We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very friendly hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dusit Thani Dubai

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Dusit Thani Dubai to your Saves list
Dusit Thani Dubai
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   133 Sheikh Zayed Road, Dubai, United Arab Emirates   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Renovated Apartments
Ranked #96 of 499 Hotels in Dubai
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Write a Review

983 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    518
    307
    89
    36
    33
See reviews for
218
215
91
295
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (254)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Wales
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

Probably the poorest 5 star hotel I have stayed at in Dubai. Rooms need a refurb - the carpets and furniture were damaged. Nothing wrong with the place, but nothing that shone either. Very good staff but overall a bit of a disappointment.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DusitJamesWilson, General Manager at Dusit Thani Dubai, responded to this review, October 14, 2012
Dear Peterbredde,

Thank you for Trip Advisor review and kind comments on staff service.

Sorry to read that you are a bit disappointed about your stay. I am happy to inform you however that the hotel has already started the bedroom renovation and hopefully on your next visit you’ll be able to stay in one of our new rooms. We are however concerned about your comment on damaged furniture and carpet since we are very focused in maintaining our current room stock. We will attempt to trace your stay back from your email address in order to identify your room and conduct any required repairs.

Sincerely,

James Wilson
General Manager
Dusit Thani Dubai
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

On arrival we were offered cool Towels and a cool drink, check In was seamless, Luggage arrived within 5mins of us getting our Room. The room was spacious and well maintained, beds very comfortable, unfortunately after a lovely sleep we were awoken by Construction noise. We approached reception who immediately without fuss or debate shifted us to an Apartment which was unbelieveably spacious.The Staff and Concierge (nearly all Thai)are above average to the point of them anticipating what you are going to ask.Concierge (especially Rasheed) had great recognition and memory, excellent knowledge of excursions, sightseeing.A very nice in House Bar with a great Piano Player, Thai Restaurant and Entertainment were great.Roof Top Pool was great with amazing views. My Husband was keen to watch Cricket and Rugby League and the Staff found out where we could watch these. Definitely would stay there again. I have read some of the reviews stating dark and gloomy, this reflects the wood used widely in some Thai Hotels, think the renovations will remedy this.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DusitThaniDubai, Public Relations Manager at Dusit Thani Dubai, responded to this review, October 11, 2012
Sawasdee Krub Khun Sharyn,

Thank you for your comments on your recent stay with us. We are pleased that you enjoyed it and thank you for the recognition of our colleagues who take great pleasure in assisting our guests and providing to their every need.

As you mention the hotel is currently undergoing a light refurbishment and we have taken every measure to ensure there is limited disturbance to our guests with heavy work only taking place between the hours of 10am and 7pm during the week and starting later at the weekends.

Rey, our resident pianist is a great entertainer and also performs on a Friday on the 24th floor during Brunch. Thank you for your review on Benjarong and our roof top pool also. The hotel’s location means that it does offer great and undisturbed views of Dubai’s skyline.

Thank you again and we look forward to welcoming you back to Dubai.

Khob Khun Krub
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012 via mobile

Excellent service and spacious rooms. They are busy upgrading floor by floor and I wish I could see the end result when they are done. Food on the executive floor was more than "snacks" and we didn't need to have supper anywhere else.. Comfy bed and quiet rooms:)

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
DusitThaniDubai, Public Relations Manager at Dusit Thani Dubai, responded to this review, October 11, 2012
Sawsadee Krub Khun Elainy,

Thank you for sharing your experience with us. You will be pleased to hear that our first 80 new rooms are to be complete by the end of October 2012, so you will have to come and visit us again soon. I trust you will really like the new look and feel of the rooms.

Our executive lounge does offer an ample array of snacks throughout the day and we are pleased that you enjoyed the selection.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Dusit Thani Dubai.

Khob Khun Krub.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

I booked this hotel because of the design and I was hoping to get some good Thai food. I got neither. The design of the hotel makes the noise carry to the upper floors. So does the smell from the restaurant. The elevators are slow and the service is poor. To use the safe in the room you have to use a credit card to open and close the safe. Well I want to use the safe to store my credit card. The rooms are small and outdate even on the executive floor. I called for a porter. Before the porter came the man for the minibar came to check the inventory. Then I could not get my safe open. I called the front desk for maintenance three times within thirty minutes. Now I am late. The men come in run my credit card through the safe and smile. I said open the safe. The safe would not open. They had to take it apart to open it. More wasted time. They wanted me to sign their work order I said I would discuss with the manager. They insisted and would not leave the room. I tried to close the door and they blocked it open. Needless to say as a single female I was frighten. The manager only offered to comp my overpriced dinner from the night before. No thanks. Never staying there again.

Room Tip: Stay at another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DusitJamesWilson, General Manager at Dusit Thani Dubai, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
Dear Daxiz,

Thank you for taking time to write your entry in tripadvisor.
From the comments you have submitted we note you experienced a few problems in relation to the locking of your in room safe and in getting the safe opened on departure. We are sorry to read this and for the complications you experienced while retrieving your valuables. No one should leave the hotel feeling upset and we apologize that this was the case

We have traced only one incident regarding a bedroom safe not opening. This was for a female guest and the incident occurred late September. We believe this is the incident you are referring to. At this time an engineer was called to attend. According to our computerized “work time” system, attendance by both engineering and a security officer took 13 minutes and to open the safe box and complete the work took an additional 5 minutes.
In the unlikely event an in room safe will not open (and any coded card with a magnetic strip can be used in the bedroom safe, not only credit cards), a guests will be asked to sign a work order. We require guest acknowledgement on this order to confirm that the safe was opened in their presence, to avoid any concerns on missing items. When staff need to enter guest rooms either for maintenance, room service or housekeeping the door needs to be wedged or blocked open, during the time they are in the room with the guest. This is hotel policy. Staff are not permitted to enter a room or be in a room with a guest while the bedroom door is closed for the mutual welfare of both staff and guests. We are sorry the implementation of this procedure frightened you. Perhaps you were only aware of this as they departed from your room.

We do serve a very popular Friday brunch on the 24th floor atrium area. It is possible that some food smells could travel into the atrium space between 12 noon and 4pm on Friday. Since most guests are out at this time, we have not received any comment on this before. Thank you for letting us know.

We also note you mentioned the rooms are old and small. The hotel is 11 years old and for Dubai city hotels our rooms tend to be on the larger size and although maintained well, we are now in the process of upgrading and renovating. Our first 80 new rooms being complete end of October 2012.

We do hope you would reconsider staying with us once these are complete.

Yours sincerely,

James R Wilson
General Manager
Dusit Thani Dubai
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Aust
Top Contributor
132 reviews 132 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

We booked a triple room for 3 adults. Our room was beautiful, spacious, 2 separate bedrooms, full size kitchen, dining, lounge. Large modern bathroom in main bedroom plus extra toilet with washing machine. We chose not to have breakfast included in our room rate as we thought it was too expensive at AED129 (approx $35 Aust dollars per person) We had breakfast each morning at the 24 hour "Dusit delicatessen" in the foyer. Their prices were very reasonable and there was a good range of food to choose from. We actually ate there often and were never disappointed. The hotel is was just across the road from Dubai Mall, but because of the heat (and the eight lanes of traffic), I would recommend getting a taxi for about AED10 (or $3). Staff were very polite and helpful.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DusitThaniDubai, Public Relations Manager at Dusit Thani Dubai, responded to this review, October 7, 2012
Sawasdee Krub Khun Sue,

Thank you for sharing your review and your pictures of your recent stay with Dusit Thani Dubai. We are pleased you enjoyed your time with us. Our two bedroom suites do offer a number of added benefits, including the separate lounge and kitchen facilities.

The breakfast buffet served in The Californian offers an array of dishes from traditional continental, Asian and Arabic with a live eggs counter ensuring that you have your breakfast the way you like it in the morning. Our team regularly checks our pricing with our competitors to ensure we are offering value to our guests.

Thank you for your comments on Deli. As you mention it is open 24 hours a day and the breakfast selection along with the fresh fruit smoothies are firm favourites.

Dubai Mall is easily accessible from the hotel, but as you mention during the hotter months it is advisable to use a taxi or the complimentary shuttle services provided by the hotel.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel.

Khob Khun Krub.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012 via mobile

Stayed in the hotel from Sept 15-19. Was upgraded to a suite room which, expectedly, was larger than a standard room. The rooms look dark and tired though. The hotel needs to undergo a renovation. The service staff at the entrance deserve commendation. They are quick to assist the guests in getting a cab or to just greet them a good day. The hotel may seem near to the Dubai Mall but it is located in a very inconvenient area such that a far U-turn is necessary before one reaches the mall or comes back to the hotel. Taxi fare to/from Dubai Mall ranges from AED 12-15. Yes, there are shuttle buses provided by the hotel but they are too few and one who is on an action-packed vacation sked will find the sked out of the way. I find its hotel rate too pricey for all this.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DusitJamesWilson, General Manager at Dusit Thani Dubai, responded to this review, October 3, 2012
Dear FMD88528,

Thank you for your entry in Trip Advisor and for your kind comment on the hotel service. Our rooms are on a large size with current décor of rich mahogany wood, dark carpeting and drapes, which may not appeal to all taste. I am happy to inform you that we are currently going through a renovation introducing a lighter décor into the rooms and 25% of the room inventory will be finished by the end of October 2012.

The hotel is situated close to Dubai Mall and because of one-way systems in Dubai, it will take an average 10-12 minutes by taxi or shuttle. Because of our close proximity, we have a fantastic view on one side of Burj Khalifa (tallest tower in the world) and Dubai city skyline. We do run a schedule service of free shuttle bus to the mall based upon the peak requirement periods throughout the day.

I am sorry to hear you felt the hotel was too pricey, since it’s our endeavor to offer both quality and value for money and we regularly check competitors’ pricing to ensure our pricing is fair.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel and to our newly renovated rooms at some point in not so distant future.

Kind regards,

James Wilson
General Manager
Dusit Thani Dubai
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Dusit Thani Dubai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dusit Thani Dubai

Address: 133 Sheikh Zayed Road, Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Phone Number:
Location: United Arab Emirates > Emirate of Dubai > Dubai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#44 Business Hotel in Dubai
#64 Romantic Hotel in Dubai
#87 Luxury Hotel in Dubai
#103 Family Hotel in Dubai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Dusit Thani Dubai 5*
Number of rooms: 321
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dusit Thani Dubai hotel combines the latest in luxury amenities with traditional Thai hospitality in all 321 superbly furnished rooms and suites providing the comforts expected of a luxurious international five star hotel.The Dusit Club Rooms and Dusit Grand Rooms are supported by the Dusit Club Lounge and offer additional facilities including complimentary breakfast, complimentary afternoon tea, non-alcoholic beverages all day, butler services, pressing and laundry facilities and limousine airport transfers.Seven food and beverage outlets offer a superb choice of dining options from Italian to Thai and the signature restaurant Benjarong is the first specialty restaurant to bring Royal Thai Cuisine to Dubai. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Hotel.de, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Odigeo and getaroom.com so you can book your Dusit Thani Dubai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dusit Thani Dubai Hotel Dubai
Dusit Thani Hotel Dubai
Dusit Dubai
Dubai Dusit Thani Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dusit Thani Dubai, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.