We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly recommended” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Melia Dubai Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Melia Dubai Hotel to your Saves list
Melia Dubai Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   23 Kuwait Street | PO Box 116656, Dubai 116656, United Arab Emirates   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
up to -15% MeliáRewards
Ranked #105 of 499 Hotels in Dubai
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Irvine, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Highly recommended”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

We have just returned from about 10 days on the Arabian Peninsula, the last three of which we spent in the Melia Dubai Hotel. We arrived when the hotel was in the midst of a technology hiccup, but the management bent over backwards to minimize the small inconvenience. That concern for customer service evidenced itself throughout our stay. We were treated kindly and helpfully by everyone on the staff, from the front door to the reception desk and the restaurant. We have nothing but great things to say about the staff of this hotel.

The hotel itself is lovely, with a cool, subdued avant garde feel. The guest rooms are beautiful, comfortable and spotless. The rainfall shower was a great way to begin or end the day.

I loved the location of the hotel, which is away from the more Las Vegas-like sections of Dubai. Another reviewer mentioned having moved to the Atlantis Hotel, which is at the end of the Palm. I'd kill myself before I stayed in an over-the-top, massive, touristy hotel like that, so Melia Dubai was perfect for me. It is in Bur Dubai, a 10 or 15 minute walk away from a Metro station and an easy cab ride to anywhere in the city. It is also a very pleasant walk away from the historic Al Bastakiya section of Dubai, as well as Dubai Creek and all of its attractions. It was great to be in a part of Dubai that has not yet been turned into a mall.

We only ate in the restaurant in the morning, but breakfasts were great, with a variety of offerings to suit both European and North American tastes. The omelet chef, in particular, was fantastic.

We had a great time during our three days in the hotel and would come back in a heartbeat.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing Burj Khalifa. Spectacular view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest E, Guest Experience Department at Melia Dubai Hotel, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Dear Guest,

First of all, we wish to thank you for choosing Meliá Dubai for your three nights in this city.

As well, we would like to thank you for your comments. We fell proud and delighted of your review about our staff; especially our F&B department and our chef in Azalya restaurant, and your kind words will encourage all the team to keep on working in the same direction.

It would be a great pleasure for us to welcome you back to our Melia Dubai.

Yours sincerely,

Guest Experience Department
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

781 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    411
    251
    68
    31
    20
See reviews for
116
327
60
121
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, England
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

Location
Not very central but only short taxi ride from anywhere and taxis are cheap.

Comfort
Very comfortable room though a bit worn and grubby round the edges. Very comfy bed. The bath was lovely and big but leaked all over the floor when used.

Staff
Very helpful and friendly.

Pool
Really nice rooftop pool. Very helpful lifeguard. Slow drinks service though

Food
Lovely buffet breakfast included. Restaurants were expensive but par for the course in hotels

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest E, Guest Experience Department at Melia Dubai Hotel, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you very much for publishing such kind words on Tripadvisor.

It is a pleasure for us to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. We believe that your review will encourage other travelers to visit our Meliá Dubai.

Looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

Guest Experience Department
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nuneaton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

We have just returned from an amazing holiday at the Melia hotel in Dubai. This holiday was for my 50th birthday. The hotel is stunning and our bedroom was sheer luxury. On arriving I was wished a happy birthday and a cake had been left in our room. All of the staff were most attentative with the concierge giving us advice when booking our trips, we were always greated with a smile and welcomed back to the hotel. The swimming pool has amazing views, with superb outdoor furniture. We really appreciated the free shuttle bus to the beach. Taxis were very cheap and the hotel sorted out all our travel requirements. We will definately be returning.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest E, Guest Experience Department at Melia Dubai Hotel, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Dear Ms. Tracy,

First of all, we kindly would like to thank you for choosing Meliá Dubai to enjoy your holidays and your 50th Birthday.

As well, we wish to thank you for taking the time to share your comments on Tripadvisor.

We are delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. It is always our goal to make sure each and every guest has a memorable stay with us.

Your kind words will be shared with all the Melia staff..

We sincerely hope we can exceed you expectations even more on your next visit to our Meliá Dubai.

Yours sincerely,

Guest Experience Department
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arnhem, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

A brand new very nice hotel. Not really in the centre but the taxi's in Dubai are very cheap. Rooms are perfect with a very modern but comfortable bathroom. Also the beds are superb. You have to search a bit for the entrance but that was not really an issue. The staff was very helpful, specially the conciërge on duty that night. We arrived at 23.01 for 2 nights. My friend was coming from Holland but she had a delay. I did not know what time she arrived in Dubai. The conciërge told me, give me the flight number and I will check every time so you can go to sleep and as soon we know the exact time of arrival we give you a wake-up call. Perfect. The only very small issue is breakfast. When you come in late, there are many things not available. Also the massages in Melia are excellent.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest E, Guest Experience Department at Melia Dubai Hotel, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience with all the TripAdvisor community.

It is great to learn that you had a great stay. Your comments will be passed to our staff who will be delighted to read them.

It would be a pleasure for us to welcome you back at Meliá Dubai in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

Guest Experience Department
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

Not having a pedestrian entrance at street level means you have to walk down the car ramp to the upper basement entrance and take one lift to the lobby on the first floor and another lift to the guest floors. The 24 hour buffet restaurant while convenient also leads to finding overcooked and dried up food if you go in at a bad time. If you breakfast late you will find items disappearing while you are still eating. For Dubai the big problem is not having Metro access.

Room Tip: All the rooms are the same quality.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest E, Guest Experience Department at Melia Dubai Hotel, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Dear Mr. John,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with the feedback of your stay at Meliá Dubai.

We value each and every comment from our guest and it is disconcerting to learn that some of our services did not meet your expectations. We apologize for any inconvenience caused.

Your comments have been shared with the appropriate staff member and we will use them to guide our ongoing efforts and improvements.

We really hope to meet all your expectations on your next stay at our Meliá Dubai.

Yours sincerely,

Guest Experience Department
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

We spent a week in Dubai, and chose the Meliã as it promised a quality hotel at a reasonable price. We arrived by taxi a couple of hours after midnight, and noted the basement entrance some reviewers had criticized. Granted, access was slightly awkward, having to use two elevators, but in all other respects the Meliã was a very positive experience.

We were especially impressed by the politeness and helpfulness of the staff (this seems to be general for all of Dubai). I had problems with a USB data cable, and the concierge immediately helped me with the type I needed at no charge. Also, I happened to have my birthday during our stay, and after a day out (enjoying the formidable afternoon tea at the Burj Al Arab), we found a congratulatory note slipped under our door. A minor thing, but nonetheless a peronal touch that conveys a feeling of the customer being appreciated.

Our room was very pleasant and neatly appointed, and the A/C was efficient without being noisy. Not much of a view, but with a nice, high bed, ample closet space, a neat TV hidden behing a large smoked mirror, and an exceptional bathroom with a spacious egg-shaped bathtub that comfortably accomodated two. Neat shower booth, too. We also spent a few hours by (and in) the rooftop pool, which was very pleasant and again with very attentive and helpful staff.

The hotel location is definitely acceptable, lying in a low-rise residential area. A few shops and eateries nearby, with the closest Metro (Al Ghubaiba) being a 12-minute walk away, adjacent to the bus terminal, a Carrefour hypermarket, local shops and a cinema. With the low prices, taxis are the way to get around in Dubai, however we made extensive use of the Metro. We spent a day in Abu Dhabi - got there by bus, so in this respect the close proximity to Al-Ghubaiba was an advantage.

To sum it up, we have great recollections from a very comfortable hotel in a stunning city. Our highest recommendations to the Meliã.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest E, Guest Experience Department at Melia Dubai Hotel, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Dear Guest,

First of all, we kindly wish to thank you for posting your review on Tripadvisor.

We are delighted to know that your overall experience in our Meliá Dubai was excellent. We have forwarded your kind words to all of our staff specially to our concierge team.

It would be pleasure for us to welcome you back at Meliá Dubai.

Yours sincerely,

Guest Experience Department
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lomma
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

Good hotel,not in the tourist center "Dubai Marina" but near the Aerport (just 15 min). Easy to go to the Dubai International Exhibition centre or the Business Bay by taxi or metro . 5 minutes by taxi (very cheap 10 dirhams = +-2 euros) to Dubai/Deira Creek where you can find one of the largest retail gold market in the world, spice souk, or just see Dubai´s trading heritage.The hotel was clean ,good and freindly atmosphere. Special thanks to Mr Alexander Larsson for his excellent and professional way to help us and make this greats days in Dubai. All time attentive to help us. Nice to see employers ,like him. Allways so helpful.
We can really recomend this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest E, Guest Experience Department at Melia Dubai Hotel, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments about your stay at Meliá Dubai.

We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. Moreover, we really appreciate your kind words about our staff and the pictures attached in your review.

Ones again, we would like to thank you for staying with us and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Yours sincerely,

Guest Experience Department
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Melia Dubai Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melia Dubai Hotel

Address: 23 Kuwait Street | PO Box 116656, Dubai 116656, United Arab Emirates
Phone Number:
Location: United Arab Emirates > Emirate of Dubai > Dubai
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #105 of 499 Hotels in Dubai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Melia Dubai Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 164
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Designed for both business and leisure travelers, the new Melia Dubai features an array of facilities and services to meet and exceed the guest expectations. The contemporary elegance of the hotel with stress free business, culinary experience and body and mind balance are reflecting Melia Dubai team’s new way of welcoming and treating their guests.Located in the heart of the traditional Bur Dubai, surrounded by the city’s most attractive historical area, in close distance to the new Gold Souq, the Dubai Museum and the Dubai Creek, the hotel is perfectly situated within a short reach to Dubai’s main shopping and commercial districts and only 15 kms away from Dubai International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Melia, Hotels.com, Priceline, getaroom.com, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your Melia Dubai Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Melia Dubai Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.