We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor food” 3 of 5 stars
Review of El Chico Mexican Food Restaurant

El Chico Mexican Food Restaurant
JBR - GM10, The Walk, Al Sufouh Road | Jumeirah Beach Residence, Dubai, United Arab Emirates
+971-4-423-3828
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #745 of 5,626 Restaurants in Dubai
Cuisines: Mexican
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Vevey, Switzerland
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Poor food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012 via mobile

service was clearly below Dubai standards and i wasnt even asked which side orders I wanted, they just decided for me... Interesting concept!

The "tres banditos" I ordered was really not good at all and I lleft half. If you travel with a family and kids with very low expectations it might be fine, otherwise I would definitely not recommend it.

    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    46
    17
    14
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Spring
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Finally great Mexican food!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

We are living outside of the U.S. and really miss our Tex-Mex. This place hit it on the head.
Wow, it was wonderful to eat some great food. Chips to the main meal all were delicious!!!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Good Food - Great People Watching Spot”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

We ate at El Chico tonight and we were very happy. After experiencing one of the worst Mexican Restaurants ever (Salsas in Dubai Marina) we decided to give this one a shot. The food was very good and our server was very attentive. The restaurant is located right in the middle of the action so sit outside if the weather is cool enough. Total bill came to 128 dirhams for two people with non-alcoholic beverages. There menu contains many steak, chicken, burger items if someone in your party doesn't care to eat Mexican. I give this place a thumbs up!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Average but the prawn ceasar salad is excellent”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012 via mobile

Busy area - good for watching the beautiful people walk past and the beautiful cars and motorbikes glide past. Ate here with my family. We ordered four different dishes only the prawn salad was noteworthy. With so much choice in this area we would not return

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West palm beach florida
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Just ok”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

Location is excellent but the food is just ok, I wish there was a bit more ambiance as well as there should be in a Mexican restaurant

Visited December 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Chico Mexican Food Restaurant also viewed

Dubai, Emirate of Dubai
Dubai, Emirate of Dubai
 

Been to El Chico Mexican Food Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Chico Mexican Food Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.