We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The worst food experience in Dubai” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Carnevale

Carnevale
Jumeirah Beach Hotel | 1st Floor, Jumeirah Beach Hotel, Dubai 04, United Arab Emirates
+971 4 406 8999
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #68 of 5,572 Restaurants in Dubai
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $50 - $100
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Delivery, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Carnevale - Savour the flavours of Italy Carnevale's Italian restaurant in Dubai brings the rich flavours and scents of Italy to Jumeirah Beach Hotel. A genuine passion for authentic Italian cuisine makes Carnevale an exciting culinary destination. A beautifully considered menu at our unique Italian restaurant in Dubai offers timeless and sophisticated Italian options, generously complemented by an extensive selection of wines and spirits. Choose from bold reds and fresh whites, aperitifs and liqueurs. An evening at Carnevale restaurant offers all the charm and warm sociability you might find in a bustling Milanese Tratorria or Roman cafe. Yet the view beyond is unique to Carnevale. The awe-inspiring Burj Al Arab, tranquil gardens and eye-catching marina collectively complete a perfect dining experience.
Yekaterinburg, Russia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“The worst food experience in Dubai”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2014

We stayed in JBH. The dinner was awful: Caprese salade with a very spesific taste of mozarella (good one has no it at all!!), sea bass and sole (by the way we expected a piece of Turbo but the menu translation into Russian appeared to be wrong) were over salted and with a lot of spices. As everybody now a lot of salt and spices are used for the preparation of the food of a not very high quality.Especially when cooking seafood. I'm sure that I would write in the management's answer that that was a chef's great idea and etc. Nothing common with the average good Italian cuisine and with good restaurant. The waiters were friendly and polite but as to me I go to the restaurant to taste a good food first of all and then for the good service))

  • Visited March 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
401peterf, Manager at Carnevale, responded to this review, April 21, 2014
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Jumeirah Beach Hotel.

Thank you for taking the time to post your review regarding your recent visit to Carnevale Restaurant. Along with my team, I sincerely apologies for the inconvenience you may have experienced in respect to food.
At Jumeirah beach Hotel we take pride in ensuring our customer’s satisfaction. Unfortunately, we did not meet your expectations. As a testament to our strive for perfection, we have taken steps to ensure that this will never happen again.
Thank you once again for posting a review of Carnevale on Trip Advisor. It was a pleasure to have you as our guest and we hope to see you again soon.

Sincerely,

Peter Fernandes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

249 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    176
    45
    20
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Best Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2014

An amazing experience at this beautiful restaurant. We were seated at the terrace overlooking the breathtaking sea and marvelous Burj Al Arab. Complementing with the best service and Delicious food. You should try the Tiger Prawns with spaghetti and the Veal ravioli, not forgetting the best Tiramisu and chocolate fondant.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
401peterf, Manager at Carnevale, responded to this review, April 21, 2014
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Jumeirah Beach Hotel.

Thank you for taking the time to post a wonderful review regarding your recent visit to Carnevale Restaurant. Along with my team, I sincerely appreciate your positive comments and am glad that you enjoyed our food and service.

Thank you once again for posting a review of Carnevale on Trip Advisor. It was a pleasure to have you as our guest and we hope to see you again soon.

Sincerely,

Peter Fernandes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“So good we visited twice......”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2014

Super meal on the terrace with the sound of the sea in the background. Excellent service with a good choice on the menu. Highly recommend the chocolate fondant pudding!!!

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
401peterf, Manager at Carnevale, responded to this review, March 28, 2014
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Jumeirah Beach Hotel.

Thank you for taking the time to post a wonderful review regarding your recent visit to Carnevale Restaurant. Along with my team, I sincerely appreciate your positive comments and am glad that you enjoyed our food and service.

Thank you once again for posting a review of Carnevale on Trip Advisor. It was a pleasure to have you as our guest and we hope to see you again soon.

Sincerely,

Peter Fernandes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex, UK
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“great food and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014

we ate here the first night we arrived at the Jumeirah Beach Hotel without a booking. We were on the half board and could not believe the three course meal we got for nothing! Great Italian food and lovely surroundings

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
401peterf, Manager at Carnevale, responded to this review, March 24, 2014
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Jumeirah Beach Hotel.

Thank you for taking the time to post a wonderful review regarding your recent visit to Carnevale Restaurant. Along with my team, I sincerely appreciate your positive comments and am glad that you enjoyed our food and service.

Thank you once again for posting a review of Carnevale on Trip Advisor. It was a pleasure to have you as our guest and we hope to see you again soon.

Sincerely,

Peter Fernandes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
“Trust me: it's will worth it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014

Carnevale is a true Italian hotspot restaurant on the first floor or JBH. The place looks classy enough, without excess. The view from the terrace is great, with the Burj Al Arab on sight. The service is impeccable. Well trained staff, gentle and accommodating. The only reason I have not yet mentioned the food, if that it needs no description... Only deserves to be tried! We had gorgonzola and pear, taleggio and mushrooms and beef carpaccio as starters, fresh home made ravioli and the roasted baby chicken as mains. Chocolate fondant and tiramisu for dessert. Everything timely served and well presented. I can only recommend Carnevale to anyone looking for a good Italian restaurant in the mid-high range...

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
401peterf, Manager at Carnevale, responded to this review, March 24, 2014
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Jumeirah Beach Hotel.

Thank you for taking the time to post a wonderful review regarding your recent visit to Carnevale Restaurant. Along with my team, I sincerely appreciate your positive comments and am glad that you enjoyed our food and service.

Thank you once again for posting a review of Carnevale on Trip Advisor. It was a pleasure to have you as our guest and we hope to see you again soon.

Sincerely,

Peter Fernandes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Carnevale also viewed

Dubai, Emirate of Dubai
Dubai, Emirate of Dubai
 

Been to Carnevale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Carnevale, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.