We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location. Decent Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Al Sondos Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Al Sondos Suites to your Saves list
Al Sondos Suites
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Street 32 Al Ittihad Road | Opposite Deira City Centre, Deira, Dubai 113562, United Arab Emirates   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #223 of 487 Hotels in Dubai
Praslin
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Good location. Decent Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2011

it was nice for a one day stopover. its near the Dubai City Center Mall which is great. Staff are friendly.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LMAlsondos, General Manager at Al Sondos Suites, responded to this review, September 25, 2011
Dear Guest,

Thankyou for sharing your feedback with us. Glad to know that you enjoyed your stay and our services. We look forward to you staying with us in the future & we assure you the best of our services.
Thank you & regards,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    57
    12
    6
    2
See reviews for
24
27
24
26
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2011

Really good hotel. I made a mistake with our booking, indicating that we'd like king singles (when we actually wanted a king bed). To 'make up' for the 'inconvenience' (as I said - totally my mistake when booking) they upgraded us to a beautiful suite. The only reason we probably won't stay here again is that next time we'll be in Dubai, our son will be old enough for some of the 'adventure' facilities (eg, waterslides) that this one doesn't have.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2011

Last stay was May 2011 being my second stay, my travel companion has stayed several times over the last six years. He, having stayed at other hotels near the ocean said they don't match this one to location and easy access to everything, I agree! Every suite that we have stayed in has been immaculate, queen bed, full size fridge/freezer, clothes washer/dryer, basic cooking facilities, flat screen TV etc. Free internet use in ground floor lobby off to the right and tour booking facilities available at reception. Breakfast choices are great, with wonderful service. Only a few minutes from the airport by taxi, very easy access. Walk across the road and you are at the metro train station and Deira City shopping arcade. Everything you need is in the arcade, restaurants, clothes, movies...the works! Can book the double decker hop on hop off bus from here, there were two lines when we did this in January 2010 and they are well worth it. Included in the ticket is the boat ride on Dubai Creek. Train stations are easy to buy tickets at, regular and fast service which gives you easy access to all the great malls. Can give advice on jewellery shops, malls and sites if interested.

Room Tip: Of the ten nights I alone have stayed I have never heard any noise from the rooms I have been in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2011

Stayed at the Al Sondos Suites in June for 5 nights.

I am struggling to believe all the other reviews. Did we stay at the same hotel? The reviews for Al Sondos indicated a good, excellent even hotel. Our experience was anything but.

Good points – The location of the hotel is right next to the entrance to the Deira City Centre metro station. It’s literately a 20 second walk from the hotel front door to the entrance of the metro which can get you to downtown Dubai in around 25/30 minutes.

We arrived at around 1pm and were proceeded to be checked in. During this process we were told that payment for our stay would be taken when we checked out and they needed to take my credit card details now, to guarantee our stay. I was a bit perplexed and explained that I had already paid through the website we had booked our stay with; I even had proof in the form of a confirmation email stating that payment had already been made. The staff member was very highly insistent that no payment had been received and he needed to take my credit card details. I was very dubious by this point, and they then proceeded to charge 2000 dirhams to my card. The hotel charge 200 dirhams as a pre payment in case you use the mini-bar or break anything during your stay (mostly everything seemed to be not working anyway in the room, so how you could break anything would be a challenge)

Then we were informed that the room which we had booked (executive suite non smoking) was no longer available and that the hotel would 'upgrade' us to a one bed roomed apartment but it would be a smoking room. How can a hotel take your booking for a non smoking room, reserve you that room, then when you check in announce that “Oh sorry, all off our non smoking rooms are full” This is beyond me.

Faced with no choice, I asked to see the room before I made any decision and was escorted up to check the room. I was given a very brief quick look around. There was no doubt that you could strongly smell smoke. From my quick two minute look around, I explained that the room would have to do as long as they did something about the smell.

Needless to say as other people have found when staying at this hotel, we found our room to be dirty (stains on the carpet, dirt on the floor, curtains hanging off the rail, the bathroom had a funny smell coming up from the pipes) things were missing from the kitchen (we had four forks, no spoons and one knife, an iron and no ironing board, dirty plates and work area). No plasma televisions either, it was old fashioned large one which some of the channels didn’t work on and the picture quality was terrible.

The room was a complete dump, it could have done with a coat of paint, all the furnishings were outdated and looked like they had came straight out of the 80’s, the room had a musty smell. The towels were very poor quality and had obviously been in one to many washes, the nice toiletries were the only good thing about the room! One pair of slippers and one bathrobe, yet the room was for two people? None of this is what I was expecting from a hotel associated with Le Meriden brand.

I complained first thing the next morning that the room had not met our expectations and was not in any way, shape or form 'clean' and was told that miraculously an non smoking room (the room we had originally booked and paid for) was now available! Why they couldn't have told us this the day before when we checked in, we still don't know as it would have saved the hassle of unpacking and then repacking again. We were then moved to a non smoking room which we were told would not be an upgraded room as we were upgraded to a bigger room yesterday as a goodwill gesture. This made no sense (YET AGAIN!) to me as it was the hotel who had caused us the inconvenience so why did we have to miss out?

We decided to look into the fact that we had a confirmation email confirming payment. Over the next few days this resulted in numerous phone calls to the UK trying to trace what had happened to our payment (all of these at my expense) and a lot of time spent dealing with the unhelpful front desk staff at the hotel who always seemed to have some sort of new excuse to try out on us. Talking to them was a waste of time. All of this took valuable time away from our trip to Dubai.

I confirmed what I originally explained to the hotel when we checked in that payment for our stay HAD been taken. The email confirmation which I had was dismissed by the front desk staff and they would not accept this as proof (despite the fact it was from the company with whom we booked the hotel), so upon their request I had to spend yet more, yes more time getting in touch with my bank in the UK, who sent proof from my bank statement to us, to show the hotel that money was taken from my account and was received into theirs.

We presented this to the hotel and we told in quite abrupt terms that “The accounts department is now closed for the day so it will be tomorrow at the earliest that we have an answer for you” Tomorrow morning came and went and still no information or communication from the hotel. That afternoon we had had enough, and stated that we were not leaving until the problem was sorted, the hotel agreed to destroy the authorisation payment which they had charged to my card and then provided me with proof that that had cancelled the transaction. They stated this was all they could do at this point and we would still have to wait to see if they could ‘find the payment' in their system.

By this point I was absolutely furious. If we hadn’t already paid for our stay in advance, I would have checked out there and then and went to another hotel.

We were now on day three of our trip and still the hotel had not done anything whatsoever to try and sort this out for us. We had to do all the chasing up and had to be constantly on their backs in order for us to get a resolution.

As a member for Starwood Preferred Guest, I decided enough was enough and I got straight onto their complaints department who were very helpful and said that they would personally email the hotel and ask them to get this mess sorted.

Within one hour of that email being sent, I received a phone call from the manager of the hotel who wanted to apologise for the trouble caused and said they had now cancelled the payment charged to my card and had also now strangely enough located the payment in their system which we made for the room. All this as soon as I involved their head office, yet no one at the hotel wanted anything to do with our problem before I went to their superiors. Isn’t that strange!

Then we were also shocked to receive a complimentary newspaper and fruit bowl each day after this from the hotel, even though before I took my complaint further, we didn’t receive any of these yet other rooms on our floor did!

The second room which we were moved to was also dirty, just as the first was. The curtains didn't close and we hanging off the rail, not to mention that they were heavily stained, the windows looked like they hadn't been cleaned in years and were covered in filth, the balcony was covered in a very thick layer of bird poo absolutely everywhere, some of the plugs and sockets were hanging dangerously off the wall with live wires exposed (no child could have gone near them). The TV remote didn’t work, some of the lights needed bulbs and the bed linen was only changed every three days. The bed sheets were visibly stained with marks as were the carpets and rugs. I have taken photos of all of the above so please take a look.

Please don't be fooled by the hotel pool either. It’s not on the roof top as previously mentioned, it’s located on the 1st floor of the hotel. Much like everything else in this hotel, the pool is also in a sorry states of affairs eg, tiles missing around the pool, dirty drains, cracked pavement tiles (both in and out of the pool). The man who is meant to be looking after the area and checking in/out guests, sat on his mobile phone all day and was never there at any point when I needed to ask for towels etc. Not only was the pool commandeered by young children mostly everyday, the pool guy seemed to think nothing of letting them jump, dive, shout, scream and splash everyone within the vicinity, even though there are signs everywhere saying 'no diving' etc, all this while standing around talking, laughing and joking with the fathers of the young children in Arabic. It’s probably more realistic to call the pool a kiddie’s pool, as the size of it (tiny) is just perfect for them to play around in. The experience in no way matches the photos on the hotel website.

There is also no free WiFi at the hotel. It’s only free to use in the hotel restaurant on the ground floor. You have to pay if you want to use it in your room.

I would NEVER EVER recommend this hotel. I can't understand all the other reviews of this place, although some of them seem to be slightly bias and seem to all follow along the same lines! Strange that eh?

Since arriving back in the UK, further investigation has uncovered that we don't seem to be the only ones who the hotel have tried to charge twice (it seems to be a recurring theme) and are far from the only people to complain about the standard of cleanliness. It been reported many times, it’s just a shame that Al Sondos haven’t taken any notice of what their guests have been saying. They seem to just be whitewashing all the blaring faults they have.

We stayed here after travelling around Asia for three weeks, staying at numerous hotels along the way. Our expectations were high due the Le Meriden name, however to spend one night staying here, is one to many.

The motto of our stay and to some up our time spend at the hotel seemed to be ‘not our problem’ which was the response we got from the hotel staff anytime we tried to sort out our many problems. Not only were they unhelpful, unfriendly and ill-equipped to deal and respond to our problems quickly and effectively, they were highly unprofessional on many occasions and could do with a lesson or two in customer service – the Le Meriden one at that.

To associate this hotel with Le Meridian is an insult. I have previously stayed at Le Meridian hotels and in no-way shape or form, does this hotel represent the usual standards of service which Le Meridian offer.

I can’t believe that Le Meriden put their name to this hotel. If only they’d visit they’d probably revoke it within 30 minutes of walking through the front door.

The final nail in the coffin for this hotel was when we were checking out and were presented with a bill for our stay. On it they had tried to charge us for a breakfast we had supposedly taken at the hotel the previous day. Not only did I refuse to sign the bill (our stay was already paid so no need), I also explained that how could we have had breakfast yesterday morning as at the time they were trying to say we were there eating at, we were sitting on the bus to Abu Dhabi. I’ve got to hand it to you Al Sondos, it was a nice try, but I had the time stamped bus tickets to prove that’s where we were.

And with that we checked out……if only we’d never checked in! Please don’t make the same mistake we did.

Room Tip: Don't stay at this hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Khartoum
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2011 via mobile

I loved it, nice place, clean, And very close to Dubai metro.

Try it and you will see :)

  • Stayed July 2010
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LMAlsondos, Management at Al Sondos Suites, responded to this review, August 10, 2011
Dear guest,
Thank you so much for your time and letting us know your feedback. We are quite happy to know that you loved the property. We look forward to seeing you here again.
Thank you once again, regards, Hotel Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muscat
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
78 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
209 helpful votes 209 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2011

I along with my family spent two days over a weekend at this perfectly located hotel in the heart of Dubai. The best and most convenient aspect of the location is Dubai Metro station which is just next door. Secondly Deira City Centre was across the road. We did not have to even walk a minute in the heat to take the trains or go across to the shopping mall. The service was also fairly efficient. We stayed in a one bedroom suite which was very clean and surprisingly quiet. The breakfast buffet was elaborate. What else one can expect when one is out shopping most of the time! Three cheers to Al Sondos Suites!

Room Tip: Go for one bedroom suite facing the service road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LMAlsondos, Management at Al Sondos Suites, responded to this review, August 10, 2011
Dear guest,
Many thanks for your response. We are extremely happy that you had a wonderful stay with us. The metro station in front of our hotel is like the favourite of almost all our guests and we are happy that you felt the same. We hope to see you again and we assure you the best of our services. Thanks & Regards,Hotel Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
American in Arabia
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2011

I had always wanted to try this hotel because of its proximity to the Metro and City Centre. The rates now are very competitive (Dh 350/$95). As an SPG Platinum member I was given a spacious 1-bedroom suite, which had a well-equipped kitchen, 1.5 baths and a separate bedroom with ample closet space.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LMAlsondos, Management at Al Sondos Suites, responded to this review, May 19, 2011
Dear Guest,
We are really pleased to know that you have tried our hotel and is happy with our suites and other accessories. The metro which is at our doorstep is a very convenient factor which all our guests really enjoy. Thankyou for sharing your thoughts with us. We look forward to seeing you soon. Thanks & Regards,Hotel Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Al Sondos Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Al Sondos Suites

Address: Street 32 Al Ittihad Road | Opposite Deira City Centre, Deira, Dubai 113562, United Arab Emirates
Location: United Arab Emirates > Emirate of Dubai > Dubai
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#84 Spa Hotel in Dubai
#170 Luxury Hotel in Dubai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Al Sondos Suites 5*
Number of rooms: 106
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Al Sondos Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Al Sondos Suites By Le Meridien Hotel Dubai
Meridien Al Sondos Hotel
Le Meridien Dubai
Dubai Le Meridien

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Al Sondos Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.