provided you.

Your kind comments are truly appreciated and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind regards,

Pam Wilby
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zug, Switzerland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

The Royal Meridien is a somewhat older (by Dubai standards) establishment, but well maintained. Rooms are spacious (again, not sparkling new, but in good shape), the food (we only tried the Brasserie) is flawless, personnel is very helpful and friendly. Just as you would expect in a well-managed 5-star resort.

What is rather impressive is the pool/garden/park area, with big lawns and enough lounge chairs to accommodate the whole City of Dubai - an oasis of calm that forms quite a spectacular contrast with the surrounding skyscrapers. The beach itself is public (although there is a section reserved for the hotel), and from the hotel building to the sea shore it's a pleasant, but longish 400 m walk through the hotel park.

The kids' club is large, with generally well-preserved toys and a separate area for toddlers and a quite amazing separate climbing gym hall. What's missing is... kids: whenever we were there, we found two or three children watching TV or playing console games. There's also a rather generous outdoor playground, although it was closed throughout our stay due to construction work.

Overall: good 5-star hotel with beautiful surroundings; a little pricey.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GHLRM, General Manager at Le Royal Meridien Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 24, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for posting your review on Trip Advisor.

We are delighted to know that you had enjoyed your overall stay with us at Le Royal Meridien and were particularly pleased with the friendly service of our associates as well as with the outside facilities at the resort.

It was a pleasure to have you staying with us and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind Regards

Pam Wilby
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Top Contributor
135 reviews 135 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

This is an amazing resort. The service is top notch, the amenities complete, and the resort layout simply excellent. We were her for a wedding and the support staff were fantastic. Everyone is friendly, helpful and informative. It is great that it is family friendly, an adult's only resort can be restrictive. Excellent shuttle service to the Mall of the Emirates, with the Dubai Marina Mall just steps away. Needless to say travel between Oct and March to avoid the heat and humidity.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GHLRM, General Manager at Le Royal Meridien Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 24, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for posting your review on Trip Advisor.

It is a pleasure to know that you had enjoyed your recent stay with us and were pleased with the service and facilities available for our guests.

Thank you once again for taking the time to write your review and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind Regards

Pam Wilby
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Almaty, Kazakhstan
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

I loved my stay in Le royal meridien hotel. It was my first stay in a 5 star hotel. Starting from our check in we were offered refreshing drinks and then we were accompanied to the sea view room.
Everything was organized at the highest level, We enjoyed the breakfast at Brasserie and dinner which were included in our tour package. There is a free shuttle bus to the emirates mall, spa is also included to the package. I liked hammam very much. I would like to mention that my husband left his mobile phone near the pool and to our surprise the staff brought it back in the evening the same day. They really value their image. Another surprise was to get a birthday cake on the day of my birthday.
I hope to come back soon.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GHLRM, General Manager at Le Royal Meridien Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 24, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for posting your review on Trip Advisor.

We are delighted to hear that our team really looked after you from the time you arrived at the hotel throughout the stay. It was our pleasure to be able to celebrate your birthday with you and happy to hear that you both enjoyed the birthday amenities provided.

We look forward to welcoming you back again to the resort in the not too distant future.

Kind regards,

Pam Wilby
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Le Royal Meridien Beach Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Royal Meridien Beach Resort & Spa

Address: Al Sofouh Road | P O Box 24970, Dubai 24970, United Arab Emirates
Location: United Arab Emirates > Emirate of Dubai > Dubai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Dubai
#4 Family Hotel in Dubai
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Dubai
#5 Spa Hotel in Dubai
#6 Romantic Hotel in Dubai
#6 Luxury Hotel in Dubai
#28 Business Hotel in Dubai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Le Royal Meridien Beach Resort & Spa 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Le Royal Meridien Beach Resort & Spa Dubai is situated on a pristine stretch of private beach overlooking the Arabian Gulf and with 500 rooms, caters to every type of traveler. With 14 international restaurants and bars, the hotel offers guests the world on a plate. Caracalla, the hotel’s Spa & Health Club, is the ideal retreat for mind and body. The pool and beach facilities are heaven for sunbathers and joggers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Tingo, getaroom.com, Priceline and Venere so you can book your Le Royal Meridien Beach Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Royal Meridien Dubai
Royal Meridien Dubai
Meridien Dubai
Royal Meridian Dubai
Royal Meridian Hotel Dubai
Le Royal Meridien Beach Resort Dubai
Royal Meridien Hotel Dubai
Le Royal Meridien Hotel Dubai

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Royal Meridien Beach Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.