We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old hotel but decent breakfast included” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Downtown Dubai

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Downtown Dubai to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Downtown Dubai
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Al Rigga rd, Dubai 29499, United Arab Emirates   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #283 of 486 Hotels in Dubai
Manila, Philippines
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Old hotel but decent breakfast included”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

This is not a new fresh Holiday Inn, Quite old, usual smells of an old hotel.
Room was ok for 2 nights stay, IF longer would prefer a newer hotel like the Ibis just 300 meters down the road.
Decent TV channel list. Movies, news, Nat Geo, Disc.
Aircon works well.
Bathroom dated, but is clean.
Good 24 hour room service menu, was surprised at the choice compared to similar hotels menus.
Breakfast was included, was good enough to fill you up. Plenty of choice for a standard brekky. Its not 5 star so don't expect pancakes made at your table. But the food was hot, fresh, not overdone or burnt, and the service was good.
IF you are in town for a 2 day biz trip and want to be near the airport, less then 20 AED fare, then this is ok. There are some good restaurants nearby, an English fish n chip place to, which is ok, not great but ok.

Would stay again if I was on a 2 day trip. PRice was very good for what we got. AED 400 per night including tax. Tax is quite high for this town for hotels.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Downtown Dubai, responded to this review, July 4, 2013
Dear Pjcstone,

Thank you for taking the time to write us a review regarding your recent stay. Please accept my apologies for falling short of your expectations on some aspects of your stay. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas and take the necessary actions to ensure similar situations can be avoided in the future. We appreciate the candid feedback we receive and welcome any opportunity to improve.

Sincerely,

Karen G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

231 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    58
    64
    34
    26
See reviews for
26
46
37
65
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Beirut
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

Just back from Dubai 3 days ago my Stay was for 3 nights at Holiday inn Down Town Deira Dubai, is a good Location for the People need be there in Down Town Deira, 15-20 minutes in car to Dubai Mall ,Burg Khalifah & Sheikh Zayed .. the Team not bad try to give the Maximum services to their guests , I booked Standard Double Room they Up grade it to Executive room (for a special services), rates is acceptabel if you have a business and you spend your time out . as for furniture is old need to renewal ... hope next time will be better as a Holiday Inn Hotel...!!!!!!
Nayla

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Downtown Dubai, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Dear nayla e,

We strive to give great and impressive service to all of our guests and it makes us happy to read we exceeded your expectations. We look forward to welcoming you back to our establishment. Once again thank you for the wonderful and kind words of praise.

Sincerely,

Orlando A.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

The location of the hotel is just around the corner from the metro. The metro is just a few stops from the airport (7 minutes), and about 9 stops (15 min) from the Dubai Mall & tallest building in the world. Didn't interact a whole lot with the staff, but those that I did see were friendly. The room was a little worn. There were a couple cigarette burns in the carpet, and it smelled slightly of smoke (despite being a non-smoking room). However, wasn't in the room that much but to sleep. I'm on the fence if I would go back. I'm hoping my room was an exception to the norm...and I did like the location.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Downtown Dubai, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Dear William S,

Thank you for staying with us and providing us with your valuable feedback. We are delighted our location suited you well. Please accept our sincere apologies for the shortcomings you experienced during your stay and we regret the room you received did not live up to your expectations. Rest assured that your comments will be reviewed by our team and take actions accordingly.

Once again, we appreciate your feedback and hope that you'll give us a chance to serve you again in the future.

Sincerely,

Joel B
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo, Egypt
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

Excellent stay, All the Staff and Management team were very friendly and helpfull. Excellent Housekeeping and Cleaning services, the intire area and rooms are well kept and in tip top. . very good location and value for money. defenitly i will come back to this hotel as far as I'm in Dubai. Thank you all for the excellent service delivered.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rafiek A, Manager at Holiday Inn Downtown Dubai, responded to this review, July 6, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for your recent correspondence regarding Holiday Inn Downtown team and . We appreciate you taking the time to make us aware of your delightful experience during your recent stay.
We are always pleased to receive praise and acknowledgment of such a positive nature. It is truly rewarding when a guest recognizes our staff’s efforts and takes the time to say thank you. Your comments will be shared with our entire staff, as reinforcement to continue their efforts to make Holiday Inn Downtown Dubai a leader in excellence.
Once again, thank you for your thoughtful comments. We look forward to the opportunity of serving you in the future. Thank you for choosing IHG.

Rafik Abou El Fadl
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornwall
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

The quality of service at the hotel is very good. Only problem with the entire stay was the noise from the noisy club in the hotel that kept on going till 3 am. This is not a brilliant situation when you have to be up early or are recovering from a long flight.

I would probably stay at another hotel in Dubai given the chance next time I'm there

Room Tip: Pick a room high up in the hotel away from the noise of the club
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIDUBDT, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Downtown Dubai, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Dear taylor_r_j,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your stay with us. Please accept our sincere apology for the overall dissatisfaction you experienced during your stay because of the noise from the nightclubs.

Based on the feedback from our guests, we have already started soundproofing the night club floor. This would ensure that our guests do not get disturbed by the noise from the clubs.

We are also delighted to learn that you found the service & staff of the hotel up to your expectations.

Thank you very much for taking the time to review our hotel and we hope that you would continue to choose IHG for your future lodging needs.

Sincerely,

Jatin Singh
Front office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

The staff and in particular the manager was very friendly indeed and helpful. Good location and value for money. After a long sleepless night flight, on arrival at the hotel, the manager allocated me a room (early check-in with breakfast). The water spray in the bathroom started leaking, flooded the bathroom floor. The A/C was not working. It was repaired promptly. Towels definitely need an "upgraded", they looked worn out and small. My "standard" room (4th floor) and its carpet both looked "tired and worn out".

The horror story began at night when I went to bed just when loud music started playing. I thought it might be a party which would end soon. At around midnight I went looking for the source of this extreme loud music. To my surprise found there were 3 joints/night clubs one at each floor (01st/02nd and 3rd floor). I asked them when the music will stop - "Sir, we close at 3 am". Nothing I could do, so went to the room to try get some sleep. I wasn't able fall asleep till about 3.30 am. Next day I complained about this, as nowhere was it mentioned about these three night clubs within the hotel when booking this hotel on hotels.com. The manager apologized and transferred my room to the 7th floor(club room) and offered free WiFi.

Fortunately he transferred my room onto the 07th floor and that too on the other side of the hotel, where I found the room to be fresher comparatively and did not hear the noise at night.

The hotel needs modernization to bring it in good standard with many of the holiday inn's in many other cities. The night clubs definitely need to go.

Room Tip: Check with hotel about the room being allocated before booking. The noise will not let you sleep!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIDUBDT, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Downtown Dubai, responded to this review, March 30, 2013
Dear Shreyas S,

Thank you for your comments regarding your experience during your recent stay.

I greatly appreciate you taking the time to bring this matter to my attention and apologize for any inconvenience you may have experienced due to the condition of the rooms & the towels. I would also regret the fact that you were disturbed by the music from the night clubs late at night.

Based on the feedback from our guests, we have already ordered a fresh stock of towels and are also in the process of the soundproofing the night club floor.

The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas and take the necessary actions to ensure similar situations can be avoided in the future.

We appreciate the candid feedback we receive and welcome any opportunity to improve.

Once again, we appreciate you taking the time to share your comments with us. We know you have many choices when it comes to lodging and we hope you will continue to choose Holiday Inn for your future travel needs.

Sincerely,

Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo, Egypt
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

excellent Stay, Friendly Staff, much better room cleaning this is the second stay for me at the hotel the room cleaning is much better as well the staff performance improved, the service at the restaurant is ok, the hotel location is one of the advantages easy reachable, simply I will back to this hotel

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIDUBDT, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Downtown Dubai, responded to this review, March 30, 2013
Dear Mohamed N,

We are thankful to you for taking the time out to review our hotel and share your experience.

We appreciate all feedback we receive from our guests and welcome any opportunity to improve.

Once again thank you very much to post your comments. We hope we will be able to welcome you again top Holiday inn Downtown on your next trip to Dubai.

Sincerely,

Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Downtown Dubai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Downtown Dubai

Address: Al Rigga rd, Dubai 29499, United Arab Emirates
Phone Number:
Location: United Arab Emirates > Emirate of Dubai > Dubai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#205 Luxury Hotel in Dubai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Downtown Dubai 4*
Number of rooms: 139
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Downtown Dubai has an excellent location only 10 minutes drive from Dubai International Airport and Dubai International Convention / Exhibition Centre on Sheikh Zayed Road. Also, it is within close proximity from the Dubai Creek , Dubai Museum, the famed Gold & Spice Souks as well as the modern shopping mall, City Centre. The four star hotel is ideal for both business and leisure guests featuring 139 newly renovated rooms equipped with high-speed internet access and 32 LCD TV. Other facilities include an outdoor rooftop swimming pool, gym, sauna and steam room. The Bistro restaurant, lounge and bar offer tempting dishes from around the world including themed nights and the famous Holiday Inn Breakfast. 24 hour room service is also available. For business meetings, the hotel has two meeting rooms with natural daylight that can accommodate up to 80 people. Executive room rates include complimentary high-speed internet access in the rooms, and breakfast. Other famous attractions in Dubai include the Burj Al Arab, Mall of the Emirates, Ski Dubai, and Wild Wadi which are all within a 30 minute drive. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Downtown Dubai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Downtown Dubai Hotel Dubai
Holiday Inn Dubai
Dubai Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Downtown Dubai, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.