We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dinner for 6” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Social House

Social House
The Dubai Mall, Unit 101 | Between The Dubai Fountain and Star Atrium, Dubai, United Arab Emirates (Downtown Dubai)
+9714338640
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #372 of 5,572 Restaurants in Dubai
Cuisines: Italian, International, Sushi
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Downtown Dubai
Abu Dhabi
Top Contributor
158 reviews 158 reviews
101 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
“Dinner for 6”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2013

We had two friends to entertain after the Dubai International Food Safety Conference and wanted to be near the fountain.
So, the meal was fine. The entrecôte steak (2) was good to average, i had a burger that was very large as i couldn't eat all of the trimmings. The others had a mix of pizza and other things and said that they had enjoyed it.
We had various fruit juices to drink and they were all good.
Strangely, i fine the menu a bit difficult to use as it contains a lot of information, but this was a moor thing as perhaps they are just trying to look a bit more different. (Most menus are very similar generally).
Overall very good.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

352 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    109
    163
    56
    18
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Great view but not the food”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013

Nicely decorated restaurant with great view of the musical fountain in Dubai Mall and good view of the Burj Khalifa. This place is always packed with more than a handful of names in the waiting list. I thought "a must try place" so i walked in for dinner and thankfully they had table for 2 so we didn't have to wait. The menu looks interesting as they had various of cuisines ranging from Japanese-Western-Italian. So each of us decided to order one of each and share. The food was well presented however to my horror, it was the worst food I've ever had. I couldn't remember exactly the name of the food that I've ordered but we had sushi, pasta and chicken. Their pasta was overcooked that it tasted like a normal noodle that was made meant for those who can't chew, or should i say chew with your tongue and their marinara sauce tasted like some low end ketchup brand. I thought maybe it was just the pasta. Had a bite on the sushi and it was the worst sushi ever, seriously. The chicken was not as bad as i expected (probably because of the first two dishes I was well prepared to taste the worst). It was well cooked however i couldn't give any good feedback for the taste wise. Overall, it was a disappointment to me. It's probably the worst of pastas and sushi i've ever tasted, seriously. But i gotta give it to the good & strategic venue. What the price like? Its the same with other restaurants out there, on average.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macclesfield, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Great for food and view”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013 via mobile

Fantastic choice of food and drinks which was delicious. The staff were great and we got a fantastic table outside so we were able to watch the magnificent fountains and scenery. Service was prompt but we didn't feel like they were rushing us. Would recommend.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Top Contributor
561 reviews 561 reviews
360 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
266 helpful votes 266 helpful votes
“Chaotic mix of international food”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

Social House is at the lower ground floor of Dubai Mall.
The menu is a chaotic mix of food from Japan, China, Vietnam, Thailand, Mexico, Morocco and a lot of other places.... and even these dishes haven't been spared the ignominy of being altered, sometimes beyond recognition.
I tried two dishes. The Omatesandro Roll (a sushi roll with a mayonnaise like sauce with scallops and sometinng else poured over the sushi and I think they baked it.... more like destroyed it), and I had Pho Bo (a normally nice Vietnamese beef soup. The beef slices and meat balls were dry and devoid of their own juices).
A very disappointing meal.
The breakfast menu (they start at 9 in the morning) looked more interesting, Eggs Benedict, Belgian waffles, Truffle creamy scrambled eggs etc, but after today's lunch, I'm not sure if I'll go there again.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Social House”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

Don't recognise the restaurant from the comments made by Expatable. We ate there last night and had a great meal with excellent service AND the view of the fountains "performance" as a bonus. And the cost for six of us was very reasonable. If you're looking for good food, friendly staff and a great central location, you could do a lot worse than eat at Social House.

Captain Flack

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Social House also viewed

Dubai, Emirate of Dubai
Dubai, Emirate of Dubai
 
Dubai, Emirate of Dubai
Dubai, Emirate of Dubai
 

Been to Social House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Social House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.