We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice sandwiches” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Paul Bakery & Restaurant

Paul Bakery & Restaurant
Ground Level, Dubai Mall, Dubai, United Arab Emirates
+971 (4) 341-4844
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #425 of 5,571 Restaurants in Dubai
Price range: $4 - $24
Cuisines: French, Coffee Shop, Sandwiches, Bakeries, Bistro
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Delivery, Late Night
Description: Since the founding of a small bakery in the French town of Lille back in 1889, the passion for authentic bread making and quality ingredients has remained in the family and been passed on through generations. And so, until today, the love for everything fresh and for good is at the heart of every PAUL. In addition to the bread and viennoiserie which is baked several times a day, the menu at PAUL boast a good selection of light meals and main courses, as well as desserts and fine pâtisserie. Over time, PAUL has become a successful restaurant business with more than 450 shops in 24 countries and has become renowned for its ‘rustic-chic’ ambience - a true celebration of the French ‘art-de-vivre’. We look forward to welcoming you!
Dubai, Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Nice sandwiches”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

We went to the one in Dubai Mall. My friend had a gratin that was sour, my croque monsieur however was nice. My friend then had a sandwich instead which was great. Is very crowdy which makes it noisy. Staff try hard

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

329 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    118
    137
    39
    19
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Alexandria, VA
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
“Fabulous!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

I had dinner there one night. The pumpkin/carrot soup was out of this world. I then had the most tasty chicken crepes that I have ever had. The bill was very reasonable considering the quality of the food and the good service. Great bistro!

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirkland
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Nothing like the ones in France!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

This review is for the DXB location only - and not for the whole chain.
The presentation and appearance of the store is identicial to the stores in Paris and the food looked great through the glass case. I ordered the french onion soup and the rhubarb tart. The onion soup was extremely greasy, the tart was ok. But the biggest turn off were the rolls they served: they're were like rocks! I tried ripping them, slicing with a knife and finally had to resort to biting chunks off, violently! That's huge problem and very ironical for a store that advertizes itself as a 'bakery'! The tart, soup and water cost me $15, which is not too bad by EU standards, but is certainly on the expensive end by Dubai standards. Overall, there are better places at DXB airport, so dont get enticed by their nice display!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“delicious food but...”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

i got sick after eating there! twice actually. i ordered a crepe-chicken-lasagna or so and another cream-chicken dish. didnt get sick when i had a sandwich but that i didnt like so i didnt even finish it.
on the other hand they have amazinly delicious dessert!
i wouldnt go there again as the chicken is nearly tasteless and got sick more than once but that may be my oversensitive stomach's fault.
i would probably only go there again for their dessert!

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cochin
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“good coffee”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

good coffee and the pastries are nice, well made. cheesecakes and tarts are of perfect texture, taste and consistency. the cream is well made and the taste is yummy. the one at Burjuman is small and cosy. they have outside cafe too, perfect in winter

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Paul Bakery & Restaurant also viewed

Dubai, Emirate of Dubai
Dubai, Emirate of Dubai
 
Dubai, Emirate of Dubai
Dubai, Emirate of Dubai
 

Been to Paul Bakery & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Paul Bakery & Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.