We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Strictly average restaurant” 2 of 5 stars
Review of California Pizza Kitchen

California Pizza Kitchen
Dubai Mall, Dubai, United Arab Emirates
04-3399099
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1,375 of 5,610 Restaurants in Dubai
Cuisines: Pizza
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
BH
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Strictly average restaurant”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

We were recommended this restaurant so we decided to try it out, the ambience is just about average, wouldnt expect much in a pizza place anyways though.. The food however was not upto expectation. We had order a chicken broth soup as starter, the quantity of the soup is enough to fill you up for main course and desert, they need to include half portions in their menu! So stay clear of it. The mocktails are nice, we tried many of them, so worth a shot. Having a majority of vegetarians at our table, we were disappointed by the variety of veg pizzas, while the pizzas came in hot, we were not served any oregano, chilli flakes etc surpising, this is normal table service at any run of the mill pizza joint. The restaurant dropped the ball when we had to actually chase up and find our server to attend to our table (we weren't even the bratty/attention seeking type of customers to deserve such treatment!!). Lastly, they did not bother asking if we would like desert. Disappointed by the food and service. I have had much better times at Pizza Hut, Dominoes, Papa Johns and at half the cost!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    23
    20
    14
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Wouldn't waste my time again!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

Food and atmosphere were below average! Would not recommend to anyone. It's felt like a bad fast food joint!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“decent menu for quick lunch”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

Its ok but service a bit slow at weekends as the place is manic. decent price and good choice for a fast food chain

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Service disappointing”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013 via mobile

First, the food was very good as expected, but the service was poor. I ate lunch outside, which was nice, but after 15 minutes, I had to go find a waiter. Service was slow, and when my drink was empty, no waiter ever came by to ask if I needed another. I like the chain but not again in Dubai.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Slow service...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

We had lunch just before the lunch rush and still the service was really slow. The restaurant was half full and it took over 30 minutes to have a starter and pizza served. The pizza was ok (thin crust), although I expected more flavour as we ordered the thai pizza. The prices are not too high, just as you would expect from any restaurants at malls in Dubai.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed California Pizza Kitchen also viewed

Dubai, Emirate of Dubai
 
Dubai, Emirate of Dubai
Dubai, Emirate of Dubai
 

Been to California Pizza Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage California Pizza Kitchen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.