My Sister and I checked into this hotel this morning. We were very impressed by the beautiful appearance on entering the hotel, the warm welcome we received and delicious arrival drink.
Unfortunately things have not been as smooth for the rest of the day... we were informed on check in that we would be sharing a king size bed, when we booked the holiday through a popular holiday operator we were told that all we had to do is to request a twin room on the extra notes section on our booking and there should be no problem. Anyway after expressing our disappointment over having to share a bed, the staff at the check in desk told us they had no other rooms. All of a sudden they managed to find us a twin room, but for over £300 extra! We have paid a lot for this holiday and to pay more seemed ridiculous, but we had to if we wanted our own beds. Being tired after a night flight and just wanting to get things sorted out we agreed to pay it. But now looking back I feel upset that we had to do this.
The room we have is very nice, don't get me wrong. But it's a little dirty and the showers are poor. We also have a large see through window into the bathroom! So we can see each other changing... Which again is not ideal, seeing as we aren't a couple and would each like some privacy whilst in the bathroom!!
I come to Dubai every year with my sister and is a holiday we both really look forward to. But we do sadly feel slightly let down. We have stayed a many other hotels here and received a better service.
We are shorty off out for dinner, we have the half board option, but it turns out we can only eat at one restaurant (Plaj) with our half board voucher without having to pay a huge supplement which unfortunately all of the other restaurants charge.
Overall on first impressions a very beautiful looking Arabian palace style building, stunning pool area, along with really friendly staff who are a credit to this hotel.
Just a shame we didn't get off to a better start.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
May 15, 2013
Report response as inappropriate
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback from your stay with us at Jumeirah Zabeel Saray and for your kind acknowledgements of our opulent hotel, and high level of customer service provided by our team of incredible colleagues.
I am also grateful for the areas you have identified where you feel we could improve. Rest assured your feedback has been discussed with the relevant managers to focus on these areas, to ensure we deliver the best in service and products which you have come to expect from a Jumeirah Hotel.
Once again, thank you for sharing your feedback on Trip Advisor. We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel in the near future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.