We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fast and Cheap” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dubai Metro

Dubai Metro
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
+971 4 2844444
Website
Improve this listing
Type: Transportation, Landmarks
Attraction details
Mumbai, Maharashtra, India
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Fast and Cheap”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

I often travel dubai for business trips and always prefer Metro for fast, convenient and comfortable travelling inside dubai. I book my hotel near Metro Station which energize me to prefer Metro. You can get a Swipe Card and its 100% cheaper then Taxi fares.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

8,963 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5,718
    2,454
    628
    109
    54
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“The most convenient in Dubai”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

The most convenient mode of transport in Dubai and the cleanest and the best......Normally i drive until Rashidiya station and park the car for free and the take the metro to got to the malls etc. just take a noel card and keep with you always.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A bit Disappointing”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

Having used Bangkok's MRT system several times, Dubai Metro falls very short in comparison, but you could say that about the two cities generally.

I arrived by taxi from the airport and decided to head to the creek area, an Hr or so there and decided to head to Metro Station Green line, Al Fahidi Station, signage confusing and difficult to read, opted for a day ticket all areas/zones for 16 Dirhams, asked attendant who are scarce on the ground how i get to Dubai Mall (OK i could have studied map but i was up at 5am and was kinda tired and disorientated).

I was not informed I had to change lines from Green to Red, so first train was a back and forth affair, until I got to the interchange station Kahild bin waleed, no announcement Bangkok style that this is the interchange station, this is now approaching lunchtime rush hr, their are barriers at the platforms which is a great thing as the platforms are quite narrow and crowded, separate queues for ladies and children, paramilitary style guard with big stick, once on train quite crowded but everyone well mannered and behaved. Although was a little panic entry/exit rush at one door. Trains seem narrower than Bangkok and bizzaarre random seating.

Nice sensation when the train ramps up out of the tunnel to the bright sunshine and high level rail system. I arrived at Burj- Dubai Mall station and headed for exit gate, swipe ticket, alarm and ticket error flashes in display, WTF, not 1 attendant in area and the only one i could see as working in the booth selling tickets to a long Q, banged on window, i tell him the problem, he asked me for my ticket receipt, which i'd left in a bin at the counter i purchased at, I had to get a bit vocal until he let me exit, I was not given another ticket, SO HANG ONTO THE RECEIPT!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toulouse, France
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“could be perfect ...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

the metro is very convinient, modern and really "idiotproof" you will never get lost.
unfortunately vry crowded more particularly during the exhibitions taking place at the word trade center ... they are not able to organize an higher frequency of trains for those events !

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
23 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“So efficient”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

What a way to travel !! Cheap, airconditioned, fast and very clean.
The downside was it was so busy at rush hour

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dubai Metro also viewed

Dubai, Emirate of Dubai
Dubai, Emirate of Dubai
 
Dubai, Emirate of Dubai
Dubai, Emirate of Dubai
 

Been to Dubai Metro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dubai Metro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.