We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very interesting” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Heritage House

Heritage House
Deira Al-Ras District, Dubai, United Arab Emirates
(04)393-7139
Improve this listing
Ranked #41 of 111 Attractions in Dubai
Type: Other, Cultural
Attraction details
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Very interesting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

The Heritage House is not a massive museum, I made my way around it checking out all the information on all the touch screen guides I could find in less than 30 minutes. It shows the sort of furniture and other things you might have found in a house around 50 -60 years ago: they had radios and a gramophone, but most items would not have looked too out of place 300 years ago.

Most rooms had mannekins in costume doing some typical activity for that room, there was also a display of children's toys and games in the upstairs summer room.

It was right next door to the Ahmadia school museum, not far from the Gold Souk and a couple of minutes walk from Al Ras metro station, so even if you are short of time, it would be worth making a detour for an hour or so to have a quick look at the area.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    20
    8
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Pietermaritzburg, South Africa
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Heritage House”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

Some interesting exhibits but I felt that overall the place was just to dark. It does give a good insight into what life used to be like. Overall though, I was disappointed. Still - the courtyard allows for some great photo ops and, considering the very low entrance fee, this is well worth seeing.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
38 attraction reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“More of this, Dubai!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

This is a beautiful and charming little cultural house with some fine displays. There is plenty to learn. Since it is very new, it has touch screens as guides with text, audio and video, along with the displays, a *major* complement and a perfect aid. Also, each room is extremely well-maintained and fully air-conditioned, so even if you go in the summer months, you should be fine.

It's good to see Dubai try to pay tribute to its history. If anything, there is very little of this around the city that seems to be obsessed with glitz and glamor, which is such a pity.

I spent about 30 minutes inside since I hadn't planned on going. To get more out of it, maybe budget at least an hour or two for this alone (and another for the Al-Ahmadiya School *right* next door to it). You may want to dedicate one full day to these two sites plus the Dubai Museum combined, since they're about a 15-20 Dirham taxi cab ride away anyway, and they follow a similar theme.

Alternatively, if you're looking to visit the gold souq, it's at most a 15-minute walk away from here, so you could visit these on the same trip.

Also, the House is in a little street RIGHT across from the 'Al-Ras' metro station, so if you have access to the metro, things couldn't be easier.

More of this, Dubai!

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
30 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
140 helpful votes 140 helpful votes
“A good place to visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2012

This place helps give you a better insite of Life in Dubai prior to all the modernization. Quite informative. I passed by it while walking around and decided to stop in.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stavanger, Norway
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
42 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Loving Dubai”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2012

It was as you say OK, but it wouldn't be the place I would put on the top of my list.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Heritage House also viewed

 
Dubai, Emirate of Dubai
 

Been to Heritage House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Heritage House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.