We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Meatiest" Meal in Dubai!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tribes

Tribes
Sheikh Zayed Road | Mall of the Emirates, Dubai, United Arab Emirates
04 3950660
Improve this listing
Ranked #191 of 5,604 Restaurants in Dubai
Cuisines: African, Grill
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
dubai
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“"Meatiest" Meal in Dubai!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

I went to the Tribes at the Mall of the Emirates with my wife on Feb 7th which is our second visit. The friendliness of the hostess and the staff is just wonderful. It gives a very positive vibe without being pretentious. We ordered water to start with. Knowing the portions they serve, we opted for one appetizer: the peri peri sardines. I was surprised by a 5-star quality appetizer in terms of execution and taste; I’ll give 4-stars for the presentation though. As for the quantity, well, the dish was two whole fresh sardine fish with the backbone removed as well as most of the thorns, cooked to perfection and topped with a little peri peri sauce and served on a buttered toast. Sardine is a fatty fish and surely an acquired taste, but I just loved it! Wish there was more sauce on the side though.
As for the main dishes, we shared two, one was the lamb shank that consisted of 2 whole lamb Shanks in a light tomato sauce with barley on the side cooked with vegetables. The meat was so lean and cooked till it was so tender it just melts in your mouth while the barely and sauce were very nice accompaniments.
The second dish was ox tail. I don’t remember having ox tail for a very long time (years). But this was more than perfect. The ox tail ( two really huge chunks were served) was marinated in a special sauce that has a very interesting flavor, the tail cooked slowly until the sauce is caramelized and the meat as well as tendons were extremely tender. A warning for cholesterol watchers though, it is a very fatty dish. The flavor though is just amazing. The ox tail came with a separate bowl of one of the best mashed potato dishes I have ever had in Dubai. The mash was subtly flavored so as not to ruin the ox tail succulent and complex flavor but to complement it even better than white rice would have.
We were more than full, oh and let us not forget the walnut-date complimentary bread that is a treat by itself.
Dessert? Sorry folks, there just was absolutely no room for it. The atmosphere was out of this world with rustic chairs and tables, rustic décor made like a cave and the kitchen and grill in front of us. We really didn’t feel we were at the Mall of the Emirates. Even the bill came in a very neat dish that looks like an African statuette.
As for the price, well, it was a bit pricey at 379 without tip, but when you put the quality and quantity of food, the service (very friendly manager too and on top of everything) and the atmosphere, I think it is totally worth it.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

214 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    104
    78
    19
    4
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Lovely food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

We really enjoyed eating there. We were seated in the middle of the restaurant so we could admire african decor. The girl who served us was very helpful and polite. I ordered beef ribs and my husband had a fish, both delicious choices. Price from 90 to 200Dhs. Atmosphere was so different, right behind us they started to play african drums - amazing! We paid around 300Dhs and weren´t disappointed.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“African Experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

If you are a meat lover, this is the place to go! Their food is always cooked to perfection, the service amazing and the atmosphere is beyond words. When the staff roll out the drums the spirit becomes truly African!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riffa, Bahrain
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
141 helpful votes 141 helpful votes
“Excellent service and atmosphere. Price does not reflect quality.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

We dined at Tribes because we'd heard it had fantastic steaks. It's advertised as an African Steakhouse, and it has the African theming down well - you forget you're in a mall! Feels like you're walking into an African hut of some sort, and you can see the flames of the grill in the back, there are skins on some of the chairs, woven reeds, just a fabulous sense of theming. Disney would be proud.

We ordered steaks, and a multi-tribal sausage platter as an appetizer. The sausages were interesting, the chicken one had little flavor, lamb was a bit more flavorful, the beef yet a bit more, but the camel was *quite* tasty. The onion and fig jam was gummy and difficult to enjoy.

Our steaks arrived, and be aware that they're cooked to a textbook level of doneness...... if you order medium, that's exactly what you're getting. The meat was nowhere near as tender as we'd hoped for, and the only flavor in the meat was within the sauce it was served. We were truly disappointed. We've had better quality meat at a Longhorn Steakhouse chain in the states. The portions were substantial, though. And the bread was *quite* delicious - full of grains and all sorts of goodness. We could have eaten another entire loaf.

Service was exquisite, unobtrusive and professional, with a sense of humor. It was a nice visit, but not worth a return trip at the prices they charge - unless you snag a "buy one get one" type voucher from one of the group-selling websites.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Best Meat joint I've been to in DXB”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

Great food, great service at a reasonable price.
The bread the serve is absolutely the best! I could eat a meal of it, and I normally hate bread!
Dont let the fact it's in a mall put you off, I've been there 6 or 7 times and always take visitors to Dubai there and everyone loves it!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tribes also viewed

 
Dubai, Emirate of Dubai
Dubai, Emirate of Dubai
 

Been to Tribes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tribes, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.