We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for an insight into the culture.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sheikh Mohammed Centre for Cultural Understanding

Sheikh Mohammed Centre for Cultural Understanding
Al Mussallah Road | House 26, Al Fahidi District, Dubai, United Arab Emirates (The Creek)
+971 4 353 6666
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 40 Sights & Landmarks in Dubai
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: The Sheikh Mohammed Centre for Cultural Understanding (SMCCU) invites visitors and residents alike to learn about the local culture, customs and religion through its various interactive programmes under the banner and motto of the centre, "Open doors. Open minds.". The SMCCU offers Cultural Breakfast Monday & Wednesday at 10am, Cultural Lunch Sunday and Thursday at 1pm, Dinner every Tuesday night at 7pm and Saturday Brunch at 10:30am. We also offer Tours of the historic district every Sunday, Tuesday & Thursday at 10:30am and Saturday at 9am which include a visit inside the Mosque at the Ruler's Court. We also offer educational courses and programmes for students and adults, and arrange private group tours and cutlural events for your groups and institutions. Pre booking and reservations can be made on our website or by contacting our offices directly.
Useful Information: Food available for purchase, Activities for older children, Bathroom facilities
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Good for an insight into the culture.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

It was interesting, we did the breakfast at 10.00am, the food was good although a touch sweet. the guy talking was very good although i'm not sure he was being completly honest as Dubai Media were filming so I felt he was being reserved with his answers.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

558 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    395
    124
    30
    6
    3
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
43 attraction reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Best Cultural Experience in Dubai”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

This should be the first stop for anyone visiting Dubai. You can learn so mich about the Emirate people and Islam. It's a very welcoming environment where you can feel free to ask any question. I found it highly enlightening.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
49 attraction reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
“Open minds!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

I participated in the Heritage Tour, which included a visit to the Bastakia Quarter, a mosque and a chat with refreshments afterward. It was 55AED and worth every penny.
Very informative and a great chance to learn about Emirate culture, Muslim traditions.
I love that you are encouraged to ask questions about anything (do men have four wives? why do women cover up? why don't you see many women on the streets in dubai?)
The guides were two females, I can't recall their names but they were personable, friendly and knowledgable.
Highly recommend, a fantastic chance to learn.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“excellent place....very informative...conduct Arabic classes on Fridays and Saturdays”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

one can learn about Dubai, its history, culture everything under one roof at this center. All one has to do is call SMCCU and fix up a day and time for them to be shown around Saturday Mornings are interactive days.

Very well organized and friendly team at SMCCU

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palo Alto, California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“In depth introduction to Muslim culture”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

It was an enriching experience, we were encouraged to ask as many questions as we wanted in a very open atmosphere. I did learned a lot about the rituals and culture, it was fascinating. It is a must if you are visiting Dubai.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sheikh Mohammed Centre for Cultural Understanding also viewed

Dubai, Emirate of Dubai
 
Dubai, Emirate of Dubai
Dubai, Emirate of Dubai
 

Been to Sheikh Mohammed Centre for Cultural Understanding? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sheikh Mohammed Centre for Cultural Understanding, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.