We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value when travelling with small children” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Le Meridien Mina Seyahi Beach Resort and Marina

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Le Meridien Mina Seyahi Beach Resort and Marina to your Saves list
Le Meridien Mina Seyahi Beach Resort and Marina
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   Al Sufouh Road | Po Box 213 084, Dubai, United Arab Emirates (The Marina)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #91 of 499 Hotels in Dubai
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Espoo, Finland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Good value when travelling with small children”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2009

Stayed for a week in April with two small children. Were able to stay in one room, which of course made a big difference in price compared to some of the hotels where we would have had to book two rooms.

I was happy with the overall quality of the hotel, including service. The rooms were smallish but in excellent condition. Outside areas were well kept and enjoyable, lots of pools and a large sandy beach which was "combed" every morning. The outside areas of the neighbouring hotel Westin Mina Seyahi were also accessible, which added to the choice of pools. The Westin was more expensive when I did the booking, otherwise would have stayed there as I preferred Westin's style (and it's a brand new hotel). But staying in Le Meridien you can enjoy also the restaurants of Westin, which were very good. I mostly hate buffet restaurants but Westin's was probably the best I've ever tried. For finer dining I recommend their Italian restaurant.

The crowd in Le Meridien (and Westin) was quite diverse: many business travelers, but also tourists from e.g. Russia, the UK and across Europe. Pools, the beach and play areas suited small children well, although I wasn't quite sure how good the water quality is in the sea as there is a yacht club next door and the construction of the artificial islands probably has had an impact as well. Speaking of construction, the closest island construction is too far for any noise to be heard from there, but the construction of the skyscrapers on the inland side of the hotel does produce some noise. I would only stay in a room with a sea view for this reason. You can hear the construction noise also outside, but it didn't bother us. We visited also the Royal Meridien, and I would say it suffers clearly more from construction noise.

While the hotel area is nice, and you can jog on the beach and the long pier of the yacht club, you can't really get from the hotel to anywhere by walking. Even "the Walk", area close by that has US style restaurants and shops, is in practice only accessible by taxis, at least when travelling with small children. But there are plenty of taxis and they are cheap (but seem surprisingly reliable). Downtown areas of Dubai has some interesting sites to see, but in general I recommend Dubai mainly for relaxing by the pool - and for shopping in the malls, which have many US and UK chains. For families with small children I also recommend visiting the many large parks Dubai has.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,052 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    622
    274
    92
    37
    27
See reviews for
259
442
29
88
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (242)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
GLASGOW
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2009

My partner and I stayed here for a week during Ramadan. Our room was a good size and we had a sea view but unfortunately no balcony. I think there are only a few rooms that do not have one. Staff are very attentive and came round every day to check if we needed any extra toiletries or water. The pool was closed but we had the use of all the Westin facilities next door. The pool guys would bring you buckets of ice if you wanted to take your own drinks down to the pool and they came round every now and again with cold towels which was great in the 40 degrees heat. We ate in Barasti twice and in Ciros the italian restaurant and found both to be good. There are plenty of sun beds at both the pool and the beach. No need to take towels as the hotel supply you with them.
They also give you 30 minutes free use of the computer in the business centre per day
I have always wanted to stay at Mina Seyahi and it did not disappoint me.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2009

We stayed at the Le Meridien Mina Seyahi at the back end of August for a few nights on the return journey of a holiday in Sri Lanka, unlike a few reviews I read before we travelled we found it very difficult to find any faults with this hotel at all. We were picked up at the airport by a private car and transferred in comfort to the resort, after a quick and pleasant check in we received our pre booked sea view room. We found the room modern, plush and not worn out what so ever, any person who thinks the hotel looks tired in any way must have been staying at a different hotel. Yes the Westin is newer and larger, with more pools, but when you take the number of extra rooms it has into account, you need this space to accomodate the extra guests. We found our room spacious with two very large king size beds, excellent A/C, a lovely view, large balcony and nice bathroom with quality products.

The reception areas are light and airy and well maintained, the main restaurant where you take breakfast and any other inclusive meals depending on what board basis, is a bistro type restaurant, We found this was more suited to breakfast, rather than for dinner, as it seemed a little low key and slightly canteenish to take dinner in, this is only a slight gripe and I would not let this put me off returning again to this hotel again, The food served on the other hand is of excellent quality for a buffet, it is served self service buffet style basis but many dishes are cooked fresh in front of you and the number of dish choices are endless, varying from Western to Middle Eastern and Oriental, all cooked to perfection, unlike many guests pork was also available at breakfast even in Ramadam when we visited. Drinks are on the pricey side like anywhere in Dubai but has many other people have pointed out, duty free is available at a reasonable price to take in with you, this is situated in the luggage reclaim, before customs and you can purchase wine, beer and spirits etc.

We found the pool area a little busy but still plenty of room to take a swim, most sun beds in the immediate pool area got filled quite quickly, but there was always plenty more available in the beautiful surrounding gardens and not too far from the pool. We actually spent our free time on the beach, this is pristeen, well maintained and always plenty of sun loungers, the sea is crystal clear and warm and the beach attendants like all the staff at the hotel go out of their way to make you feel welcome.

we took the free hotel shuttle to the both the Mall of the emirates (well worth visiting) and to the gold and diamond centre (not as well worth the visit unless you are looking for some thing specific) unfortunately due to the costs in Dubai rising and the low pound bargains are now hard to find.

All in all I can and will recommend this hotel, and I hope no body is put off by any poor reviews, as in my opinion these people are either talking rubbish or are total snobs. This was our first stay at this hotel (although we have stayed at other hotels in the Starwood Chain) but I can say it will not be our last, we are already planning our next holiday and wondering if we can include a return visit to the le Meridien mina Seyahi.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2009

My husband and I have just returned from a weeks stay at the Meridien Mina Seyahi and are looking forward to returning.
We arrived at 8am and had booked a Royal Club Seaview room. These are located on 8th and 9th floors although there are also two club rooms on each of the other floors as well. We took a room on the 1st floor as it was ready by 9.30am. I'd recommend booking a Club room as it pays for itself - airport transfers included, breakfast included in either the Club Lounge or Waves, afternoon tea and happy hour 7.30-9pm daily.
The room was spacious and spotlessly clean, balcony was a good size, bed was very comfortable. The hotel itself is smaller than most of the others in the area and also than its adjoining hotel The Westin. Whilst I loved how new and modern the Westin was I felt that Mina Seyahi had more of a personal touch.
The staff in the hotel were excellent and particularly Amu and Shilesh who looked after us in the Club Lounge. Two absolute gentlemen and they provided a really high level of customer service that was also noticed by others we spoke to. Romanu who collected us from the airport was also very helpful.
We ate in Barasti Bar - very good value we felt and good choice of food. We also ate in the Spice Emporium in the Westin - more expensive €140 for a meal inc some beers and wine. We didn't really like Busola's (an Italian out front of the Westin), choice of food wasn't great and was very overpriced. One tip if you are going to the restaurants - ask for the Westin bottled water or they automatically bring the more expensive one!
The pool in the Mina Seyahi was closed for the duration of our stay, whilst it would have been nice to have it open we had full use of the Westin facilities, less than 3 min walk. There were also golf carts on hand if you wanted them to bring you. Drinks service was excellent by the pool. Good variety of watersports also available, some free of charge which was great.
We stayed during Ramadan and would have no problem returning at this time of year. All in all, we will return to Dubai and will also be returning to Le Meridien Mina Seyahi.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
minaseyahi, General Manager at Le Meridien Mina Seyahi Beach Resort and Marina, responded to this review, September 22, 2009
Dear Dublinbride,

Thank you for choosing Le Meridien Mina Seyahi for your recent holiday - we're very happy to learn that your stay was enjoyable and we look forward to welcoming you back!

Sincerely,

Peter A.
General Manager, Complex
Le Meridien Mina Seyahi Beach Resort & Marina
The Westin Dubai Mina Seyahi Beach Resort & Marina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2009

Stayed at this hotel for 5 nights in September. Hotel is in a fab location right on Jumeriah beach. Beach was unbelievable, clear blue, warm sea and so still you could have been sitting in the bath! The hotel building is not vast, lobby area is fairly small with the Waves restaurant and small hotel bar. The rooms are spacious, but those at the front of the hotel do not have balconys - which was a shame.

We stayed on a halfboard basis which included breakfast and either lunch or dinner. Food was served in Waves restaurant and i felt this to be very dated and not much variety. Space around where the food was served was small, people walking on top of each other. Luckily we were told that you can switch your lunch to the "Westin Hotel" next door. Food here was superb, large, spacious dining room with so much choice.

Hotel also has the "Barasti" bar and Ciro Pomodoro restaurant. Both looked lovely but very quiet due to Ramadan.

Hotel has many watersports and i would reccomend the speed boat ride, about 700 dirham per boat (£125) for one hour. You go around The Palm and over to The Burj. Great trip and you can get a good tan..! Kyacking and canoeing where included in the price of your stay at the hotel.

Was dissapointed that when we got there the hotel pool ws shut for maintenance. We could use the hotel next door, which was very near but would have been nice to be advised by Virgin prior to our arrival.

Service was amazing, all staff were great and went out of their way to help you. Would def stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
minaseyahi, General Manager at Le Meridien Mina Seyahi Beach Resort and Marina, responded to this review, September 22, 2009
Dear Louferris,

Thank you for choosing Le Meridien Mina Seyahi for your recent Family holiday and for taking the time to share your experience with others on TripAdvisor. We're very pleased to learn that you had a memorable stay with us and hope to welcome you back in the future.

Sincerely,

Peter A.
General Manager, Complex
Le Meridien Mina Seyahi Beach Resort & Marina
The Westin Dubai Mina Seyahi Beach Resort & Marina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2009

I stayed at this hotel for a week at the start of September 2009. This hotel is very luxurious and offers a very high standard of service. Right from the start the staff were very helpfull. We arrived at the hotel at around 8 a.m. and had our room key by around 10 a.m. which was excellent considering the check-in time is at 3 p.m. In addition to this booking through Virgin Holidays meant that we had a complimentary breakfast when we arrived. The leisure and beach facilities are excellent - we had full access to the Westin hotel next door which had a great chilled pool which was just what we needed in the 41 degree heat during the day. Members of staff are always around the pool/beach for any needs you have - food, drinks, ice, towels, etc.. There were many bars and restaurants to choose from. The food is very reasonably priced however the alcohol at the hotel is extremely overpriced. As a comparison, we went to Bar Zar at the Madinat Jumeriah about 10 mins taxi ride away, and we had 5 pints of imported beer for about 80 Dhs. At the barasti bar at the hotel we had two Magners and this cost 90 Dhs. The Alcohol is a total rip off at the hotel and would recommend going elsewhere, however this was one of the only negatives of the week. The rooms are very clean and are a very high standard - would recommend paying a little extra for a sea view room which comes with a balcony. Staff are very friendly and accomodating. Very good value for money here, and would definetly recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
minaseyahi, General Manager at Le Meridien Mina Seyahi Beach Resort and Marina, responded to this review, September 22, 2009
Dear Jeheim737,

Thank you for choosing Le Meridien Mina Seyahi for your recent holiday in Dubai. We're very pleased to learn that you had an enjoyable stay with us and hope to welcome you back again in the future.

Sincerely,

Peter A.
General Manager, Complex
Le Meridien Mina Seyahi Beach Resort & Marina
The Westin Dubai Mina Seyahi Beach Resort & Marina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2009

My husband and I stayed for 10 nights in a seaview room. If you can afford it it really is worth it. Hotel very clean, staff were brilliant. Pool was far too hot for us so we decided to go to the beach which was a great result. Other point about the pool they were refurbishing it for 10 days from 5 -10 sept and we were not notified about this when we booked our vacation otherwise we may have gone elsewhere which would have been a pity. You could use the Westin next door which looked very pretty and had a lot of pools. On the beach however, there were hardly any children, blissfully quiet, relaxation. Perhaps this was that during Aug/Sept jellyfish are in the water. However they are pretty large and are blue in colour and are quite easily spotted and as I snorkled every day I could pretty much find them. In my 10 days I spotted two and had the lifeguard fish them out. It was so worth it snorkling there were so many shoals of fish and pertty large too. There is an area which is sectioned off so you shouldnt really swim outwith this and the lifeguards were always on hand. We visited during Ramadan and didnt find it a problem at all, in fact this is when I would visit in future, as apparently hotels are much cheaper. We dont have a problem with the alcohol restriction during the day, its far too hot for it. There was also no live entertainment but again we went out in the evenings as it was much cooler. We had half board in the hotel and it was invaluable, I really couldnt be bothered hunting around other hotels for dinner as you cannot walk anywhere and have to take a taxi and for me its too time consuming therefore the hotel was excellent. The food was out of this world it really was, the breakfast was light, delicate, you could have smoothies, pancakes, prawn dumplings (yes a little strange I know but they were wonderful) and as for dinner a great choice coupled with the wonderful works of art deserts, they were just heaven, many people were taking photos of them they were just devine. The only negative points being, the rooms are really not 5 star and I would say they need a refurb, although were spotlessly clean and very comfortable. We stayed in a Meridien Westin in the USA and it was out of this world, you couldnt fault it. The drink prices were very expensive, £3 for a bottle of water and let me tell you you really needed to drink loads. A nice gesture was complimentary small bottles in your room every day coupled with a daily newspaper, nice touch. Lots of watersports on the beach too - anything non motorised is completely free for Hotel guests. We took a taxi to the Gold Souk, the heat there was unbelievable in the eve, it must have been 100 degrees. Be prepared for a lot of hassle trying to sell you fake rolexes and bags, just ignore it if you can. I got my husband a lovely gold wedding band, platinum with diamonds and I had seen it in the UK for approx £1000, the shop were selling it for £800 but I bartered him down to £500 which I think was a bargain. The jewellery is dazzling. A taxi cost us £24 return. We also visited Ski Dubai, we are very keen skiiers and found this to be out of this world, Milton Keynes is garbage compared to this. The slope is huge and we got 2 hours for £30 and another hour thrown in free, we skiied till past midnight. Only downside is the clothing and equipment. Dubai is the richest country and yet the equipment was very poor quality and the boots looked years old. However saying that we would definately return to Dubai and to the Meridien.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
minaseyahi, General Manager at Le Meridien Mina Seyahi Beach Resort and Marina, responded to this review, September 22, 2009
Dear ScotlandCatriona,

Thank you for choosing Le Meridien Mina Seyahi for your holiday and for your detailed review of your experience. We're delighted that your stay with us was memorable and we look forward to welcoming you back, perhaps next Ramadan.

Sincerely,

Peter A.
General Manager, Complex
Le Meridien Mina Seyahi Beach Resort & Marina
The Westin Dubai Mina Seyahi Beach Resort & Marina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Le Meridien Mina Seyahi Beach Resort and Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Meridien Mina Seyahi Beach Resort and Marina

Address: Al Sufouh Road | Po Box 213 084, Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Location: United Arab Emirates > Emirate of Dubai > Dubai > The Marina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Top resorts Hotel in Dubai
#29 On the Beach Hotel in Dubai
#40 Spa Hotel in Dubai
#53 Family Hotel in Dubai
#57 Romantic Hotel in Dubai
#82 Luxury Hotel in Dubai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Le Meridien Mina Seyahi Beach Resort and Marina 5*
Number of rooms: 220
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly re-opened following a 10-month refurbishment, Le Meridien Mina Seyahi Beach Resort & Marina offers a luxurious getaway on Dubai’s famous Jumeirah Beach. Boasting 1200 metres of private beach, Le Meridien Mina Seyahi features several swimming pools, tennis courts and a gym. Le Meridien newly designed rooms offer a classic decor and are equipped with complimentary internet access, individually controlled air conditioning, satellite channels, an in-room safe, and a choice of panoramic views over the Arabian Sea or the buzzing city of Dubai. Among the services offered on the resort, a wide range of outdoor activities are featured, including a water sports centre, our Fitness Centre Club Mina, and younger guests can enjoy the Penguin Club which offers an activity programme, beach games as well as 2 separate kids’ pools. Le Meridien Mina Seyahi offers two distinctive new restaurant concepts, two bars and one lounge for a stimulating gourmet dining and drinking experience. Enjoy Barasti Beach Bar and explore a selection of cocktails, wines and spirits overlooking the Arabian Gulf. Latest Recipe draws on great dishes created internationally with innovative fare as well as comfort food re-imagined. Whatatsumi offers a relaxed Japanese atmosphere for your evening meal, while Latitude in the lobby offers perfect coffee drinks and snacks throughout the day. Located on the pristine shoreline of Jumeirah Beach this prime location is just a 10 minute drive away from world-famous Emirates Golf Club. Le Meridien Mina Seyahi Beach Resort & Marina is also in close proximity to various malls as well as the Marina walk and JBR where many favored restaurants and bars can be found. Le Meridien Mina Seyahi offers concierge services and an airport transfer service can be arranged at an additional fee upon request. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline and Asiatravel.com Holdings so you can book your Le Meridien Mina Seyahi Beach Resort and Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Meridien Mina Seyahi Beach Resort And Marina Hotel Dubai
Le Meridien Dubai
Dubai Le Meridien
Mina Seyahi
Le Meridien Mina Seyahi Dubai
Le Meridien Mina Seyahi Beach Resort & Marina

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Meridien Mina Seyahi Beach Resort and Marina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.