We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“ambience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Aquara Restaurant

Aquara Restaurant
Dubai Marina Yacht Club | Street H, District 4, Dubai, United Arab Emirates
+971 4 362 7900
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #668 of 5,604 Restaurants in Dubai
Price range: $14 - $55
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Scenic view
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Signature seafood restaurant with award winning lounge boasting a panoramic terrace offering stunning views of the moored yachts in Dubai Marina and a weekly calendar of themed nights.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“ambience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

Nice restaurant at the yacht club at the marina.
They had a gents night special so I got a free bourbon and coke. Outside u get fantastic views of the marina and the JBR buildings. Would suggest to go in the evenings.
Food was spot on, nice steak with a glass of red. Yeh a little pricey but well worth it.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    15
    4
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Great Food and reasonably priced wine!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

Great location, good food and very reasonably priced wine.
Couldn't believe that a bottle of nice Pinot Grigiot was only 145 Dhs.
Most restaurants would price this at 250+
Good selection of wines all priced at 145.
Good service, lovely evening, thoroughly recommended.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Surprised”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

visited the yacht club with some friends on a birthday holiday. Ordered 2 glasses of pink fizz and a Peroni. the fizz was flat so i asked for it to be changed. I stood and stood then they said to sit and they would bring it over. they did this and guess what it was flat again. The girls didnt want to make a fuss so sipped it even tho i wanted to take it back again. I had another pint whilst we waited for the other part of our group. Then the waiteress came over and asked me to leave as i had open toed sandels on. the dress code does not allow these apparently although they only noticed after we had spent £100 plus. I asked for the manager who was quite frankly rude. Nice place shame about the staff i think is a fair comment here. I left never to return.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharjah, United Arab Emirates
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great food & great location & view, what can you ask more?!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

Excellent ambiance and food! full stop...:)

Not as busy as expected as we needed to switch from a terrace outdoor seating to an indoor table due to heat, and its was never a problem. If weather is fine, the best option is to reserve a terrace table overlooking the Dubai Marina. A spectacular view guaranteed.

Inside was a dimly lit but cozy decorated & intimate-sized place. There is an open kitchen so you can see your dishes being prepared especially the place was not crowded. A sign of the "very" clean process of cooking there.

Service was friendly, swift & professional. When menus were received, we saw many items had either pork or alcohol which we as Muslims do not eat. We asked the waiter if specific dishes can be without these additions, and to complete the professional attitude, he said he would get back to the chef to confirm, where we knew from him happily that it is possible.

Menu was short but all were interesting.We were 5 people, so we had almost everything to taste...:). We had lamb chops, duck breast, noodles & steaks. All in addition to the simple yet fresh tuna & greens salad as a starter were exceptionally great.

We actually spent some time eating (almost 2hrs!) but the place was nice, welcoming, great atmosphere & great food. Maybe the only comment is that food took some time to arrive, but it is forgivable in favor of all other pleasing aspects.

Be warned that it is somehow pricy; we were 5, and we paid ca. 900 AED for 2 starters, a soup, five main dishes, & soft drinks. Still an excellent value considering this as one of Dubai's elegant dining venues.

Highly recommended for special occasions, family visits, and spending a good time

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, UK
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Good food; great location; relaxing Friday Brunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

There are endless Friday Brunch options in Dubai - almost too many to choose from. We opted for Aquara at Dubai Marina Yacht Club (a) because it was recommended to me and (b) it is within walking distance of where I live in the Marina!

Probably not essential to make a reservation but advisable if you want a table outside (as we did as weather was still comfortable in late March). Three price options: No alcohol, soft drinks only (AED 220); sparkling wine to start then choice of house beverages and cocktails (AED 350) and champagne to start then usual house beverages (AED 400).

Beverage choice is very good, including reasonable wines, and of course is limitless. Food was also excellent (and limitless). If you love seafood/shellfish this is the place to be - excellent choice of cold seafood starters and salads. However, even for the less enthusiastic there is plenty of choice of other salads, starters and soups. Main courses were fine if not exceptional. Dessert offerings were great!

Service was polite, efficient but unobtrusive. Always there to offer a drink refill the moment the empty glass touched the table. Had to impose a bit of self-restraint otherwise even the short walk home afterwards would have been a challenge!

Thoroughly recommended for a relaxing and civilised Dubai runch experience. Will definitely do it again.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Aquara Restaurant also viewed

Dubai, Emirate of Dubai
 
Dubai, Emirate of Dubai
Dubai, Emirate of Dubai
 

Been to Aquara Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aquara Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.