We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“just excellent” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Ivy

The Ivy
Jumeirah Emirates Towers Boulevard, Dubai, United Arab Emirates
+971 4 319 8767
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #96 of 5,560 restaurants in Dubai
Cuisines: European, Contemporary, International, British, Brasserie
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Description: The Ivy restaurant, bar and jazz Lounge is an elegant international brasserie open for breakfast, lunch and dinner every day of the week and plays host to some of the region's hottest jazz musicians on Tuesdays,Thursdays night and Fridays. With top-rated service and menus to suit all tastes and pockets, The Ivy is the perfect venue for both business and pleasure. The private dining room and bar can be booked for corporate and private events, and packages can be tailored to any kind of event and budget. The Ivy offers a variety of menus - the a la carte 60 dish menu is full of 'Ivy classics' and international specialities; the Chef's Plate menu, served between 5-7.30 pm is for the early birds to enjoy 3 courses for just 200 AED;the weekday business lunch offer, allows guests to enjoy a 2 or 3 course menu within one hour, including a selection of sandwiches; the breakfast menu(which is one of the few in Dubai offering a wide selection of pork)offers everything from waffles to Eggs Benedict, Bloody Marys to Champagne. The Friday Brunch menu takes the whole lazy weekend lunch concept to a whole new level with the option of an 8 course degustation with wine pairing and the recent addition of the 'Rolling Brunch' on a Saturday means that there is always something going on at The Ivy.
karachi
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
140 helpful votes 140 helpful votes
“just excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

the tiger prawns, duck salad, lamb, sticky toffee pudding, all too good. nice place for a good meal.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

283 reviews from our community

78% Recommend
    158
    64
    34
    22
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Top Contributor
228 reviews 228 reviews
148 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
178 helpful votes 178 helpful votes
“overrated and just silly”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

i cant beleive after all the hype and anticipation of visiting this well renound celeb favourite to be such a dissapointing experiance for me,
forget the great service , which is remarkable , but the food is plain and boring and bad
nothing is special. i can imagine having the same restaurant and food with a diffrent brand that people dont recognise and it will fail miserably. people often like to be wannabe's and pretend their up there with hollywood icons like brad pit , probably theyd feel happy but it doesnt cut it for me. its just upscaled homeless food

  • Visited June 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Very, very good”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

Only had lunch, but excellent food as you would expect and the service is exactly the right balance between casual and formal. Everything cheerful, perfectly cooked and no micro portions and of course very well presented. Highly recommended

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Wonderful!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Food is extremely tasty and very well presented. Waiting staff are attentive but not intrusive. Wines are well chosen and bar staff know their drinks. Atmosphere is delightfully relaxing, sumptuous and fun. One of my favourite Dubai eateries.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Ruined by allowing smoking in the restaurant”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

A group of friends with dinner reservation arrived at the Ivy to discover it was full of people attending some kind of function. Many were smoking and while we were seated a little distance away from the crowd, the smell of cigarette smoke was overpowering. To her credit, the waitress lamented the fact but was of course powerless to do anything about it. After a few moments, it became clear that none of our group was prepared to put up with this so we paid for our water and left. I don't understand why smoking to this extent is allowed in a restaurant - what is the point of presenting me a menu and wine list if all I can smell and taste is smoke? I don't understand why we were not told of this function when we booked. We have had good meals at the Ivy before, so they need to decide: Is this a bar or a restaurant - make up your mind and if its the latter, understand that taste and smell are important to a diner. Disappointing.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Ivy also viewed

Dubai, Emirate of Dubai
Dubai, Emirate of Dubai
 
Dubai, Emirate of Dubai
Dubai, Emirate of Dubai
 

Been to The Ivy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Ivy, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.