We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“2nd stay was just ok” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Moevenpick Hotel Deira

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Moevenpick Hotel Deira to your Saves list
Moevenpick Hotel Deira
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Corner Abu Baker Al Siddique and Sallahuddin Road | Deira, Dubai 234344, United Arab Emirates   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #59 of 483 Hotels in Dubai
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“2nd stay was just ok”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

I have stayed here before (October 2011 for 4 nights ) and enjoyed the hotel, the area outside is a bit run down with little to do in the immediate vicinity. However, I returned here for 1 night and requested/paid for an early check in as I had arrived from a nighttime flight. I was left to wait for my room in the lobby for close to 2 hours, the receptionist was polite and apologetic. As a non smoker, I obviously requested a non smoking room. When I finally got my room, it stank of stale smoke and I mentioned it to the bell boy who assured me he would let reception know and would send someone up to spray the room. Never happened. The rooms are fine, dark furnishings and bathroom meets expectations. Reception staff are very polite and friendly though and concierce staff very attentive.

Room Tip: Stay at Traders Hotel opposite instead - much superior
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael N, General Manager at Moevenpick Hotel Deira, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Dear guy1012,

Thank you for sharing your feedback and helping us improve some of the areas of the hotel. We are currently reviewing the breakfast of the hotel and are actually upgrading it. Our food and beverage team is looking at better suppliers to ensure we meet our guests expectation and provide the right quality of products.

I hope we will still have the opportunity to welcome you again in Mövenpick Hotel Deira

Warm Regards,

Michael Nugent
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

586 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    345
    172
    54
    11
    4
See reviews for
129
184
54
95
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (118)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012 via mobile

When you are welcome at 2:00 AM on your arrival with a free upgrade to Executive Suite, you get immediately a smile on your face. But when all the staff is adorable with you, then it becomes really nice.
What else: great breakfast in the executive lounge upstairs, top gym club with the latest from TechnoGym, free access to the Oceana Beach Club that we enjoyed for a full day, excellent dining room service...
Well, let's be frank... We didn't find anything negative to say. A special thank to the Front desk and Concierge personel: you are really customer friendly.
A place that I recommend to anyone!

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael N, General Manager at Moevenpick Hotel Deira, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Dear Eric S,

Thank you for your time in sharing your feedback on tripadvisor. I have shared your comments with the hotel team and we are all looking forward to have the opportunity to welcome you again in the hotel on your next visit to Dubai.

Warm Regards,

Michael Nugent
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malmo, Sweden
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

I love to review a hotel when there is absolutely nothing to criticise! The hotel just a few minutes walk from the Metro, close to the airport (AED 20 with taxi to the airport, add AED 25 FROM the airport). Staff is very friendly and helpful (Fabian, as mentioned before, is a wonder of knowledge. It's also nice to find a staff that speak your own language; Linnea from Sweden). The pool is a nice place to spend some hours. Well, here I find one thing that could be approved. Make the area 'No smoking', or just let some part be aloud for smoking.
Well be back, that's for sure!

Room Tip: The extra cost for Excecutive rooms is well worth the price (if you have the time to use the facilit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael N, General Manager at Moevenpick Hotel Deira, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Dear Mats55,

Thank you very much for sharing your feedback on tripadvisor. The hotel team was very happy to see that you had enjoyed your stay with us and we all look forward to welcome you again in the hotel on your next visit to Dubai.

Warm Regards,

Michael Nugent
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

very freindly staff, clean comfortablr rooms, very much appreciated being pampered by the executive lounge service, and a very special thankyou to Housekeeping on 5th floor!
nice variety of food at the breakfast buffet catering for varios cultures the hotel restaurants are very children friendly and do their best to accomodate your wish.
very much a city holet, convieniently located near the airport, new dubai subway, at the same time with all the advantages of a private beach facilities for the hotel.

Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael N, General Manager at Moevenpick Hotel Deira, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Dear Ruby B,

On behalf of the hotel team of Mövenpick Hotel Deira a big thank you for your kind review and mainly for sharing your opinion on tripadvisor. We all hope to welcome you again in the hotel sometime soon.

Warm Regards,

Michael Nugent
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

I have stayed in a few hotels in Deira, but this one is the best so far for location, service, quality of rooms and everything about it was excellent. We stayed in an executive suite with access to the executive lounge - wow - it was so spacious and clean, and the service and welcome from all the staff was amazing. 4 members of staff really stood out - Krish, Linnea, Badawy and Rodel - an absolute credit to Movenpick. I would stay here again no doubt. The rooms were very clean, service was superb, breakfast was great. I could not fault this hotel on anything. The only thing that was a bit niggly was the hotel wifi kept disconnecting every so often. But apart from that, a truly fantastic hotel with some fantastic staff.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael N, General Manager at Moevenpick Hotel Deira, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
Dear shakeel1978,

Thank you for sharing your experience on TripAdvisor. The team always seeks to make the guests happy and they obviously succeeded for your stay. We also have fixed the internet connection to ensure our guest have a constant Wifi signal.

We all hope to welcome you again in Moevenpick Hotel Deira soon,

Warm Regards,

Michael Nugent
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

Very good hotel.Staff is very friendly and professional. Close to airport but minimal noise from airplanes.Breakfast buffet is for every one test. Special thanks to Natasha from reception and Fabian from bell desk for fantastic service.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael N, General Manager at Moevenpick Hotel Deira, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
Dear Wlodek54,

Thank you for sharing your experience on TripAdvisor, Your review was shared with the team and it created nice smiles throughout the hotel. We all hope to welcome you again in Moevenpick Hotel Deira soon.

Warm Regards,

Michael Nugent
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mettmann, Germany
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

It's a city hotel, but very convenient in any point. The staff is exceptionally polite and helpful starting at the doorman and ending with the room attendants ! Check in runs quickly, friendly, professional, yet with a personal touch. Rooms are equipped with modern furniture, a big flat- TV set, good beds for a fine sleep. Rooms are not really outstanding big for Dubai but really sufficient. Bathroom equipped with bathtub and shower and anything you need. You will not be disturbed by any noise from the hotel's floor or other rooms, but the metro running in front of the house and the aircraft taking off across the hotel can be heard. However, I personally did not feel disturbed. Breakfast is a feast with fresh eggs prepared, lots of fresh bread, slads, fruit, some asian food...and splendid coffee!It was our third stay here, so you can see, I would recommend this one. Furthermore, if you don't want to rely on the stuck traffic situations: the metro station is three minutes by foot.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael N, General Manager at Moevenpick Hotel Deira, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
Dear herward2,

Thank you for sharing this review on Tripadvisor. The team and I are always extremely happy to see that our guests leave happy and enjoyed their stay with us. We try to ensure we treat all our guests with a personnal touch.

I hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you again soon,

Warm Regards,

Michael Nugent
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Moevenpick Hotel Deira? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moevenpick Hotel Deira

Address: Corner Abu Baker Al Siddique and Sallahuddin Road | Deira, Dubai 234344, United Arab Emirates
Location: United Arab Emirates > Emirate of Dubai > Dubai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #59 of 483 Hotels in Dubai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Moevenpick Hotel Deira 5*
Number of rooms: 216
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in one of the most diverse and culturally rich parts of the city Mövenpick Hotel Deira is ideally situated, just ten minutes away from Dubai International Airport and from the world-famous Gold Souk. Close to several shopping malls and the Dubai Metro, the hotel is well-placed for guests wanting to explore Deira’s vibrant winding and historic Creek area, were local "abra" water taxis ply their trade. Guests staying in any of the hotel’s 216 rooms will be attended to with exceptional hospitality by the renowned Swiss hotel group Mövenpick Hotels & Resorts. From the seven naturally-lit meeting rooms, including a fully-equipped business centre, to the hotel’s restaurants, Mövenpick Hotel Deira offers five-star service to business and leisure travelers alike. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com, Venere, Tingo, Otel, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Moevenpick Hotel Deira reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Moevenpick Hotel Deira, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.