We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent meat, flavour and atmosphere.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Toro Toro

Toro Toro
Tower 2 | Grosnvenor House Dubai, Tower Two, Dubai, United Arab Emirates
+971 4 317 6000
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #178 of 5,604 Restaurants in Dubai
Price range: $25 - $100
Cuisines: Latin
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Toro Toro by famed Latin American Chef Richard Sandoval spans over two floors on the marina's edge. Poised to turn up the heat considerably in the city's already famed dining scene, it pioneers tastes from Buenos Aires to Sao Paulo and offers a multitude of Pan Latin dining experiences paired with an infinite Cachaca Bar.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Excellent meat, flavour and atmosphere.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2014

Visited in December 2013

We visited the restaurant twice during our stay at the Grosvenor House Hotel.

The food was lovely, the meat quality and flavour was excellent and the atmosphere was very pleasant. I have Coeliac disease and the restaurant had made efforts to cater for my Gluten free diet (we pre-warned them about this a few weeks prior). They had prepared Gluten free bread as an alternative which was nice and luckily we were told the main dishes we chose were Gluten free. They didn’t seem to fully understand the diet so I was a little sceptical. They brought out the dessert which we were told would be gluten free and they had sprinkled crushed ice cream wafer over part of it, so I chose to eat the other parts while my husband ate the parts with wafers on, I thought for a restaurant of this standard it was sloppy attention to detail when we have reminded them several times I was on a gluten free diet.
The only other down side I could say was the waiter who served our wonderful steak was clearly passionate about the meat and spent about 10 minutes explaining what everything was before he put it on our plates (the meat was all served on a skewer), by this time the meat was a bit cold, we still enjoyed it but I could have been much better served when hot.

We would definitely go again and enjoyed our meals.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GHLRM, Director of Food & Beverage at Toro Toro, responded to this review, February 11, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for posting your review on Trip Advisor.

Whilst you had enjoyed your overall dining experience at Toro Toro, we are sorry to hear that on this occasion we are not able to attentively cater your dietary request and that our ambassador was too eager in explaining to you the food. Your feedback is of immense value to us and has been shared to the concerned managers for corrective measures to ensure that this does not reoccur.

On a positive note, we are happy to know that you liked the cuisine, taste and atmosphere of the restaurant and found it to be excellent.

Thank you once again and we look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit.

Kind regards,

Ivan Di Lucia
Director of Food & Beverage
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

244 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    117
    79
    30
    14
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Emirate of Dubai, United Arab Emirates
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“The best place for dinner and drinks in the city!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2014 via mobile

One of the best places in Dubai! Went back to celebrate a friends birthday. What a tremendous dining experience! The food was incredible, the quality of ingredients first class and the service impeccable! We continued the night with drinks in the bar! Wonderful lively music, Great atmosphere! Highly recommend!

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GHLRM, Director of Food & Beverage at Toro Toro, responded to this review, February 11, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for posting your review on Trip Advisor.

It was a pleasure to have you once again as our guest and glad that you had chosen the Toro Toro restaurant to celebrate your friend’s birthday.

We are happy to hear that you had enjoyed your overall dining experience and truly appreciate all your kind comments.

Thank you once again for recommending us and we look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit.

Kind regards,

Ivan Di Lucia
Director of Food & Beverage
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Great”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

Remember our review about Toro Toro a couple of months ago? Once again we made it down there to have a late night snack and taste the signature cocktails of the restaurant.
We remembered the beautiful service we experience last time and therefore our expectations were high. Were they met? You will find out soon. We arrived at around half past ten at night and had no reservation on a Friday night. Wr were greeted friendly, asked for our preferred seating area and followed the beautiful hostess to our table. Seconds later two waiters arrived to welcome us and hand over menus. You have read a couple of reviews over the last year and I am sure that you understand what I mean by service and service from the heart. One waiter was good at his service, he followed the standard, recommended food and drinks, and checked on us before we even had the chance to taste the same. The other waiter however, Mr. Indika, approached us gently, observed us from distance and when he checked on us and how the evening went one could tell that he does not only follow the sequence of service but was generally interested in our well being. This and his smile is what we call service from the heart. We ordered two cocktails, Pico Sour and Whiskey Sour and six different tapas, hot and cold. After a while Indika asked if we would care for another drink. He told us that one of his colleagues would be happy to prepare a special cocktail for us in front of our table. (You can check out the video we took on Vine:Servicexcellence). It was a nice touch to the overall evening. He did not talk a lot and focused on preparing the drinks, served them and wished us a nice evening. The food was average but the service was great, especially Indika. We thank Toro Toro for the nice evening and will be back soon. Keep exploring, SEB
www.servicexcellenceblig.com

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GHLRM, Director of Food & Beverage at Toro Toro, responded to this review, February 2, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for posting your review.

We are truly delighted to know that you had enjoyed your overall dining experience at Toro Toro and you were extremely pleased with the service rendered by our ambassadors with a special mention to Mr Indika.

All your kind comments are greatly appreciated and it is indeed our pleasure to have you as our guest.

Thank you once again and we look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit.

Kind regards,

Ivan Di Lucia
Director of Food & Beverage
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peyia, Cyprus
Top Contributor
309 reviews 309 reviews
170 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 74 cities Reviews in 74 cities
197 helpful votes 197 helpful votes
“Good looking Restaurant, fantastic food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

Having been to this place previously I knew the menu and understood that the starters are more like a tasting menu so I ordered a number of different items to get a good insight into South American Cuisine. The food was outstanding and so was the welcome at the door. We where shown to our section and asked which table we liked. During the dinner the music played by the DJ was superb but sadly the evening passed much too quick. Amazing Restaurant, fantastic food, efficient staff and very enjoyable music.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GHLRM, Director of Food & Beverage at Toro Toro, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for posting your review on Trip Advisor.

Having visited us before, we are happy to know that you had once again enjoyed your overall dining experience with us at Toro Toro.

We are glad that you liked the cuisine, music, and the service we have on offer and found the evening to be fantastic, enjoyable and efficient. All your kind comments are truly appreciated.

Thank you once again and we look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit.

Kind regards,

Ivan Di Lucia
Director of Food & Beverage
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Subic, Zambales, Philippines
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“OK to try”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

We went there with our kids.. Ambience was great..I was more impressed with the appetizers than the main dishes/barbeque. My spicy margarita was not spicy at all, hubby tried their caipirinha but nothing to rave about. Customer service was so so, they were nice but a bit uptight and not too personal. Nothing special,can't find any urge to go back.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GHLRM, Director of Food & Beverage at Toro Toro, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your thoughts and feedback on Trip Advisor following your visit to Toro Toro at the Grosvenor House Dubai.

Having read your review, we are sorry to hear that you were not fully pleased with your dining experience with us and as we take all our guest feedback to be of utmost importance to us, it would be very much appreciated if we can have the opportunity to speak with you personally. Therefore, may I kindly request you to contact us directly on Guestservices.Grosvenorhouse@starwoodhotels.com

Kind regards,

Ivan Di Lucia
Director of Food & Beverage
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Toro Toro also viewed

Dubai, Emirate of Dubai
Dubai, Emirate of Dubai
 
Dubai, Emirate of Dubai
Dubai, Emirate of Dubai
 

Been to Toro Toro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Toro Toro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.