We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“return visit was pleasantly surprised” 4 of 5 stars
Review of West 14th New York Grill and Bar

West 14th New York Grill and Bar
At the Oceana Beach Club on The Palm Jumeirah, Dubai, United Arab Emirates
+971-4-447-7601
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #213 of 5,571 Restaurants in Dubai
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Steakhouse
Dining options: Breakfast, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“return visit was pleasantly surprised”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

returned to the West 14 last week.
The steaks as usual were excellent.
The service was extremely good, the minute they sensed you needed something, they were very quickly there.

I am not sure if it was because of July the 4th (Independence Day) but they had an additional singer compared to our last visit.

Great voice, great soul tracks, a very pleasant evening

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael N, General Manager at West 14th New York Grill and Bar, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your fantastic review on your experience at West 14th.
I was extremely pleased to read you enjoyed your visit to such extent, especially the service our team provided, the meat quality we offer and of course our live entertainment options.
We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Best Regards,
Michael Nugent
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

229 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    111
    71
    23
    10
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“good steakhouse but not outstanding”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

Its a decent place, would recommend it if you live on the palm maybe marina but coming here for steak from DIFC/downtown doesnt worth it. I tried 2 ribeyes which were good but far from goodmans london quality.

about the meat:
- AVOID THE TOMAHAWK. it looks nice and it is definitely bigger than 500g but either the meat quality is inadequate or their oven is too weak for it
- ribeyes: i tried both and this is what i recommend though 300g is not ribeye size. its way too thin (its a big problem is steakhouses) and could be more flavourful, USDA prime is my favourite cut and i think the problem is that its very thin. if they would increase the thickness and the size to 400-500g it might be significantly better
- even if they have josper oven which i doubt it is not utilized properly. the outside of the meat should be crispy.


pros:
- wines are reasonably priced and they have a nice selection (meerlust rubicon FTW)
- service is very good
- interior is nice, the views towards the marina are stunning
- the live performance during the night is an absolute hit
- starters are fine, we didnt try deserts

cons:
- meat is very good but not outstanding

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael N, General Manager at West 14th New York Grill and Bar, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your review on Tripadvisor.
I was very pleased to read you enjoyed your visit, especially the wine selection, our daily entertainment and our view overlooking the Marina. I will make sure to share your comments with the team in regards to the level of service they provided you with.
I have your reviewed your feedback regarding our meat selection with our head chef and would like to ask you to send us an email to social.ibnbattuta@moevenpick.com as I would like for our team to contact you in regards to the points you have made.
We look forward to welcoming you back at West 14th soon.
Best Regards,
Michael Nugent
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Mixed feelings”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

The place has quickly become an institution on the Palm Jumeirah and is quite unique in its concept; being somewhat of a blend between a beach café and an slightly upscale restaurant serving mainly decent food. The atmosphere, at least during daytime, is reminiscent of a holiday on the beach. Beach loungers and tables are side by side outside, as people are enjoying the sun or the food and smoking shishas and cigars in a beach-like setting. The crowd is international and so is the food. The latter is of very good quality and for the place, reasonably priced but not cheap. The service was overall good and friendly but somewhat confused and a bit slow. It took the waiters 35 minutes to bring our bottle of water, which was shortly followed by half of the food order. After the food came, we had to ask for cutlery. The ketchup arrived shortly after we had finished our meal. Blame it on the huge number of guests, because the staff were obviously making a huge effort to cope. Conclusion: if you're close to Palm Jumeirah and want to enjoy good food or catch up with some friends (almost) by the beach in a holiday-like setting and don't care about time passing, then this is the place to go. Haven't see what it's like in the evening, but I bet it has a much livelier buzz. If you just want to go out and have a decent meal in a nice setting, there are quite a few other options in Dubai which may not be so unique but offer better value.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael N, General Manager at West 14th New York Grill and Bar, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Dear Dany,
Thank you for sharing your review on West 14th with the Tripadvisor community.
I was very pleased to read you enjoyed our location and atmosphere as well our food selection and quality. Please do rest assured I have shared your comments regarding the service with the concerned manager to ensure they are rectified immediately to avoid future inconveniences to our guests.
I look forward to welcoming you back at Oceana Beach Club soon.
Best Regards,
Michael Nugent
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Consistently good steak, caipirinhas and atmosphere (at the weekend)”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

This is our local and we continue to go back for more reasons than its location. In cooler weather the outside bar is laid back and has a magnificent view of JBR / Dubai marina. They do a ladies night and Thursday night deals which always tempt us during the week. Indoors can sometimes feel a little lacking in atmosphere when it's not busy, but it feels more like a New York bar at the weekend when its buzzing and the band is playing. The steaks are consistent every time we have ordered and this is one reason that we come back time and again. The caipirinhas are pretty good with a variety of options too. As one of the few venues not attached to a hotel this is place is unique. Dress up or down there is a mixed crowd from those having a romantic meal to those having a chilled out evening on the terrace with a shisha.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael N, General Manager at West 14th New York Grill and Bar, responded to this review, June 30, 2013
Dear Jenny,

Thank you very much for your fantastic review, I am very pleased to read you have chosen West 14th as your restaurant of choice to visit during the week.

Please do keep an eye out for all our upcoming promotions and events which we will be launching after the Holy month of Ramadan.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon

Best Regards,
Michael Nugent
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Top Contributor
187 reviews 187 reviews
129 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
110 helpful votes 110 helpful votes
“A surprising find”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013 via mobile

Seen this place advertised, never made it till today as it does not present very well on Internet. Now, having been, gutted I never tried it till now with summer temps hitting Dubai! What a fantastic setting. I had lunch and was pleased with portions and quality of the food. Cooked perfectly, served promptly and I look forward to an evening after the summer sat on their terrace. I have grass fed rib eye and it was perfect. They have a nice well priced wine selection and I am sure they will deliver.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael N, General Manager at West 14th New York Grill and Bar, responded to this review, June 23, 2013
Dear Danny,
Thank you for your fantastic review on Tripadvisor.
I was extremely pleased to read you enjoyed your dinner to such extent, especially the service and food. I will certainly make sure to personally share your comments with the team.
I hope you had a safe trip back home and look forward to welcoming you back to West 14th during your next visit to Dubai.
Best Regards,
Michael Nugent
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed West 14th New York Grill and Bar also viewed

Dubai, Emirate of Dubai
Dubai, Emirate of Dubai
 
Dubai, Emirate of Dubai
Dubai, Emirate of Dubai
 

Been to West 14th New York Grill and Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage West 14th New York Grill and Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.