We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rather Down Market Sports Bar” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Champions Sports Bar

Champions Sports Bar
Abu Baker Al Siddique Rd, Deira, P.O. Box 16590 | JW Marriott Hotel Dubai, Dubai, United Arab Emirates
971-4-6077977
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2,506 of 5,626 Restaurants in Dubai
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Description: Looking for a casual meal at the end of a long day? This all-American sports bar features casual cuisine, flat-screen TVs, pool tables and a smoking area. Come down and watch the big game or network at the bar with co-workers during our happy hour.
Top Contributor
147 reviews 147 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
“Rather Down Market Sports Bar”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

I stay in a lot of Marriott's and have been to several Champions. They are usually bright and well designed with a good sports bar atmosphere. Unfortunately this one doesn't live up to expectations. You have to get a very small elevator down to the entrance and it is rather dark and dingy inside. There isn't much space and the TV screens weren't well placed for watching sport [I was there during the world cup]. Service was OK. I didn't eat there but colleagues who did said it was OK "sports bar" food. Also appears that "ladies of the night" stalk this place so if you ant to avoid that be warned. Better places to go both in the hotel and in Dubai....refurbish it please Marriott

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    4
    0
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
General Santos, Philippines
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Great for sports and beers with friends.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014 via mobile

My buddies and I try to have beer here once a week. Nice staff. Great bands late at night. Food is better than average bar food. Hard to find on the first trip so ask to be pointed the way.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Amman, Jordan
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
“Champions Sports Bar”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014

We had an amazing delightful dinner at the Steakhouse, Simply Brilliant. Then my wife and I decided to visit the Champions Bar. What a mistake! We arrived by elevator, the manager had his back to the door, no welcome. Two Ladies of the night positioned on separate tables waiting for customers near the entrance and we watched them approach male guests. The Band was horrible. The worst Filipino band ever. No personality, no movement, dead. Smokey as well considering it was 10pm. Never, never again..

Room Tip: Never go to this Bar.
See more room tips
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Another disaster in Dubai”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

I know Champions concept very well because we went almost weekly when we were living in Bucharest Romania and we also visited Champions in Warsau, Poland on our visit. I had been to this Champions also in 2005 when it was still as it should be.

On Tuesday evening 2 weeks ago we had some business nearby the JW Marriott in Deira and I was thinking let's go to Champions I haven't been for a very long time. They normally have a fantastic Caesar salad on the menu but this was not what a Caesar salad should be.

We were given a menu straight after we entered so we ordered drinks which came in a timely manner and we gave our food order when the drinks where brought. We ordered the chicken tenders with fries 1 with honey mustard and the other portion with spicy sauce, 1 Caesar salad was ordered and 1 prawn slider. The honey mustard was more honey then mustard and the spicy sauce was not spicy at all.

We had to wait a very long time before the food came and the restaurant was not busy. We had already finished our drinks and ordered a 2nd round of drinks then the food finally came after about 40 minutes. The chicken tenders where though and the breading was coming off this was not what the quality should be from a Champions at JW Marriott. The dressing on the Ceasar salad had no taste the chicken was fine but that was the only positive thing about all the food my husband's prawn sliders where overcooked and tasteless.

Sorry to say but I will not go to this Champions again.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great spot to take in the footie”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2014

Watched a Premiership match in comfort with good atmosphere. Plenty of space and good service. Reliable.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Champions Sports Bar also viewed

 
Dubai, Emirate of Dubai
Dubai, Emirate of Dubai
 

Been to Champions Sports Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Champions Sports Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.