We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is a very nice place to dine in Dubai” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Rivington Grill - Souk al Bahar

Rivington Grill - Souk al Bahar
Level 3, Souk al Bahar | Downtown, Dubai, United Arab Emirates
+971 4 423 0903
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #166 of 5,621 Restaurants in Dubai
Price range: $40 - $160
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Outdoor seating
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Description: Spreading its wings far from Shoreditch’s Rivington Street original in London, Rivington Grill, Souk Al Bahar was the first to open in Dubai, followed by a second, Rivington Bar and Grill that opened in 2012. The restaurant, located in the cosmopolitan Downtown area, is very well known in Dubai and is famed and loved for its seasonal menu, simplistic décor, friendly staff and fantastic views. The Rivington Grill concept is ‘back to basics’ home cooked food, offering authentic British classics, with what the chef’s call ‘a Rivi twist’.The adjoining terrace is the restaurant’s highlight; sitting over the water ways of the Dubai Fountains, with the Burj Khalifa looming just meters away, it offers one of the best vistas in the city, and makes a great space for sundowners and dinner parties at dusk. As well as the á la carte menu and the blackboard specials, the restaurant also offers ‘The Rivi Lunch Hour’ which is a new take on the common ‘business lunch’, where a 2 course lunch will be all done and dusted within an hour for just 100 AED.
Holland
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“This is a very nice place to dine in Dubai”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

If you want some great traditional British food (some dishes with a twist) while enjoying the light and water show (make sure that you reserve a table outside!!!) in front of the tallest building in the world , you cannot go anywhere else better than here.
The ambience is very modern and the guests are elegant. The tables inside can be on the small side and you might be very close to your neighbours.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jumeirah Restau... M, General Manager at Rivington Grill - Souk al Bahar, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thanks for taking the time to write such a glowing review for Rivington Grill, we greatly appreciate all feedback from our guests. I am glad you enjoyed dining with us and will be sure to pass on your comments to the team who will be happy to hear the,

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon!

Once again, thanks for your great feedback.

Sincerely,

General Manager
Rivington Grill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

332 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    163
    104
    41
    16
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Try Salmon..”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

Great place.. posh surrounding ,good service and delicious food.Highly recomended !!This is what Dubai is all about ..

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jumeirah Restau... M, General Manager at Rivington Grill - Souk al Bahar, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Dear Marita,

Thanks for taking the time to write such a glowing review for Rivington Grill, we greatly appreciate all feedback from our guests. I will be sure to pass on your comments to the team who will be happy to hear the,

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon!

Once again, thanks for your great feedback.

Sincerely,

General Manager
Rivington Grill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Refreshing surprise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

With so many restaurants in Dubai it is hard to know which are the good ones and it can often be a bit hit and miss. The Rivington Grill is a great find tucked away in the Souk overlooking the fountains. The restaurant has a great ambience, the service is excellent and the food isn't half bad either. Had dressed crab which was excellent followed by baked cod.
Also liked that we had Entertainer Fine Dining vouchers and there was no 'section' of the menu to pick from we could have any main course we wanted.
Looking forward to the winter months when we can make the best of the outdoor dining with amazing views of the fountains.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jumeirah Restau... M, General Manager at Rivington Grill - Souk al Bahar, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Dear Vicki,

Thanks for taking the time to write such a glowing review for Rivington Grill, we greatly appreciate all feedback from our guests. I will be sure to pass on your comments to the team who will be happy to hear the,

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon!

Once again, thanks for your great feedback.

Sincerely,

General Manager
Rivington Grill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“who said british food is bad?”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

I like this place, been there 3 times. the ribeye is always top quality, they have thin chips not only that thick one i hate, the mushroom is nice addition to the dish. the pie is also top, the complimentary bread at the beginning with butter is a royal treat if you go alone.

it also worths saving kraft for the desserts, they are very good - the chocolate mousse with raspberry is a musthave.

i never ate bad food here, the terrace view is very good though there is no service outside in the summer.

service is above average though there are language barriers they are cheerful, helpful and way better than some of the upscale places in the city.

very expensive though, more expensive than la petite maison (especially the drinks, thats almost joke category) but this is true for everything in souk al bahar. i wonder why that is like but as it is almost at my doorstep i prefer it to going to DIFC.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jumeirah Restau... M, General Manager at Rivington Grill - Souk al Bahar, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thanks for taking the time to write such a glowing review for Rivington Grill.

It sounds likje you have managed to try quite a few of our British favourites on the menu and we certainly hope that you will be back again to sample some more!

This year for summer we have decided to continue service outside on our terrace - for those brave enough to take on the heat. So if you love the view, please come and visit us during the summer period. We are also open for dinner during Ramadan from 7.30pm until late.

We look forward to welcoming you back again for a fourth time!

Once again, thanks for your great feedback.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent, UK
Top Contributor
236 reviews 236 reviews
144 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 87 cities Reviews in 87 cities
155 helpful votes 155 helpful votes
“Fountains and Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

The food at this place is reasonable to good but so are many restaurants in Dubai. We went there after a recommendation from a friend. I normally try to avoid the touristy places but I'm glad I went just for the view and of course the fountains.
The food was ok with Barnsley Cops and homely accompaniments.
Service was fine.
It was busy and full of tourists who stood up to get a better view when the fountains started (every 30 mins).
Go there once at least.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jumeirah Restau... M, General Manager at Rivington Grill - Souk al Bahar, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review Rivington Grill on Trip Advisor.

We are glad to hear that you enjoyed both your meal and the view of the fountains. We hope that we can welcome you soon so that you can try some of the other delicious items on our British inspired menu.

Once again, thank you and we hope to see you soon.

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rivington Grill - Souk al Bahar also viewed

 
Dubai, Emirate of Dubai
Dubai, Emirate of Dubai
 

Been to Rivington Grill - Souk al Bahar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rivington Grill - Souk al Bahar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.