We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay - will stay here again this summer for sure.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Moevenpick Hotel Deira

Save Saved
You added Moevenpick Hotel Deira to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Moevenpick Hotel Deira
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Corner Abu Baker Al Siddique and Sallahuddin Road | Deira, Dubai 234344, United Arab Emirates   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #60 of 474 hotels in Dubai
San Antonio
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Great stay - will stay here again this summer for sure.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014

I booked a Junior Suite and I must say, it was excellent. At first I was concerned about the fact that it faced a very busy intersection but this room is very well insulated from noise. About the only noise I hear is the occasional jet taking off from the airport. It is not every jet, just a loud one every now and then. My stay was from Jan 16-20, I'll be checking out tomorrow as I write this review. The location as has been pointed out in numerous reviews is not the best but you are only a 2-4 minute walk from the nearest Metro station, from where you can go many places very economically and very effortlessly. I wish my hometown had a Metro system this nice. The hotel staff was very friendly and extremely helpful. I've stayed at two other Movenpicks in Dubai and this one is definitely a cut above the other two (Bur Dubai and Square). That is not to say the others were bad or just OK. They were both very good but not on the level as the Deira location and that it due to the quality of staff from the receptionist to the restaurant to the housekeepers. All great! I ordered room service almost every day and the one time I had an issue with the food, it was taken care of to my satisfaction very quickly.

The only issues I can think of is a refrigerator that barely keeps drinks cool. Not too much of an issue with me but something I will pass on when I check out. The other issue is that there seems to be a slight smell of Indian food. I don't know if it is coming up from the restaurant downstairs or from my neighbors next door. I am not an Indian food fan just I may be a little more sensitive to it than others. There is a grocery store right next door and I just went and bought some air freshener for my stay. Not a big deal. Other than that, the Junior Suite was heavenly. Great bedding, good wireless, very light and airy but also very dark when you need it to be. My balcony faced the morning sun, It it was wonderful to drink my coffee out there every morning and soak in the sun while the surrounding street was relatively quite.

Can't wait to come back here in June or July. I'll probably extend my stay just to experience this luxury that much longer.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anke G, General Manager at Moevenpick Hotel Deira, responded to this review, January 22, 2014
I am very pleased to read you will be visiting us again this summer. Unfortunately your review was only accessible after you had departed from the hotel as it would have been my pleasure to meet with you personally. I do hope I have the pleasure to meet you on your next visit in summer.
Your feedback and the TripAdvisor posting is very much appreciated. We do value any comment as such assists us in measuring our services and facilities. I will share your positive comments about our sister hotels with my colleagues for their information as well. Thank you very much again for staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

503 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    298
    142
    48
    11
    4
See reviews for
107
167
47
80
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014

Only stayed a few days but enjoyed it immensely. Good food, pleasant and extremely helpful and courteous staff. My Wife, who is allergic to gluten, was looked after with good menu choices. Breakfast was good and good selection. Room was really nice and spacious and very clean. Do take advantage of the free shuttle to the beach at Oceana Apartments you will not be disappointed. Staff always sorted a cab for us as we went out every night but we did eat during the day and again the food was really good.

Room Tip: Higher the better
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anke G, General Manager at Moevenpick Hotel Deira, responded to this review, January 22, 2014
It is great to read you had a “Great short stay”. We really do appreciate your feedback on your stay and I am also glad to read that our Team Members were able to look after your wives dietary requirements.
The free shuttle and visit to Oceana is linked to specific room types booked, I am glad you did enjoy your trip to the beach.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2014

We were there at the peak of the tourist season, in the last week of December 2013 with my family. We were given the junior suite on the executive floor, 5th floor. The stay was very pleasant, the room was clean and spacious and a small balcony which opened to a street. Our room was street facing, but not noisy at all. The staff was very friendly, starting with the front desk, Leo and Michel in the executive lounge, we were well taken care off. Since we were on the 5 floor, we had the choice of free breakfast at the executive lounge on the 5th floor or the general free breakfast in the restaurant in the lobby. We tried both the places, the food was delicious and fresh. There is a train station close by that you can walk to or flag down a taxi right in front of the hotel, if you wanted not too spend too much money on transportation. We did not take any city tour packages and managed to see most of the sights through taxi or the metro train which is super clean and cheap to get around. The only turn off in Dubai was that all the malls were packed with people, just too much for my taste. Anyways, the hotel is a great deal for the money they charge and I like the fact that it is in a part of town which is not super sanitized and posh to the point that you dont have anything around it or that you dont get a feel for the city. Great people, great food, clean rooms. We will stay there again when I am back in Dubai.

Room Tip: Get a junior suite, the bed was a king size bed, which was good enough for all of us.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anke G, General Manager at Moevenpick Hotel Deira, responded to this review, January 22, 2014
I am glad to read your stay was very pleasant and you enjoyed the spacious Junior Suite. Even our Superior Room are not less than 38 sqm in size. I am further pleased to read you enjoyed the food offerings as well as food quality in the hotel and you slept well. I could not agree less with your comment about Deira being the original part of Dubai.
We do hope you will be back to Dubai and we are looking forward to being of service to you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2014

Was there with my wife and 2 children. The hotel was not at the best location in Dubai, and I had some bad experiences with the staff at the executive lounge and the reception. For example I could not get my WIFI to work (very unstable), and nothing happened to help the problem. Seldom I told the staff many times. You will not get value for the money, the hotel was very expensive.
I would recommend to get an hotel at Dubai Creek.

Room Tip: Get a room towards the terrace not the noisy street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anke G, General Manager at Moevenpick Hotel Deira, responded to this review, January 18, 2014
Thank you for your recent stay with us. I am very concerned to read of your disappointment and first and foremost I would like to apologize for any inconvenience which may have occurred during you stay.
We really do appreciate guest feedback and are grateful for such as this enables us to take corrective actions. Unfortunately your comments above are very generic and I would therefore appreciate if you could provide me with more details. You may contact me on Deira.hotel@moevenpick.com. We do promote immediate feedback whilst in the hotel as this will allow us to rectify in an instant and ensure our guests are leaving happy.
Once again thank you for sharing your feedback and we do hope you will choose to book with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014

On arrival at 3.30 in the morning we were upgraded at no additional charge to an executive room on the 5th floor. This was a very good start to our stay. Very good customer service from all the staff at all times. Very helpful when we wanted to find a local restaurant to try local food. Great buffet breakfast with a huge range to choose from. Close to a metro station for visiting the Dubai Mall type area. I recommend using the metro as the traffic can be very slow for getting around, even though the taxis are very reasonable. Can also recommend the Arabian Adventures company for tours. They are very well organised and efficient. We did the half day city tour and the safari dinner in the desert, which I can highly recommend.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anke G, General Manager at Moevenpick Hotel Deira, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
Thank you very much for your posting on TripAvdisor. I am glad to know the upgrade was a good start of our holiday and our team was courteous at all times. Thank you very much for your positive comments about our Breakfast Buffet. Our Kitchen team is delighted to receive such feedback.
It is great that on the overall we were able to meet with your expectations and would be delighted to be of service to you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014

We spent 3 nights in this hotel early Jan and we had a nice stay. Staff was helpful and we were allowed an earlier check-in at noon instead of 3pm though we had to wait in the hall for 2 hours without a lot of information of when the room would be available. The hotel is not in a centre location but taxis compared to Europe are so cheap so this was not really a problem. There is Metro station at a 5 min walk from the hotel, we took it once around 3-4pm, but it was overcrowded. Rooms are ok, furniture is a bit old fashioned though. Noise isolation is not great but luckily this was annoying only the first day with some children crying. The noise from the planes was not an issue for us, you'd barely hear it. We tried the hotel burger and it is really fabulous, but we're disappointed by the deserts.
In a nutshell the hotel is a great value for money, personnel is really nice but I would say it is a 4+star and not a 5 star hotel, so if you're not expecting a lot of luxury from your hotel and don't want to pay more than 200 EUR/ night then this is definitely a recommendation.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anke G, General Manager at Moevenpick Hotel Deira, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
Thank you very much for your recent stay with us. We have noted your comment on the dessert and we have highlighted your comment to our culinary team for their action and reference. On a positive culinary note, it is great to read our Moevenpick Burger was fabulous.
Your comments on the location and the noise insulation have been noted and I sure the latter will be very helpful for future travelers. It would be our pleasure to be of service to you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014

Our stay at the Movenpick Deira was faultless. It is located very close to the airport almost under the flight path however at no stage did the planes interfere with our sleep. The windows are very good in the sound proof department.
The room was enormous and even a seperate dressing area that housed the wardrobe.
The bed and bedding an absolute dream to sleep on, I wanted to take it all home.
It is only a couple of minutes walk to the metro station which is very cheap, clean and runs like clockwork.
2 exceptionally helpful and friendly concierges were Jon and I am sorry but I forget the others name but they looked alike, recommending a lovely place to eat and always full of information and a smile on their faces.
A special treat between 5 and 6pm there were Movenpick Chocolate treats to be had in the foyer.
One night a chocolate fountain, yummy.
On a return viist to Dubai would not hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anke G, General Manager at Moevenpick Hotel Deira, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
We hope you had a pleasant trip back to Australia and thank you for rating us an “excellent hotel”.
It is always great to read that our fantastic beds provided a good night’s rest and our daily Swiss chocolate hour was a treat.
We have further shared your motivational comments with John and Ola (he is the Concierge to looks similar to John) and they are very pleased to know they were able to provide excellent service.
We are grateful you took the decision to share your experiences on-line and we do look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Moevenpick Hotel Deira? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moevenpick Hotel Deira

Address: Corner Abu Baker Al Siddique and Sallahuddin Road | Deira, Dubai 234344, United Arab Emirates
Location: United Arab Emirates > Emirate of Dubai > Dubai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #60 of 474 hotels in Dubai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Moevenpick Hotel Deira 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in one of the most diverse and culturally rich parts of the city Mövenpick Hotel Deira is ideally situated, just ten minutes away from Dubai International Airport and from the world-famous Gold Souk. Close to several shopping malls and the Dubai Metro, the hotel is well-placed for guests wanting to explore Deira’s vibrant winding and historic Creek area, were local "abra" water taxis ply their trade. Guests staying in any of the hotel’s 216 rooms will be attended to with exceptional hospitality by the renowned Swiss hotel group Mövenpick Hotels & Resorts. From the seven naturally-lit meeting rooms, including a fully-equipped business centre, to the hotel’s restaurants, Mövenpick Hotel Deira offers five-star service to business and leisure travelers alike. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Otel, Venere, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Tingo so you can book your Moevenpick Hotel Deira reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Moevenpick Hotel Deira, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.